Beat logo

My Spotify 2020 Wrapped

Top artists + songs

By Stephen HillPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

As an avid fan of music, getting to see my Spotify stats each year is something that genuinely excites me! So when the end of the year rolls around I am hyped because I know my Spotify Wrapped is coming. I'm the type of person that tries to predict my top genre and artist. Then I go back and see how much has changed from the year before. I even use it as a conversation piece with friends and family. I believe knowing the music that people love actually helps you to understand them.

Whoever came up with Spotify Wrapped should get a raise. With all the music that came out this year, I was eager to see my top results. So without further ado, let's get into it!

My Top Genres/Songs

I'll just be real. I was not surprised to see what was at number one. I am just low key embarrassed to reveal it. Most people don't know this about me, but I am actually a fan of "some" pop music. Here are a few of my favorite albums/songs from my top five genres!

#1 Pop

Tori Kelly - Solitude (EP)

Justin Bieber - Changes (Album) + Holy (Single) + Monster (Single)

Lauv - Without You (EP)

Astrid S - Leave It Beautiful (Album)

#2 CCM

Maverick City Music - "Promises" from Vol 3. Part 1 (Album)

ZOE Worship - Somebody (Single)

Cory Asbury - Reckless Love w/ Tori Kelly (Single) + To Love A Fool (Album)

Bethel Music - "Champion" + "Egypt" from Revival's In The Air (Album)

#3 Christian Hip Hop

Lecrae - Restoration (Album)

KB - "10k" + "Armies" from His Glory Alone (Album)

Andy Mineo - Happy Thoughts (EP)

#4 Rap

NF - The Search (Album)

Tobe Nwigwe - The Pandemic Project (Album)

#5 Lo-Fi Beats

Kupla - Sylvan

Playlist - lofi hip hop music - beats to relax/study to

My Top Artists

With 2,857 minutes streamed, the title for my top artist of 2020 goes to Justin Bieber. I know, I know. Half of you are probably cringing right now or thinking "Why JB?". But I was impressed with his grind this year. The guy released a full album (Changes) and four additional singles (Holy, Monster, Lonely, and Stuck with U). You cant knock hard work.

#2 Lecrae

I've been listening to Crae since 2006 and he has been one of the most consistent artists that I follow. This year he released his album "Restoration". Like always, I think that he did a good job of having a balanced project. You can easily hear pain, truth, and love laced within the album.

#3 Tori Kelly

This artist is easily one of my favorite vocalists. I've been listening to her since when she was just a youtube singer. Since those days, she's released multiple albums. She came out with a lot of music this year but the project that I enjoyed the most was her EP "Solitude".

#4 NF

Out of everyone I listen to, I feel like NF receives the most flak. Most of the feedback I hear is that he is either trying to sound like Eminem or he is too sad and angry all the time. It is hard to fight either of those statements. But I will say that everyone is inspired by someone. Can hear the influence that Eminem has on his style? Sure. But he is far from a copy cat. Secondly, everyone also has their own lane and their own story. He does a great job of sharing it in his music, but I don't think that gives us the right to measure what his personal growth should look like.

He only released one single in 2020 (Chasing), but I still listened to his album from 2019 (The Search).

By sgcdesignco on Unsplash

2020 has been a rough one in many ways. But I will forever be thankful for the gift of music. I believe it helps us capture and create memories! Thanks for joining me as I reviewed my Spotify 2020 Wrapped.

list
Like

About the Creator

Stephen Hill

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.