Beat logo

NUNSSEOP Interview: The Independent Artist Discusses “Take Me Home,” His Musical Style and More

His latest single, “Take Me Home,” and February’s release, “Sumja,” are available now.

By Nathan SartainPublished 4 years ago 8 min read
4

When it comes to independent hip-hop artists in Korea, few are as exciting as NUNSSEOP. Mixing trendy and colourful sonics with his distinct, somewhat cloudy vocal delivery and skilful flow, the South-Korean forms broad, yet undeniably vivid soundscapes in his music, taking the listener on an experience that allows them to tangibly grasp the intent behind each and every one of his songs.

His latest single, “Take Me Home,” successfully blends trap with a twinkling piano melody and moody guitar lick, ultimately forming an emotional, affecting track with plenty of soul-stirring vehemence. Written to reflect how he has felt whilst being a musician through the imagery of asking someone to comfort him after drinking, it’s a track that no doubt leaves its mark on its audience, and perhaps sheds light on the psyche of an artist that would often favour a witty lyrical line over a poignant sonic spine.

It follows February’s “Sumja,” an equally endearing song thick with tone-heavy guitar notes, trap beats and sleek, processed vocals that add a sense of gravitas to the offering. With 2020 undeniably starting brightly for the artist, we were fortunate enough to be able to speak to him about his latest release, plans for the rest of the year and his own style of music.

Nathan Sartain: Firstly, at a time like this it feels relevant to ask before anything else, how are you doing?

NUNSSEOP: I'm doing pretty well, trying to enjoy my life to the fullest, but I can't help but get stressed from time to time.

Secondly, how do you find yourself spending your days now given all that is going on?

Honestly, the situation has alleviated a lot here in Korea, but I’m always being careful just in case. The gym is closed to the public so I’m always either in the studio, or drinking... Don’t forget to wear your masks everyone! 

Moving on, could you talk us through your new single, “Take Me Home,” and what it means to you?

I wanted to express the main emotions I experienced while doing music; loneliness, sadness, and anger. Throughout my life, some people wanted me to change but I never did. And I lost those people. Looking back now, I don't think those people would have ever been satisfied no matter what I did. And to forget those emotions, I drink. I know this behaviour is dangerous and problematic but to me, not feeling those three emotions right now is more important to me. So this song is about meeting someone while I'm drinking alone and asking that person to comfort me.

Comparably, what was it like composing that track, and how did you find writing it?

Honestly speaking, it was scary. I've always tried to write witty, bright, fun lyrics but I needed to write deep-but-simple lyrics that contain all the emotions that I always wanted to hide. It was also my first time writing "darker" lyrics.

It comes just after “Sumja” which was your first release of the year. Taking that into account, how has 2020 been for you?

I think 2020 will be a year when I transform more into an artist and these two songs are just the beginning of that process. 

To reflect more deeply, when you look at your music now, how much do you feel you have changed stylistically from when you first started?

Back when I first started, I leaned more towards the pop genre with upbeat lyrics but my music style now is more honest, simple and intense and leans more towards the hip-hop genre.

Similarly, how has your outlook changed about both the industry and how you approach your music as time has passed?

When I first started in the hip-hop genre, I thought I would live a life full of happiness and achievements, but I know now that in order to achieve one thing, I have to sacrifice another. In order to survive in this industry, I have given up my stability and happiness. But of course there are brief moments in life where I do feel happy doing music and those brief moments are what brought me all the way here today. 

Perhaps this sounds like a cliché, but given what you know now, is there anything you wish you could tell yourself when you were still first starting out?

Don't trust people too easily. Just focus on yourself.

Back to your music. You once said you hope to create a clear style for yourself, so that people would be able to say “oh, this is by NUNSSEOP” when hearing your songs. How much closer do you feel you are to that goal?

I think my songs are at about 90% (of the way there) but people have to know the name NUNSSEOP first.

Furthermore, if you were to describe your style of music to a new listener, what would you say to them?

When you first hear the song, you might think 'oh this is just another trendy sound' but once you hear my voice, you'll change your mind.

And, also in terms of goals, have they changed in any way over the years?

At first, it was all about making money. Now, it's more about leaving behind some great songs. If I was still doing it just for the money, I think I would've quit years ago.

You compose and write all of your tracks, how important is it to you that you retain this sense of creative freedom?

It's SO important. I think real music comes from the musician's thoughts, feelings and skills. Musicians need that freedom to create their best music.

As an extension to the previous question, how has retaining full control over your songs allowed you to develop your own musicality?

I don't really know. I just do what I think I can do best.

Before we move on, your music seems to borrow from a lot of different genres and influences. Who, if anyone, inspires you, and how beneficial do you think it is to keep an open-mind to trying new things, ensuring your music is kept fresh?

I don't get inspired by anyone in particular, surprisingly. I get inspired by myself and my different emotions. I always try to listen to new music to be motivated and I always make sure to listen with an open mind because I think that's a way I can develop as an artist. 

To quickly talk of your fans, you seem to enjoy a close relationship with them. How much do they mean to you? And why do you think you’ve been able to have such a good relationship with them?

Fans are one of the main reasons I do music. The fact that they enjoy my music, that drives me a lot. And when fans send me supportive messages, I try to respond to every one of them. I always say something in particular to the fans and that is "fans are my best friends.” Because I think of them as my best friends, that's how I can have such a good relationship with them.

Additionally, partially thanks to social media and the internet, you’ve managed to develop a global fanbase for yourself. Personally, how does it feel to know your music is listened to by people from all corners of the world?

I feel crazy good! I do feel a bit of a pressure sometimes but just for a moment. I hope more people all over the world will be able to enjoy my music.

Your usage of social media and seemingly enjoyment of fan interaction has also seen you create a TikTok account. Given that’s the trend these days, how are you finding using the app?

It’s so awkward, I have no idea how to really use it. I don't know what to film... I know this is trending globally but sometimes i'm like huh? But for my fans, I will try to master the app.

Continuing, what currently motivates you to continue on your path in the industry?

My reflection in the mirror. Some people might be satisfied at this point but I think i’m pretty greedy. I want more and more fans to gain strength and be comforted through my songs. 

And before we finish, what are some of your immediate goals as we progress through the rest of the year?

That I will have no regrets about this album that i'm preparing right now, because honestly, I have had some regrets about every single album that i've released until now.

Finally, is there anything else you’d like to say?

I've had a lot of interview offers but I declined a lot of them because a lot of the questions seemed to be unrelated to my music, but you guys asked me such deep and music-related questions which I always wanted to talk about, so thank you. And thank you for letting me a part of this interview. I'd like to say thank you to my fans and to please be a little more patient. I'll gain more recognition and try to meet all of them on tour.

You can listen to NUNSSEOP’s latest single, “Take Me Home,” now.

interview
4

About the Creator

Nathan Sartain

A lifelong music fan with diverse taste.

Email - [email protected]

Twitter - @nathan_sartain

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.