Beat logo

My Top 10 Country Songs

Compiled by Julie Lacksonen

By Julie LacksonenPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
11
Photo by picjumbo.com from Pexels

Everyone is entitled to their own musical tastes. With that in mind, I set up a challenge for Vocal Writing Prompts members to write a piece about their 10 favorite songs - in whatever music style they chose - and why.

Here is how I handled this prompt: I did not include more than one song from any band or artist and I listed the songs in reverse order, ending with what I consider my favorite of the list.

Until I moved to Arizona almost 35 years ago, I wasn't much of a country music fan. I still don't care for some of the twangy stuff and nasally vocals, but my tastes have broadened. Here are my top picks for country music to date.

10. Sweet Home Alabama by Lynyrd Skynyrd.

This song didn't get higher on my list because it's so overplayed, but it really is a great song. From the opening guitar line to the lyrics, most people know this one - including many of my young students.

9. Born to Fly by Sara Evans.

If you haven't heard of Sara Evans before now, you're welcome! She has a lovely voice and writes most of her own lyrics, which gives her extra points on my scale.

8. Ring of Fire by Johnny Cash.

The song was co-written by Johnny's wife, June Carter Cash and Merle Kilgore. It's no wonder this one stayed as number one hit on the U.S. charts for seven weeks. The a cappella version, by Home Free, is also excellent, found here.

7. Travelin' Soldier by The Dixie Chicks.

This one was written by Bruce Robison for the Vietnam War, but the Dixie Chicks sang it when our military got involved in Afghanistan. I love that this song highlights the sacrifices our military members and their families face. If you are a veteran, thank you for your service.

6. I Will Always Love You by Dolly Parton.

Dolly penned this beautiful song and sings it better than Whitney Houston, whose rendition is arguably more famous. Once again, kudos to the singer-songwriter.

5. Toes by Zac Brown Band.

Zac Brown and his band members have so much talent. I could have included their song, Chicken Fried, or the softer song, Colder Weather. But I love the humor, the fun, and the setting of this song. After all, I'm a big water person.

4. Wagon Wheel by Darius Rucker.

This one was penned by the great, Nobel Prize winning lyricist, Bob Dylan. but he never recorded it. What a find! Darius Rucker is a perfect fit for it. He played rhythm guitar with Hootie and the Blowfish before establishing a solo career. I also appreciate that Rucker is a philanthropist, raising millions for education and hospitals in his native South Carolina.

3. Rocky Mountain High by John Denver.

This song is so magnificent. I love the message, the melody, and John Denver's voice. I believe in it so strongly, that when I compiled a list of 50 songs when my students were learning the states, this is the song I chose for Colorado, but I chose a video that has spectacular Colorado scenery. You can watch that one here if you prefer.

2. The Lighthouse's Tale by Nickle Creek.

This one makes my eyes water. It's such an unusual story song, told from the point of view of an inanimate object. I enjoy the harmonies of the violin and mandolin and the voices.

1. The Lucky One by Alison Krauss and Union Station.

Alison Krauss is a super talented musician. She got her start at a young age, winning local fiddle contests when she was as young as 10 years old. She joined the Grand Ole Opry at age 21. She has earned 27 Grammy Awards.

Would your list include any of the same songs? If you are a Vocal writer, join us with Vocal Writing Prompts and share yours.

Thank you for reading and listening. If some of these songs are new to you, I hope you found some new favorites.

bands
11

About the Creator

Julie Lacksonen

Julie has been a music teacher at a public school in Arizona since 1987. She enjoys writing, reading, walking, swimming, and spending time with family.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.