Beat logo

My First Reaction To Parasite Eve

Bring Me The Horizons new song Parasite Eve

By Ciara With a CPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Bring Me The Horizon have always been one of my favourite bands! They have so much energy and their sound is forever progressing which I love! Their new song Parasite Eve has been long awaited! It was announced near lock down that they would be releasing a new song. They even uploaded music vlogs on to their Youtube channel which shows the progress of the song and creating music. Watch them! It gives a good insight into how music is actually produced, especially in lock down. It has a Bring Me The Horizon twist to it and features Oli Sykes and Jordan Fish coming up with new music.

I love what Bring Me The Horizon stands for and they even delayed the release of Parasite Eve. They did not want to take away the momentum or takes eyes off the Black Lives Matter movement. I admire them for that. They always stand for equality and will help fight for it.

It is now fifteen minutes until eight in the evening on the twenty fifth of June when Parasite Eve is released. I cannot wait. The trailer for it came out yesterday and it was stunning. I was in love. In the trailer there is a voice saying 'Please Remain Calm' with sirens blaring and I can definitely cannot remain calm. It sounds like an apocalyptic alarm going off. It is the apocalypse right now after all. The song is fitting especially since the country is still in lock down. The art work for the song is also stunning. It is an upside face with pinkish lipstick and a metallic snake coming out of the mouth. Very Bring Me The Horizon and very aesthetic. In addition, Parasite Eve is named after an old 1998 play station game which I find very cool!

I want to record my first reactions to the song and video straight away. I will write my reaction to the music and video separately. I will stop talking so here is my first reaction!

OK. I have just listened to and watched Parasite Eve and WOW! The visuals in the video have left me speechless honestly. The visuals are very apocalyptic and futuristic. I love the use of red in the video to give connotations of hell and fire. All the band members wore masks with spiky teeth and blood to look like an apocalyptic monster. I am still just in awe. The video had a strong Nihilist Blues feel to it but also medicine vibes to it! To be honest it fits their style for Amo very well. It was very Bring Me The Horizon but with a new exciting paranormal twist to it.

The song itself has many layers. I cannot pinpoint what song it sounds like exactly but it sounds very Amo. I love the different styles in one. At one point Oli even pretends to sneeze, shouting Achoo. Brilliant. I like the build up to a breakdown. It is very Ludens like which I thoroughly enjoyed. The singing even sounded futuristic and panic like. I can only imagine this song live! It would be heavenly!

Overall, I did thoroughly enjoy this song and the music video fitted very well. I love the vibes and themes of this song and cannot wait for more Bring Me The Horizon music and am enjoying the new experimental music style! It is really refreshing! I am too much in love with this song and letting it seep in right now to really go into too much depth.

Just know I loved the sound and creativity put into this and the fact they produced this in lock down during a pandemic is honestly amazing! With there being a literal world pandemic right now the video sums up how this pandemic felt when it was first announced. It is the perfect time for the song and video to release and makes me feel better about the situation going on in the world right now. Thank you Bring Me The Horizon. Thank You.

song reviews
Like

About the Creator

Ciara With a C

Hi there! I am a 21 year old from the UK! I love to write about various topics such as music, poetry, television, books and things I do in my life! I love being positive! I also have a YouTube channel you can check out at Ciara WIth a C.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.