Beat logo

My Vault of Internet Meme Songs

A collection of songs that gained popularity via memes and trends.

By erinhastoomanybooks2.0Published 3 years ago โ€ข 4 min read
Like
My Vault of Internet Meme Songs
Photo by Alexander Shatov on Unsplash

I'm going to start this post under the assumption you already know what a meme is. Basically, it's a funny inside joke that runs rampant across the internet for a few weeks. While many memes like photos of Kermit are based solely on imagery, many have strong associations with songs. Here are some pieces that I've seen in memes and trends over the past few years, with some background knowledge.

  • HOME- Resonance (https://youtu.be/8GW6sLrK40k)

This video was posted all the way back in 2014 on the Electronic Gems Youtube account. Wave music got a head start from the Lo-Fi genre with internet audiences. At the time, I remember this one becoming popularized due to its nostalgic, almost melancholy, energy. To be honest, I still listen to this song daily. It's on my writing playlist for any sci-fi pieces in my WIP pile. I remember this song being in the same vein as Macintosh Plus. Both these songs were used in memes to show people in a moody or disappointed state. If the sad Bart Simpsons edits made a noise, it would be HOME's Resonance and Macintosh Plus.

I'm the furthest thing from a music critic, but I have listened to some of HOME's other songs. I think my favorites of the bunch would be Come Back Down and Before the Night. If you want the nostalgia that comes with Resonance that is slightly happier, check those out.

  • Funny Thing by Thundercat (https://youtu.be/XwPB9FrhqjI)

If you need more proof that time isn't real, here it is. This song came out LAST YEAR. Okay, anyway, we have Funny Thing by Thundercat. This is one of the many songs on this list that blew up on TikTok. The famous lyrics app users most commonly heard were "cuz I just wanna party with you...all night."

Unlike Resonance, this song was used for varying situations. The majority of TikToks I saw sporting this audio reused the punchline of dancing/vibing to distract another party.

  • A Moment Apart (harp cover) (https://youtu.be/EwXX7U3uBsE)

Anyone in my personal life knows that I am insufferable about this one. I've loved the original band since 2015 and was shocked to my core to see it trend on TikTok. The original version of this song, "A moment apart," belongs to the band ODESZA and is in an album under the same name, A Moment Apart.

Both the album and song are ODESZA's newest works and have more of a sci-fi feel. The harp cover is an ethereal take on the song. Most of the time, the harp cover will be used in uplifting messages. My favorite TikTok audio with this cover has a voice saying, "you have to start going to crystal stores with your friends."

A fun easter egg before we move on. The Intro to this album continues directly into A moment Apart. The two flow seamlessly. It includes a monologue from the movie Another Earth. The speaker is none other than Brit Marling, who plays Prairie in Netflix's OA.

  • Mystery of Love by Sufjan Steven (https://youtu.be/N0CP9zpbmAQ)

This song was in the movie Call Me By Your Name, which came out in 2017. I think most people on the internet will recognize this song and its origin. It's worth mentioning that this song was used in several TikToks during the time.

Long story short, people would speed up the audio and only use the first few lyrics, "Oh, to see without my eyes." There would be a flashing light filter and some text detailing a shocking or embarrassing story.

The original version is obviously slower but shockingly sadder. It's a beautiful song, don't get me wrong, and it's inspired tons of talented cover artists. It's not the high pitch, quirky energy that most people recognize it from. My favorite cover of this song is by Different Miguel on Youtube. (https://youtu.be/7tb09SOhgpM)

  • Runaway By AURORA (https://youtu.be/d_HlPboLRL8)

I remember listening to her in 2016, and I'm thrilled that this album is getting more attention all these years later. A majority of the time, this song is used on TikTok to showcase the beauty and elegance of nature. Honestly, it's the most appropriate and wholesome song-to-trend transition I've ever seen. If you've listened to the album, you know that most of the songs are about how we interact with the earth and with ourselves. It's strangely peaceful compared to the disassociated, moody, and awkward feeling some of these other songs have been linked with.

  • Buttercup by Jack Stauber

I recall this song being used on ArtTok during 2017 when it was posted. Now, this song is on every corner of TikTok. The most common usage I've seen of it is background music while someone is narrating. It makes sense. This is a pretty recognized song, with the top video on Youtube having 205 Million views. Buttercup isn't the only song of Stauber's to go viral on the app. Their song Oh Klahoma was the song used during the Ghost Trend last year. You'll probably recognize the first few lyrics "tears falling down at the party, saddest little baby in the room." By the looks of it, the Ghost Trend is becoming an annual thing, so Ok Klahoma is here to stay.

Well, there you have it. Those are some of the many, many songs in my meme song vault. I did want to give a quick shout-out to YouTuber Mike's Mic since he's the first person I've seen refer to a collection of memes as a vault. I also wanted to keep my list limited to songs I have strong memories of and music that I occasionally listen to in the present. If you're wondering why popular songs like Never Gonna Give You Up weren't featured, that's probably why. I have a plethora of playlists like this, so I'll definitely revisit this topic in the future. Thanks for reading my post; please check me out on my Instagram @erinhastoomanybooks!

list
Like

About the Creator

erinhastoomanybooks2.0

Hello! Welcome to my page where I love posting about crystals, design, writing tips, and more! You can find me on Instagram @erinhastoomanybooks2.0

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.