Beat logo

Paulina Vo Learns To Let Go In New Single "Shades Down"

Now available on all major streaming platforms!

By Rebecca TaylorPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Follow Paulina Vo on instagram: @vobot

Paulina Vo is a Vietnamese r&b/pop singer, songwriter, and producer. Currently based in Brooklyn, New York, Vo has had success playing across the New York circuit at notable venues such as Mercury Lounge and has composed music for indie tv & film projects. In her latest single "Shades Down" Paulina discusses the art of letting go and moving on to be a better version of yourself. She states that this single gave her power she did not know she had. Check out our exclusive interview with Paulina Vo below and stream her latest single "Shades Down" below.

1.) Hi Paulina! For our readers can you please let us know a little bit about you?

Hi Vocal Creators! Definitely! I'm Paulina, a singer, songwriter, and producer based in Brooklyn.

2.) When did you decide music was a career you wanted pursue.

Honestly, as soon as I found out it was a career, I wanted it. More embarrassingly though, that happened when I was 5 or 6 and I heard the Spice Girls for the first time, haha.

3.) I am aware that you play instruments in addition to singing. How does that effect your songwriting process?

Playing instruments are a major part of my songwriting process. While I do top line, I still love playing an instrument during the process if I can. Playing also helps me connect to the vibe of the song more, and helps when talking through musical choices for sure.

4.) What is the most challenging part about creating a new song after putting out something everyone else loves by you? Do you feel the pressure to challenge it?

I think it's human to feel the pressure! But it's also natural to evolve, and I believe it's important for artists to continue the learning process. Challenging what I've done before feels right, and I'm always aiming to make something that's better than anything I've released. Crossing my fingers that it continues to be this way, haha.

5.) What inspired your writing process behind your latest single?

I was writing a lot of beats and producing songs as practice when I started "Shades Down". I was trying to find a sound I loved, and as soon as I created its bass line, I knew I had to finish it! It started in GarageBand on my phone, haha, and I wrote everything then. The outro though, came about only a few months ago, right before I sent it off to mixing and mastering. It was last minute, but I loved it and had to add it.

6.) Was it easy to create a melody and lyrics to this song?

The melody actually changed over the years! I would adjust a line here and to fit my mood, and things stuck at the end. Lyrically though, I was in a flow so it was quick! Let's say I had a lot of inspiration to pulo from, haha.

7.) Your live shows can be both acoustic or with a band. Do you play along with the band or focus more on singing?

I mostly play guitar or ukulele! But I also take a break to focus on singing here and there, and definitely love doing so. It's tough though, since my songs are written on the instrument I'm playing, it's hard not playing it during shows!

8.) Any music videos coming out soon?

Definitely! No promises but it's happening 100%.

9.) If you could collaborate with one major artist on "Shades Down" who would it be and why?

This is a great question! I think someone like Tierra Whack would be super dope. Mainly because I'd want to work with someone who leans left of center genre-wise, and she does it so well!

10.) What is up next for you?

I'll be releasing more singles throughout 2020 which will lead to a full-length album! Before then, though, I have a sound pack coming out with Splice, I've produced and written songs with other artists, and will continue writing music for TV, film, and commercials. Definitely keep in touch, I'd love to hear from you!

Follow Paulina Vo below:

Spotify

Soundcloud

Instagram

Twitter

Facebook

Youtube

interview
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.