Beat logo

New Music From Da-Pranik Today | M.I.A | Poetic, Warm, Simple

On September 3, 2021 @12:00 am Da-Pranik released her first single titled M.I.A from her next album Survival :: Thrival.

By Da-PranikPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
1
Photographer: Jasmine Anika (Visualizing You Studios)

I created this song while stuck in a creative block. I created this song while deep in the middle of a pandemic. I created this song while feeling uneasy about the security of my home and the well-being of the quality of my life. I created this song while mentally exhausted yet physically full of energy to keep busy. I wrote this song with an optimistic outlook about my future. The writing process took close to a year to complete. That’s not my usual turn-around time. But to me it was worth it and it doesn’t make me love the song any-less than past songs I’ve created.

M.I.A by Da-Pranik is warm, poetic and deeply expressive. A song best described as coming home to [the] true self.

For me to describe the process it took for me to write this song, would be like describing what it’s like to ride a roller coaster for the first time. The idea hits you with excitement. You get on, strap yourself in feeling a little nervous but still excited about the outcome. The ride begins to pick up speed then slows a bit as you start that initial climb (this part is also equivalent to the concept of what it means to put in the work. You’re moving, making progress, but sometimes that resistance can make it feel like you’re not). Then you make it to the top and kind of stand still for a moment. You feel like this is it, that's all there is to this, maybe even contemplate going back/getting off the ride. Then that unexpected creative breakthrough hits and things start rolling again. The come down of the ride is like the flow state of the creative process.

Moreover, at the same time, the purpose behind the creation of M.I.A and its existence feels bigger than me. Certain words matched with the right music have the kind of power and ability to help you focus, find ease, find balance, restore faith, etc. That is what this song is for me. M.I.A(M.issing I.n A.ction) is my escape from living in Survival Mode. Continue reading, and I’ll tell you more about it 🙂.

Verse 1

"I tell a story of someone I used to know, when I got to see her, she always on the move, always evolving, I don't know her no more, but I won't leave you in the dark, her presence left a mark..."

The meaning behind verse 1 is interesting to me. In the beginning when I sat down to work on the first draft, I wrote it as a challenge to see what I could come up with by writing about myself in the third person. However, shortly after sending the demo I had of this song to a few close friends of mine, their feedback opened my eyes to the realization that I am not the only one🥺. There are other women out here just like me. Confident just like me, spiritually adept just like me, about their business just like me. I know saying this sounds normal to hear. It’s pretty common to hear the phrase “you are never alone” as one travels through their own journey. Yet for me, coming from where I've been as a young black/white woman in America confidently speaking her truth without shame, to hear it and then visually perceive it, is absolutely mind blowing🤯.

Verse 2

I can't lie, verse 2 is my favorite part. Like restart the whole song if I miss one second of it, type favorite. The meaning behind this verse is about that pivotal moment where that breakthrough comes in where you realize “I’ve had enough..I’m tired and I’ve had enough...and this is what I’m going to do about it.” In other words, it’s about coming home to the true self. What that means is what I've just said. In the beginning lines of my flow,

“To be free, to be me, only thing I aim to be, climb a tree, feel the breeze, maybe later smoke a blunt, only goal today is to simple exist, not trynna be this artist, or that friend, not trynna be this lover or that kin, just me...”

really captures that emotion.

Verse 3

Now verse 3 I can’t clearly tell you the meaning behind this verse. It's fluid in nature. It's honest in truth. Might come across sad or angry at something specific, but to me it's more like a confirmation. A confirmation of better days to come, that right now is not the end of my story. All that I am currently witnessing, all that I am currently experiencing, is not all that there is. Though, I must admit how the verse came to be is truly mind provoking. Especially with lines like:

"Telepathic signs got me watching something different, telepathic signs got me dreaming something different, I can feel it in my gut, yet for me that's not enough.."

