Beat logo

My Halloween Party Dance Mix

From Bobby Pickett, through Michael Jackson and Ray Parker Jr. and ending with Evanescence

By Jude LiebermannPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
4
My Halloween Party Dance Mix
Photo by NeONBRAND on Unsplash

No Halloween party would be complete without the Monster Mash by Bobby Pickett, which is the first song on this hour long video of popular Halloween songs.

This song is so much fun, it doesn't even have to be Halloween to enjoy listening to it, but it would certainly liven up any party. It's a good song to start with while everyone is arriving and doing their meet and greet.

While not all of the songs in that video would make my party list, Thriller by Michael Jackson is definitely at the top of best songs to play at your party. It has a great beat and you can dance to it. I've always had a soft spot for Michael, especially when I was a teenager. Thriller's included in the above collection, but I must also share the classic video.

I was only a teenager when this was released on MTV, and it floored me. It's like a mini-movie. If you've lived under a rock your whole life and have not seen this video and have 13 minutes to spare, you need to watch. I used to have the Making of Thriller, which I watched many times. It was fun to see all that went on behind the scenes, especially all the dance rehearsals. Watching Michael getting made up like a werewolf was fun too.

Thriller is a great way to get a party going and get people to dance. Who can forget that great scene in 13 Going on 30 with Jennifer Garner?

Wow, and isn't Mark Ruffalo (The Hulk) young in this scene? But back to the music. Michael's music is catchy and always great to dance to.

Pretty much everything Michael released in the 80's and 90's were best sellers, and other singers wanted to cash in on his fame. Rockwell was one of them.

Somebody's Watching me by Rockwell would definitely make the cut of great Halloween songs. I still remember when it was released, and I only bought it because Michael Jackson was featured. I read later that he was angry when he found out that he was the focal point of the song. He was told he would just be background, but he certainly is the reason the song was so popular.

Zombie by the Cranberries doesn't really sound much like a Halloween song, but it's catchy and it's about zombies so how can it not make my list? Also Ghostbusters by Ray Parker Jr. Both these songs are a part of the following collection (there are so many of these out there):

Did you know that Ray Parker Jr was only given 2 days to write Ghostbusters? He not only was under a time crunch, but he had to include the word Ghostbusters in the song, which he at first thought would be impossible. Luckily, he was able to do it, after watching a pest control commercial on TV and a lightbulb went off in his head. Now it's a classic. On top of that, Ray never says Ghostbusters in the song. He asks the question, "Who you gonna call?" and everyone else says "Ghostbusters!" Such a fun song and is still a catchy tune.

Anyone who has seen Rocky Horror Picture Show would certainly recognize the next song, Time Warp.

I never understood the popularity of this movie, until I finally watched it with a group of people who knew which props to throw at the screen. The movie by itself is pretty awful, but if you throw in the extra words you shout as well as the toast, newspaper, etc, it becomes an incredibly funny shared experience.

Daredevil might not have been a great movie, but it did have one of my favorite songs, Bring me to Life by Evanescence.

Only a portion of the song is actually in the movie, but it makes an impact. It's when Elektra is training with her knives to go after Daredevil. Most of her scenes are pretty cool. Well, except for the one with Bullseye, where she gets her butt kicked way too fast.

Well, that's my list. Hope you enjoyed it.

dance
4

About the Creator

Jude Liebermann

I love creating stories and have been doing it for most of my life. To learn more about me and my writing, please visit judesplace.com.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.