Beat logo

My Quarantine Journey: A Playlist

Join me on a musical journey through my lockdown experience...

By A. N. Merchant Published 4 years ago 4 min read
2
My Quarantine Journey: A Playlist
Photo by Malte Wingen on Unsplash

The world is an exceptionally odd place to be right now and an apocalyptic, Orwellian atmosphere has descended upon us. Even in the darkest of times music can be a therapeutic form of self expression for many, so I am going to take you on a musical journey through my lockdown experience so far.

Prepare yourself to experience the highs and lows of my time in quarantine, described with out of context song titles and lyrics. Grab your headphones, take a seat and press play. It's going to be emotional.

Me in the time before social restrictions began, observing other countries going into lockdown: Korn - No One's There.

Me when it was announced that we are going into lockdown for the foreseeable future: "I'm living in the strange days, i'm living in a world that I don't know. Get ready for the dark age." Three Days Grace - Strange Days.

Me waking up on day 1 of lockdown: "What a time to be alive, wake up and smell the dynamite." Also me hours later when I cough after swallowing a piece of toast wrong and google my symptoms: "is it just me or does anyone else feel like this could be farewell?" Neck Deep - Happy Judgement Day.

Me watching from behind my curtain as my neighbour breaks the rules and has visitors coming and going in broad daylight: "Disorder, disorder, disorder!" System of a Down - Toxicity.

Me in the supermarket for my essential groceries: The Police - Don't Stand So Close To Me.

Me receiving emails confirming that all of my upcoming events have been postponed or cancelled: "Now your nightmare comes to life." Avenged Sevenfold - Nightmare.

Me thinking about the impact this is having on my mental health and that of others: "everybody says they're fine, but I know we're not alright." Papa Roach - Come Around.

Me not knowing what day it is and forgetting what freedom feels like: "I can't stop feeling like every days exactly the same, with a one track mind I don't think I can change. Trapped in memories stuck on replay." A Day to Remember - Resentment.

Me back in the supermarket watching everyone attempt to get in my personal space while stockpiling their trolleys with a years worth of tinned food: "I hate everyone that I meet." Also me as I reach the loo roll and dry pasta aisles to find them empty for the third consecutive week: "I think I'm reaching the limit, you should keep your distance." Lower Than Atlantis - Had Enough.

Me observing the weather getting warmer and sunnier from behind the curtain and dreaming about the things I would be doing in another life: "I wanna feel happy days." Blink-182 - Happy Days.

Me, a misanthrope, starting to miss in-person contact with the select few people on the planet that I can tolerate: "Such a lonely day shouldn't exist, it's a day that i'll never miss. Such a lonely day and it's mine, the most loneliest day of my life." System of a Down - Lonely Day.

Me thinking about how children of the future will be taught about this time in history lessons: "we'll go down in history, remember me for centuries." Fall Out Boy - Centuries.

Me in bed knowing that when I wake up we will still be in lockdown: "Sometimes at night I let it get to me and sometimes i'm sure it gets to all of us, and last night it had me down and feeling numb. I can try but sometimes that is not enough." Neck Deep - In Bloom.

Me as I make an active decision to stop subscribing to the fear, panic and gloom in the media and start to live my best quarantine life: "Am I still breathing? Then nothing is as bad as it seems so just keep breathing and keep calm, keep calm. The only real control we have is over ourselves so let's get over it, that we can't and we won't control anything else." We Came As Romans - Just Keep Breathing.

Me trying my best to regain a sense of normality amongst all of the doomsday noise: "we won't waste another day with all these silly things in our way." Crossfade - No Giving Up.

Me back in the supermarket with dry pasta and loo roll in my trolley: "As hope burns we rise from the ashes, darkness fades away." Skillet - Rise.

Me finally having adjusted to this way of life and able to see the benefits of this time and not focus so much on the negatives and uncertainty: "I'm finally acquiring the state of mind that everything is gonna be alright." State Champs - Elevated.

Future me watching the government broadcast when they announce that social restrictions will be lifted: The Beatles - Here Comes The Sun.

I would love to know what you would include on your quarantine playlist and why. Let me know @curiouslycreepy on Twitter or @creepyandcurious on Instagram.

Stay creepy and curious, ghouls.

list
2

About the Creator

A. N. Merchant

Sharing factual and fictional stories of the horrific, disgusting, macabre and frightfully peculiar. Appealing to the morbid curiosity within us all.

@creepyandcurious - Instagram

@curiouslycreepy - Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.