Beat logo

My Quarantine playlist for feels and freedom

Soothing the sounds of my own silence

By Samantha ParrishPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
2

There has been an assortment of feelings throughout this whole ordeal of the Coronavirus. Our lives have been changed to live through this part that has made a devastating impact in our history. We have time to be at home now, and we have to find ways to preoccupy ourselves. There's only so much movies and TV to binge and distract. Most of the creators I've been keeping contact with have said that music has been the biggest benefactor to keeping a positive mental headspace to be at peace. I'd have to agree, because it's been a big part of my quarantine routine. To find new songs or listen to ones I have with a new respect for how it parallel to my situation and I never noticed til I had the time to sit down and understand it from a different viewpoint.

1. Frozen Pines by Lord Huron

This song is primarily about wandering through life with an unknown destination venturing through the ominous 'Frozen Pines'. That has a somewhat, same ambiance to feeling lost in time with the standstill of society from the quarantine. The context of the song is placed within a forest and feeling lost, it's the same feelings in our own life when have no idea where we are going but it's time to be moving on. I've felt a comfort in this song in the times I've felt isolated and lost, feeling the same within the confines of my own home as the singer of the song. This song was discovered at a time in my life when I was getting help for my depression. Now it's helped me find a sense of comfort with the comparison of feeling lost in the woods, as feeling lost and knowing things are changing. I've had a lot to think about with my life and relationships being quarantined. This song has helped with my reflections and loss of direction to help me get going. The soothing sounds in this song have helped me be at peace with my reflections.

2. Searching by Trevor Something

I've played his songs when I have gotten into my writing mode to be inspired to create. But there's one song on his first album that specifically helped with my yearning for a relationship or some sort of romantic connection. The song tells there is someone in the vast worlds and beyond, someone that has been embedded in your heart and they are out there, somewhere. I love the fact that this song compares the search and yearn for love in the lyrical context of searching through space. That's what love feels like, a search for someone, and now in the quarantine, it does feel like it's stalling the search. But that doesn't mean that the other person, wherever they are there are out there, stuck in quarantine same as me, and we'll meet when the world begins again.

3. She Bop by Cyndi Lauper

This has been a song that has gotten me moving and grooving. Exciting rhythm of his underrated 80s song from Cyndi Lauper. I'll admit I haven't been following a lot of her music, I know of her acclaimed music she's created, it just never synced with me. Then I found this song, and it was just the right song to have during this quarantine get me off my feet and invigorate me. For four minutes, I have an escape to be a rebel, throwing on a leather jacket and dancing around my room. Then, when the song is over, it's only natural that I put that song on repeat to have that moment of rebel last for however long I need in the confines of my home.

4. I Would Hurt A Fly by Ane Brun

Sometimes we get songs that may have not been entranced by in that moment, sometimes it takes a bit of time before it comes back to resonate in a snippet repeating. This one came to me a couple days ago, with the piano sounds and hauntingly memorizing lyrics were coming back to recollection. It's like I was supposed to remember this song for a reason, two actually. This song came to help me with a feeling of how a character of mine is struggling in my book. The second reason is my personal reason, the feeling that no one see the anxiety I have. The song is about the worries that we notice in someone that maybe no one else notices, and I've felt like that person that the singer describes. I've cared when I have noticed others dealing with anxiety, but sometimes I feel as if no one notices my own and it's not taken in the same care and consideration. This song shows how I feel and what I wished someone would notice. Now that I'm home, this song does help me be at peace when the anxiety comes on.

5. Everyone is the Same by Innerpartysystem

This song does pertain to how everyone feels in this quarantine, hearing the news and having to abide by the unknown rules. With the continuing problems in the pandemic, everything seems to fall apart: the government, gatherings, way of life, it's the same in an eerie way of recluse reform.

6. Mediate by INXS

This is my 'vibe check' song. The spoken one to three word lyrics sums up the feelings during the quarantine in a uplifting, calming way to speak the truth. The lyric, Youth irate: sums up the kids that won't have prom or a walk on graduation, their life is on hold for an unknown amount of time. It's defiantly helped me keep my cool in moments I am stressed about the news, rethinking my relationships, trying not to let anxiety take over about every little thing I do in maintaining my relationships, and keeping it to neutral. To Mediate.

I hope these shared songs can be added to your playlist to help you find peace or have an escape for a little while. To go to a world that's outside your confined spaces with the song that provodes that mental escape. It's helped me and I hope it can help you.

Stay safe and healthy

list
2

About the Creator

Samantha Parrish

What's something interesting you always wanted to know?

Instagram: parrishpassages

tiktok: themysticalspacewitch

My book Inglorious Ink is now available on Amazon!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.