Beat logo

My First Reaction To 'Chromatica'

I wrote down my first thoughts on Lady Gaga's 'Chromatica'

By Ciara With a CPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
2
Chromatica album art

Lady Gaga’s new album Chromatica has just released! I was so excited to listen to it and as soon as it came out, I sat myself down and listened to all sixteen songs. When ‘Notes on a Conditional Form’ by the 1975 came out I thought it would be fun to listen to all songs one after the other and write my first reaction down. You can read more about it if you click onto my profile, it will be there! Anyway, I thought it would be fun to do it with Chromatica too! I just wrote down the first words that came to my head when listening to each song! I hope you enjoy and relate to the mess of my first reaction!

I would also like to say that prior to the album release I had already heard the singles. Therefore, I had already heard ‘Stupid Love’, ‘Rain on Me’ and ‘Sour Candy’. However, I wrote a little description on each whilst I was listening to the full album. I also have a more in depth review of ‘Rain on Me’ that you can check out if you go onto my profile!

A big theme of this album is freedom which I admire so much! I love the futuristic vibes and a lot of the songs gave me 90’s dance vibes! I really enjoyed listening to the album! Each song had different elements to it that I thoroughly enjoyed! I like the selection and vocals of featured artists as well! The album was very pop which is very different from Joanne. It was refreshing to get a pop album from Gaga again. There is some inspiration from ‘The Fame’ and ‘The Fame Monster’ included as well. I enjoyed that! The interludes were stunning as well! I feel there was inspiration from older generations too with a modern day twist. Anyway, here is my first reactions to Chromatica. Enjoy!

1-Chromatica I-Feels like I am in the beginning of a movie, reminds me of Hans Zimmer, orchestra, heavenly, suspenseful, lovely instrumental, powerful start to the album.

2-Alice-oooo Alice in Wonderland, DANCEY! nice dance beat, love the robotic spoken words, sounds very futuristic, pre chorus vocals are stunning! A song to be played in a car with the windows rolled down. HYPE.

3-Stupid Love-So catchy, the beat! LOOK AT ME NOW, the chorus though!! Amazing! Definitely a summer song. We have entered a new planet.

4-Rain On Me( I have a review on this! Check it out!)- Gives me Vogue vibes, ARIANA, the vocals harmonise so well, would be a great drag race lip sync song! The spoken words!! Reminds me of Born This Way. Rain, rain, on, on ME.

5-Free Woman-Positivity, 90s dance music, harmonies, club song, feminism, lyrics-This is my dance floor I fought for!!!!Love, the chorus!! Empowering.

6-Fun Tonight-Slower, sad, emotions, ‘Love the paparazzi, Love the Fame’, the last bridge! Soothes my heart.

7-Chromatica II-More beauty continued, more orchestra, movie song, leads on to 911. Remarkable.

8-911-Autotune is so cool, so robotic, and futuristic, sounds like the background music to a space movie, reminds me of The Fame Monster, old school gaga, the vocals at ‘Please fetch the line’ are just 10/10.

9-Plastic Doll-Symbolism of feminism, electro, lyrics are very powerful, the bridge is just wow, stutter at the end sounds robotic and I love it. The message behind the lyrics are so meaningful. ’I’m no toy for a real boy’. YES.

10-Sour Candy ft BLACKPINK- YES BLACKPINK and like that the song blends each artist’ vocals! I love the spoken words, the vocals of each artist are so complementing, definitely a club song.

11-Enigma-The deeper vocals are stunning, she sounds a bit like Cher when she sings a ‘we could be lovers’ and I get overall Cher vibes from this song. I am here for it. These vocals are so strong, and I love the pre chorus and chorus so so much! One of my favourite songs so far!

12-Replay-The beat during the chorus is just urhghhh!! So good! I love. A song I can see myself dancing to in the club. The last bridge-You had the gun!! I love that part so much! Another one of my favourites I must admit!

13-Chromatica III-Classical, full of life, like a chase song, sounds theatrical, sounds like I am in a dream or space!

14-Sine From Above-Chromatica III goes straight into this song! Great! The high-pitched vocals are so sad. I don’t even know why! Sounds like old school dance music, oh my gosh is that Elton John? It is!! I was not expecting that! Their voices harmonise so well! Sounds angelic! You can hear the emotions in this song! Dance music that sounds very 90's at the end. ELTON JOhn!

15-1000 Doves-A bop, lyrics are pretty sad, such a positive message with a great dance, SET ME FREEEEE, nothing can stop Gaga, such a strong, empowering song.

16-Babylon-Sounds like a futuristic jungle at the beginning, reminds me of Madonna’s spoken words in Vogue, sounds very very 80’s/90s, great finish to the album. Ends in style!

album reviews
2

About the Creator

Ciara With a C

Hi there! I am a 21 year old from the UK! I love to write about various topics such as music, poetry, television, books and things I do in my life! I love being positive! I also have a YouTube channel you can check out at Ciara WIth a C.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.