At the time I was sketching out this part of the draft version I was staying in a hotel. At 3:33am I woke up struck with the sudden inspiration to get these ideas and thoughts floating around my head out and onto paper. Next thing you know, I have a whole verse in my hands. 😖

The Chorus/Pre-Chorus

Connecting each verse together is the chorus. The chorus/pre-chorus was written as an affirmation. An actual affirmation I created for myself and use in my life. The intention behind it is centered around protecting my energy from unwarranted influences and distractions. A life in alignment with ease is the goal but that doesn't mean the stresses and obstacles of life won’t still try to test their boundaries. And when they do that's where the reminder of this chorus affirmation comes in. It’s not demanding anything be radically changed, removed, or destroyed at this very moment. It’s simply a call/reminder to protect your energy.✨

"I flow through life low problems

I grow through life lotta dollas

So M.I.A

Today I'm going M.I.A"

Photographer: Jasmine Anika (Visualizing You Studios)

Photographer: Jasmine Anika (Visualizing You Studios)

Photographer: Jasmine Anika (Visualizing You Studios)

If this post resonated with you, you can let me know by leaving a tip at the end of this article. (All funds received through here are invested back into future music projects created by me).

Watch the official music video for Da-Pranik - M.I.A

(or)

Take this song, Da-Pranik - M.I.A with you (also find out where you can stream it).

(or)

Want to hear more songs like this? Listen to the "Sounds Like" playlist. New music of today to go M.I.A to. (Some of the songs on here towards the end hint at what the vibe of my next single will be like.🤫)

Curious to know more about where I'm at today? Check me out here.

Lyrics to Da-Pranik - M.I.A

I tell a story of someone I used to know

When I got to see her, She always on the move

Always evolving, I don’t know her no more

But I won’t leave you in the dark, her presence left a mark

A 5’4, hybrid, always working on her own

If you try to help out

(No thanks, I’m good)

If you try to lay her down

(No thanks, I’m good)

She defines independent

No use pretending it

She a straight tease

Even though she love hard

There was nothing you could tell her to get her

To settle down, pipe down, get down, slow down,

None of that

Her mind was secured on the bag

(And she loved that)

Some might call her conceited but I disagree

Yeah, I disagree

Inner peace was the goal just living free

Innocent intentions rooted in affirmations

Derived from desires of her manifestations

So when she alone she repeat

Pre-Chorus

I flow through life low problems

I grow through life lotta dollas

Chorus

So M.I.A

Today Im going M.I.A

Verse 2

To be free to be me only thing I aim to be

Climb a tree feel the breeze maybe later smoke a blunt

Only goal today is to simply exist

Not trynna be this Artist or that friend

Not trynna be this lover or that kin

(Just me)

When it come to my thoughts I enact separation

They advise how to move but they not the vocation

Cause if I was what they were I’d drift locations

But I sit right here like a bus station

If its outta my hands then its outta my control

Got no other motive but to let it go

I can ease the day and still wake up tomorrow

So when I'm alone I repeat

Pre-Chorus

I flow through life low problems

I grow through life lotta dollas

Chorus

So M.I.A

Today Im going M.I.A

Bridge

Learned all my lessons

Treated my scars

Lost all my demons

Think its time I go home

Cause I’m ready

(Yes I’m ready)

Verse 3

Only running cause I don’t wanna die yet

Everybody talking at me with they loud words

But no one understanding how this world works

Telepathic signs got me watching something different

Telepathic signs got me dreaming something different

I can feel it in my gut yet for me that’s not enough

I crave affection

To be vulnerable

To be expressive

In my own home

I can see it now

Body to body no invaded space

Who turned off survival mode?

(Both you and I)

I am safe while I lay, so I stay here

(Peace)

My true self thrives here

Naturally, I repeat,

Pre-Chorus

I flow through life low problems

I grow through life lotta dollas

Chorus

So M.I.A

Today I’m going M.I.A

song reviews
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.