Beat logo

My Five Favorite Yellowcard Songs

Five Favorite Songs From One Of My Favorite Bands

By Thomas FletcherPublished 5 years ago 8 min read
Like

Yellowcard has been one of my favorite bands and has meant a lot to me since I started listening to them a lot more about eight years ago. Their songs have so much meaning and are very relatable for many different situations. Listening to their music has helped me through so many different situations and has always made me feel better about things in life. I am going to list my ten favorite songs by Yellowcard and explain why I love these songs so much.

1. Paper Walls

"Paper Walls" is the title track off of Yellowcard's "Paper Walls" album. This song means so much to me by the meaning of the song and with lyrics like "Let's take what hurts and write it all down, On these paper walls and this empty house, and when the ink runs out, We can burn it to the ground." This song is basically about holding on to your dreams and not listening to what other people say, because they will try to make you feel like you can't reach those dreams. It also has lyrics about we can always find ways to get over or make the things that hurt easier, and eventually we will be able to move on from those things.

2. Dear Bobbie

I love the song "Dear Bobbie" because of the story it tells. The song is about the lead singers grandparents, and was inspired by the letter his grandpa wrote to his grandma. The letters talk about how they kept giving up on each other and getting back together, and eventually they got married. The final letter in the song talks about how they are old now but still have each other, and that love is still bonding them together.

3. You And Me And One Spotlight

"You And Me And One Spotlight" is basically a love song. But it's one of the most beautiful songs by them. It sounds beautiful and has a calming tone to it. My favorite part of the song is "Go put on your best tonight, It's you and me and not much time, To watch the world burning bright, We are ready." It's a really beautiful song.

4. City Of Devils

"City Of Devils" is a song off of Yellowcard's "Lights and Sounds" Album. This album is very underrated, due to it not being like Yellowcard's other albums that their fans loved. A lot of fans didn't like the sound of the album at first because they wanted another album that was similar to the band's "Ocean Avenue" album. It's my favorite song off the album. It has really relatable lyrics like "Find somebody to learn, Boy you gotta love someone more than yourself, I can feel the fire of the city lights burn, It's hard to find angels in hell." The song is basically about feeling like you don't belong, and never know if the things you are doing are the right things or the wrong things.

5. A Vicious Kind

"A Viscious Kind" Is a song that means A lot to me. It's basically about being in any kind of Relationship with someone who thinks they are always right and never apologizes or admits they are wrong. It's about someone who has always been allowed to get their way because everyone believes they are a better person than they actually are. Some of my favorite lyrics in this song are "You're a vicious kind, Because you lived this life, Where you're allowed to win." And "I want you to know, I'm not sorry at all, You can't buy forgiveness, Or Blame me for the fall." This song means a lot to me, because it sounds a lot like a close friendship I used to have.

Honorable Mention: The Hurt Is Gone

"The Hurt Is Gone" Was Yellowcard's Second Single off of their Self-Titled album. The song is about not wasting time on things from the past, and change will always happen no matter how much you're trying to avoid it or hoping it won't. It's about things that have been said will eventually go away, and fighting with darkness and light inside your mind, but no matter how bad these things get, you will always have time. My favorite part of this song is "Feel darkness and the light, Wrestle in your mind, You know it's there, It's always been right there." This song is amazing and sounds really nice. The message in the song is a really good message, and is relatable to everyone.

Yellowcard has been one of my favorite bands, and these five songs mean so much to me. They have helped me through things and feel better about different situations so many times. These five songs are amazing songs, and Yellowcard fans are some of the best, most passionate fans you will meet. Unfortunately Yellowcard came to an end in 2017, but their music is still really relatable and have good messages in them.

(Image: Google Images)

1. "Paper Walls"

"Paper Walls" is the title track off of Yellowcard's Paper Walls album. This song means so much to me. With lyrics like "Let's take what hurts and write it all down/On these paper walls and this empty house, and when the ink runs out/We can burn it to the ground," this song is basically about holding on to your dreams and not listening to what other people say, because they will try to make you feel like you can't reach those dreams. It also has lyrics about we can always find ways to get over or make the things that hurt easier, and eventually we will be able to move on from those things.

2. "Dear Bobbie"

I love the song "Dear Bobbie" because of the story it tells. The song is about the lead singer's grandparents, and was inspired by the letters his grandpa wrote to his grandma. The letters talk about how they kept giving up on each other and getting back together, and eventually they got married. The final letter in the song talks about how they are old now but still have each other, and that love is still bonding them together.


3. "You And Me And One Spotlight"

"You And Me And One Spotlight" is basically a love song, but it's one of the most beautiful songs by them. It sounds beautiful and has a calming tone to it. My favorite part of the song is "Go put on your best tonight/It's you and me and not much time/To watch the world burning bright/We are ready." It's a really beautiful song.

4. "City Of Devils"

"City Of Devils" is a song off of Yellowcard's Lights and Sounds album. This album is very underrated, due to it not being like Yellowcard's other albums that their fans loved. A lot of fans didn't like the sound of the album at first because they wanted another album that was similar to the band's Ocean Avenue album. It's my favorite song off of the album. It has really relatable lyrics like "Find somebody to learn/Boy you gotta love someone more than yourself/I can feel the fire of the city lights burn/It's hard to find angels in hell." The song is basically about feeling like you don't belong, and never know if the things you are doing are the right things or the wrong things.

5. "A Vicious Kind"

"A Viscious Kind" Is a song that means a lot to me. It's basically about being in any kind of relationship with someone who thinks they are always right and never apologizes or admits they are wrong. It's about someone who has always been allowed to get their way because everyone believes they are a better person than they actually are. Some of my favorite lyrics in this song are "You're a vicious kind/Because you lived this life/Where you're allowed to win," and "I want you to know/I'm not sorry at all/You can't buy forgiveness/Or blame me for the fall." This song means a lot to me, because it sounds a lot like a close friendship I used to have.

Honorable Mention: "The Hurt Is Gone"

"The Hurt Is Gone" Was Yellowcard's second single off of their self-titled album. The song is about not wasting time on things from the past and the fact that change will always happen, no matter how much you're trying to avoid it or hoping it won't. It's about how things that have been said will eventually go away, and about fighting with darkness and light inside your mind, but no matter how bad these things get, you will always have time. My favorite part of this song is "Feel darkness and the light/Wrestle in your mind/You know it's there/It's always been right there." This song is amazing and sounds really nice. The message in the song is a really good message, and is relatable to everyone.

Yellowcard has been one of my favorite bands, and these five songs mean so much to me. They have helped me through things and feel better about different situations so many times. These five songs are amazing songs, and Yellowcard fans are some of the best, most passionate fans you will meet. Unfortunately Yellowcard came to an end in 2017, but their music is still really relatable and has good messages.

list
Like

About the Creator

Thomas Fletcher

I love music, video games, reading, and basketball. I am an aspiring poet.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.