Beat logo

My Top 10 Favorite Musical Artists

Genres Going from Soft Rock to Rap

By Renee wPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like
Picture of Billie Eilish

This list is not in any specific order.

#10 Boy Pablo

At times, I find myself going through my YouTube recommendations. That's how I found this gem. I came across the song, "Every Time - Boy Pablo." Intrigued by the name and thumbnail, I clicked on it. Within a couple hours, I went through all his music and fell in love.

Boy Pablo is a band consisting of soft, indie, pop rock. They make songs you listen to when you're going through a breakup; Or when you're just feeling lonely, a song also made by Boy Pablo.

#9 Scarlxrd

Scarlxrd is a somewhat weird mix of screamo, heavy metal, and rap. I've never been the person to listen to heavy metal, actually, it was one of the genres I heavily avoided. That was until I found the five other albums he's released in the last two years, 2016–2018.

His music is something to definitely to get hype too. He releases music almost every week, you could never get bored of him. Especially his song "P.T.S.D," a guaranteed headbanger.

#8 Corbin

This artist is someone who doesn't really have a background. I found him while scrolling through SoundCloud. His album Mourn caught my attention; I put the whole album on repeat. Corbin is definitely an artist you listen to when you're just trying to get over a bad day or looking to chill and relax while doing homework.

He takes a darker turn in his music. His voice is different compared to what people listen to. However, I found myself listening to him and finding a love for it.

0:51 is when the song starts.

#7 Denzel Curry

I've been listening Denzel Curry for about a year and recently his new album has increased his popularity. I discovered him through another one of my favorite artist and found his album imperial. I listen to the whole album and became hooked.

His music is strictly hip hop and rap. Denzel Curry has a quick and unique flow. His lyrics are near money and women but more towards controversial issues.

Denzel is not afraid to speak his mind, especially in his recent album Taboo.

#6 Billie Eilish

I discovered Billie on Instagram and literally followed her for a week, and didn't realized she made music after taking a deeper look into her page.

Her music consists of alternative, R&B, and electropop. Her voice has a wavy feel to it, more smooth compared to other artists I've heard. Billie's "idontwannabeyouanymore" and "lovely" spoke to me deeply, leading to my deep love for her music.

#5 Trippie Redd

Trippie Redd is possibly the most unique artist I've seen to date. He can go from hardcore rap to straight R&B. His singing style is very distinct, it would fit in with the alternative genre. After two years since discovering him, I've grown to love his music from the first album to the most recent album he released: A Love Letter to You, A Love Letter to You 2. and Life's a Trip.

#4 Princess Nokia

Princess Nokia is a female rapper who gives a feminist style to her music. Her song "Tomboy" sheds light to the topic of her loving her own body. However, other songs express the appreciation of all women. I adore the message she expressed in all her music going from living in New York and women's rights.

#3 Coi Leray

I actually found Coi Leray just a couple days ago. She's a female rapper, whose song has increased in popularity in the last week, "Huddy." As you've seen with some of the other artists within this list, I love hype music; Or anything that'll make me want to jump up and down till I get a headache.

Her recent album is everythingcoZ. In my opinion, the whole album is my own personal hidden gem.

#2 xxxtentacion

The most controversial musical artist known to man. Xxxtentacion is possibly the most versatile singer and rapper. His songs expand over every genre there is by at least one song. This man had me listening to country music, screamo rap, and R&B at the same time. XXX has stretched my music taste in the last 3 years.

You can listen to him when going through depression, going through a relationship and when you need music for a party. "I Don't Wanna Do This Anymore" and "Take a Step Back" are my personal favorites.

#1 Joji

Joji consists of lo-fi hip hop and R&B. His songs are made for getting over an ex or having interest in someone who doesn't even know you exist. Both I can definitely relate too. His slow but smooth voice is mesmerizing. "Will He" is a song about him getting over an ex, a song I have on repeat for days at a time. And another favorite, "Slow Dancing in the Dark," is an amazing ballad.

Hopefully, my list leads you to some new artists and music. I look forward to making a part two of this list in the future.

bands
Like

About the Creator

Renee w

I'm Just a young writer looking to express myself. I use writing as a way to cope with the outside world and share my life with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.