Beat logo

My New Albums

After All These Years, I Finally Own "New Gold Dream 81/82/83/84"

By Z-ManPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Well, it's official. As the subtitle above states, I finally own "New Gold Dream 81/82/83/84". I still don't understand what the numbers are supposed to allude to exactly, but that's just a tangent statement. I finally get to enjoy the album in its non-YouTube glory.

Although I already owned "Once Upon A Time" and "Sons and Fascination" (and "Street Fighting Years", I think), I thought, what the hell. I wanted "Dream" and, of course, "Sparkle In The Rain".

(I also came to realize that "Sons" came before "Dream", and "Sparkle" came after "Dream". I honestly thought "Sparkle" was first, then "Dream", then a few albums later came "Sons".)

"Dream" has a lot of wonderful instrumentation and atmosphere. I was particularly impressed with "Colours Fly and Catherine Wheel" when I first heard it. I don't want to spoil it before you hear it, but let's just say that repetition and upward succession can be a very powerful thing. There are many elegant aspects of this album.

Suffice it to say, if you have only heard "Don't You (Forget About Me)", you have been distastefully misled from the grandeur that they have to offer. They performed the song, but did not write it. I highly recommend giving their actual works a listen. Because there is a lot to appreciate.

As I have written before in one or more of these articles, phrases like "one-hit wonder" are so misleading that they nip spiritual, etc. growth right in the bud.

What do I mean by that?

I mean that, in what I suppose is the case of many, so many artist's songs get swept under the rug because people get attached to one song (say, "Crazy Train"; or "Don't Stop Believing") that tens, perhaps even of hundreds (probably just in Prince's case), of songs are never heard.

My advice to you?

Give albums a chance.

Now, I can't deny the fact that there are likely a good deal of albums that lack...I suppose I'll use the word "integrity". But if an artist has a good song, chances are they have others that are worthwhile to listen to.

The term "one-hit wonder", like I said, is misleading. Logically, it does not hold up under scrutiny. It is a commercial word; a financial term; a description of the opinion as conglomerated by the general populace from the time it is released until it reaches its largest audience. Inherently, I'm sure it was coined by some party that was only focused on how much they would make from the product...personally.

(Well, probably more like fixated.)

Just be careful what you come to "know" when you take something in. While you may not live long enough to see the repercussions of the things that you take for granted, be wary of that possibility.

Obviously there is a lot in life that is never in our sights, and thus never actually requires clearing up. However, it is good to realize this and to thus consider taking advantage of this fact. It may not catapult your life in a completely different direction (or perhaps it might), but it will certainly equip you further in painting your experience of life in vibrant colors as you may have never experienced before.

AFTERWORD

As I have said before, if there is anything that you would like me to discuss in any of these articles, do let me know. It takes two for ventures like this to pan out toward any level of significance. I have a lot to say, but who will listen?

That is the predicament that is the foundation of success, yet is totally devoid of it. It is merely the ground in which the roots take their hold.

So, if there is anything you would like me to tackle in these articles, you have the floor.

Until next time:

Ciao!

\m/, B'] <3

album reviews
Like

About the Creator

Z-Man

\m/,

Hello all! I am an aspiring vocalist, filmmaker + writer. I hope you gain something personal + inspiring from my work here. You are also welcome to subscribe to my YouTube Channel: Ad-Libbing With The Zman.

Thank You!

Zach

B']

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.