Beat logo

Oh, to be at Woodstock

A Playlist of Woodstock Could-have-beens

By Reese MariePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
3
Oh, to be at Woodstock
Photo by John Such on Unsplash

Driving through the biggest traffic jam I've ever seen, but persevering because I know what's on the other side. Standing in the rain, soaking it in, hearing the most incredible music played live in my midst, while surrounded by a music-loving, peace-loving crowd. Being covered in mud, but barely noticing, hardly caring. This is my dream.

If I'm being challenged to pick one decade of music to listen to, I'm taking that challenge a step further. This is the decade of music I want to live. The sixties. The Woodstock generation with all their good vibes.

But, I recently came across a list of artists who turned down or were unable to accept the opportunity to play at Woodstock. For every amazing act, there could have been another by an iconic band or artist. Maybe, looking back, they repeat the same phrase as me, "Oh, to be at Woodstock." Woodstock defined a generation, but could the event have been even more unforgettable if these missed connections hadn't been missed?

I've put together a playlist of some Woodstock could-have-beens that I think the world missed out on.

The Byrds could have played at Woodstock! So, we're starting this playlist off with my favorite, and possibly the most famous Byrds song, Turn! Turn! Turn! This Bible verse turned beautiful melody really encompasses the spirit of the sixties. There is a season for everything! Now there's a lesson I hope to remember in life.

Does anybody really know what time it is? Does anybody really care? As they say, time flies when you're having fun, and if Chicago had played at Woodstock, we know time would have flown!

Can you imagine this iconic song being played at Woodstock? We all know that the Heavens really started to rain during the festival, so how fitting would this song have been?

Yes, Bob Dylan could have graced the stage at Woodstock. That really could have opened Heaven's door, couldn't it have?

Speaking of Heaven.

It's a beautiful morning. I think I'll go outside for a while and just smile. What a lovely thought! Another reason I love music from the sixties is for the positive vibes like this.

The Rolling Stones! How iconic would this have been?

And last but not least, a personal favorite of mine, Simon and Garfunkel! Just imagine this iconic duo harmonizing onstage at Woodstock.

So, now you know. The most iconic music festival of all time could have been even more so. And that speaks volumes about the music of the sixties. From the classy first half of the decade to the psychedelic vibes that emerged sometime in the middle, the decade has something for everyone. And at Woodstock, so much of it culminated.

If I could one musical era, I would choose the Woodstock era, and if I could go back in time to one event from musical history, I would choose Woodstock. I would have been able to listen to Janis Joplin, Melanie, Jimi Hendrix, and so many others play live in front of my eyes. They played to a crowd full of good vibrations. They played through torrential rain. It was about more than just the music. I, as a member of Generation Z, have come to appreciate the music of the sixties for all it represents: peace, love, unity. Woodstock brought people together, and they stayed together, weathering even a torrential downpour.

But, on my trip back to Woodstock, I might take Simon and Garfunkel and The Byrds with me. The more iconic artists, the merrier.

If you could add one of the artists from above to the Woodstock setlist, who would you choose?

festivals
3

About the Creator

Reese Marie

"That the powerful play goes on and that you may contribute a verse"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.