Beat logo

'My Life Juice' at Sayen Gardens

Live Performance of Original Song by Jim Gaven

By Jim GavenPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

Filmed at Sayen Gardens, a lovely, scenic, peaceful park in Hamilton, NJ, this is a live performance of a song I wrote called, 'My Life Juice'. Tommy Bartlett of T Productions came up with the idea for me to walk towards the camera around the path as I sang and played the song on guitar. As you can see, it was a beautiful day, and he was able to capture a rare moment where I exercised while performing. Being that this video is at least 5 years old, it shows a more immature side of me as far as singing the song goes.

'My Life Juice' is one of those tunes that traveled with me. Not every song is like that for me, but this one most certainly was. I remember starting it on a weekend spent visiting a friend in Richmond, VA, and then finished it when I arrived back home in NJ. The strange and wonderful thing about this song is that I started it without an instrument in hand. This is rare for me--to have an idea for a song and begin the process of creating a melody AND storyline with no backing instrument. You see, I usually write with a guitar, piano, or ukulele in hand to help draw out the melody, and then I start to formulate ideas as to what the song will be about, playing around with the melody I hum before putting actual words to it.

Written about a close friend confiding in me with some very personal information, I decided never to go into a deeper explanation when asked what or who the song is actually about. Besides, the lyrics tell it best anyway. The short story of the meaning behind the song is that it's about being there for someone. In my case, it was about being there for a friend, and letting them know I'm here to listen, and whatever is said is safe with me.

Here are the lyrics for your viewing pleasure. Feel free to read along with them as the song progresses.

Enjoy!

"My Life Juice" - Music and Lyrics by Jim Gaven

1st Verse: 

Sometimes a friend is all you need, someone to talk to you when you're lost at sea, I'll cast my line to bring you back to shore, and we can find what you're looking for 

It's such a crazy world that we live in, so many things to do in so many directions, we need to slow it down and take deep breaths, before we miss what happens next

Pre-Chorus:

I'll be there, through the thick and thin, you know that I care enough about you to let you in 

Chorus:

So call me anytime you want, and we'll listen to your favorite song, forget about the world for a minute or two 

I'll take all of your empty pain and flush it right down the drain, then fill your heart up with some of my life juice, cuz’ that's what friends are for, life juice

2nd Verse:

Sometimes a friend is all you need, someone to talk to keep you company, I listen well to what you have to say, you tell me things that I'll take to my grave 

And when you think you're just too weak to go on, I'll be the one to help you pull through strong, I'll lift you up when you are on the ground, and you can stand up to what put you down

Pre-Chorus:

I'll be there, through the thick and thin, you know that I care enough about you to let you in 

Chorus:

So call me anytime you want, and we'll listen to your favorite song, forget about the world for a minute or two 

I'll take all of your empty pain and flush it right down the drain, then fill your heart up with some of my life juice, cuz’ that's what friends are for, life juice

Bridge:

Life Juice, My Life Juice

Chorus:

So call me anytime you want, and we'll listen to your favorite song, forget about the world for a minute or two 

I'll take all of your empty pain and flush it right down the drain, then fill your heart up with some of my life juice, cuz’ that's what friends are for, life juice

Chorus:

So call me anytime you want, and we'll listen to your favorite song, forget about the world for a minute or two 

I'll take all of your empty pain and flush it right down the drain, then fill your heart up with some of my life juice, cuz’ that's what friends are for, life juice

song reviews
Like

About the Creator

Jim Gaven

My mission is to write inspirational stories that make you feel good about yourself, put a smile on your face, and think of things in a different way.

www.keyofawesomemusic.com

www.jimgaven.bandcamp.com

www.patreon.com/keyofawesomemusic

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.