Beat logo

My Immortal cover Shannon King

Evanescence

By Shannon KingPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
Disclaimer: I do not own nor did I create any of the instrumental/musical background or compose the melody or lyrics of this song. Credit is attributed to the original publisher/author and the only part of this creation I own is the voice singing the song to a karaoke version that was available via youtube.com. The correct references are also notated for the biographies on the artists. Thank you!

LYRICS

I'm so tired of being here

Suppressed by all my childish fears

And if you have to leave

I wish that you would just leave

'Cause your presence still lingers here

And it won't leave me alone

These wounds won't seem to heal, this pain is just too real

There's just too much that time cannot erase

When you cried, I'd wipe away all of your tears

When you'd scream, I'd fight away all of your fears

And I held your hand through all of these years

But you still have all of me

You used to captivate me by your resonating light

Now, I'm bound by the life you left behind

Your face it haunts my once pleasant dreams

Your voice it chased away all the sanity in me

These wounds won't seem to heal, this pain is just too real

There's just too much that time cannot erase

When you cried, I'd wipe away all of your tears

When you'd scream, I'd fight away all of your fears

And I held your hand through all of these years

But you still have all of me

I've tried so hard to tell myself that you're gone

But though you're still with me, I've been alone all along

When you cried, I'd wipe away all of your tears

When you'd scream, I'd fight away all of your fears

And I held your hand through all of these years

You still have all of me, me, me

Source: LyricFind

Songwriters: Ben Moody / David Hodges / Amy Lee

My Immortal lyrics © Reservoir Media Management Inc

About the song: "My Immortal" is a song by American rock band Evanescence from their debut studio album, Fallen (2003). It was released by Wind-up Records on December 8, 2003, as the third single from the album. An alternative version appears on the band's fourth studio album Synthesis (2017). The song was written by guitarist Ben Moody, lead singer Amy Lee and keyboardist David Hodges, and it was produced by Moody and Dave Fortman. Various versions of "My Immortal" were recorded; one of them was included on the demo album Origin (2000) and another on the EP release Mystary (2003). The version originally appearing on Origin was later included on Fallen, featuring piano with backing strings. The version of the song released as a single was dubbed the "band version" because of the complete band's performance of the bridge and final chorus of the song.

"My Immortal" is a piano power ballad with a slow tempo. Lyrically, it talks about "a spirit staying with you after its death and haunting you until you actually wish that the spirit were gone because it won't leave you alone."[1] Critical reception towards the song was positive, with critics complimenting its piano melody. In 2005, it received a nomination for Best Pop Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocals at the 47th Grammy Awards. The song was also commercially successful, peaking within the top ten in more than ten countries. It charted at number seven on the US Billboard Hot 100 and topped the charts in Canada, Greece and Portugal, as well as on the Billboard Adult Pop Songs chart. The single was certified gold in the United States, and platinum in Australia.

An accompanying music video directed by David Mould was filmed entirely in black-and-white in Gothic Quarter, Barcelona, on October 10, 2003. The video shows Lee sitting and singing on various locations, but never touching the ground. Shots of Moody are also shown but he is never together with his band or Lee. The video was nominated in the category for Best Rock Video at the 2004 MTV Video Music Awards. The song was performed by the band during their three concert tours: the Fallen Tour (2003), The Open Door Tour (2007) and the Evanescence Tour (2011–12). It was also performed live during some of their television appearances and award ceremonies such as the Billboard Music Awards.

The song was written by Ben Moody and Amy Lee and produced by Moody and Dave Fortman; it was the fourth song to be written for Evanescence.[1][3] Amy Lee's vocals and the piano parts of the song were recorded in NRG Recording Studios, California.[4] The drums, bass and electric guitars were recorded at The Steakhouse Studio in North Hollywood. "My Immortal" was mixed by Dave Fortman at Conway Recording Studios in North Hollywood while it was mastered by Ted Jensen at Sterling Sound in New York City.[4] The orchestral parts in the song were arranged by the composer Graeme Revell.[4]

The earliest known demo of "My Immortal" was recorded in 1997, which solely featured Lee's vocals accompanied by a piano, and slightly different lyrics. The song was intended to be included on the band's self-titled EP, but was cut before it was released.[5] In 2000, the song was re-recorded for the band's demo album, Origin, which contains a rearranged piano melody and lyrics, including the bridge added by Lee.[6] It was again recorded for the band's debut full-length debut studio album, Fallen where the vocals of the demo version were accompanied by slightly different instrumentation.[1] It is also featured on the band's 2003 EP, Mystary, which is much more similar to the band version.[7] Wind-up Records preferred the Origin version, which is why the exact vocals recorded from 2000 are again included in the song's album version.[2] The version that was recorded and released as a single is moderately alternative to that of the album version, and is often referred to as the "band version" because of the additional band performing the bridge and final chorus of the song. The later pressings of Fallen contain the single version (or "band version") of "My Immortal" as a hidden track.[8] Lee expressed some dissatisfaction with the early versions of the song saying, "It's not even a real piano. And the sound quality is bad because we had to break into the studio to record it late at night when no one was around because we couldn't afford a real session."[2]

"My Immortal" is a piano[9][10] and power ballad[11] written in the key of A major.[12] It was described as a "goth-meets-pop" song.[13] According to the sheet music published by Alfred Music Publishing on the website Musicnotes.com, the song is set in common time and performed in slow and free tempo of 80 beats per minute. Lee's vocal range for the song runs from the low musical note of A3 to the high note of C♯5.[14] Her vocals are accompanied by a simple piano.[11] Adrien Begrand of PopMatters concluded that in "My Immortal", Lee is "doing her McLachlan/Tori Amos schtick".[15] The song was also compared with some of Enya's material.[16]

The lyrics of the song refer to a spirit that haunts the memory of a grieving loved one.[2] Similar to several other songs written by Moody, the lyrics of the song are based on a short story he had previously written.[1] According to Lee, it was "Ben [Moody]'s song."[17] Moody said that the song talks about "a spirit staying with you after its death and haunting you until you actually wish that the spirit were gone because it won't leave you alone."[1] He also stated in the booklet of Fallen that he dedicated the song to his grandfather, Bill Holcomb.[1] In "My Immortal", Lee expresses her feelings through the line, "Though you're still with me / I've been alone all along."[18] A writer for IGN said that "'My Immortal' is a song of pain and despair caused by the loss of a family member or very close friend and how it drove her [Lee] to the edge of insanity."[18] (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/My_Immortal).

pop culture
Like

About the Creator

Shannon King

Born in St. Augustine, Fl, Shannon has a Master of Arts Degree in Applied Behavior Analysis from USF. She is currently pursuing a career in music, singing and writing with a focus in poetry, biographies, and inspirational messages.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.