Beat logo

My Favorite Playlist

For those times I want to feel powerful

By Michelle WhitePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
My favorite song on the entire playlist

I sometimes have certain playlists for certain feelings. Some with feelings I want to make myself feel, or even for self care. My favorite one of all, is the one that makes me feel empowered. The number one song of mine to cause that? It is called The In-Between by In This Moment.

There's something about a female fronted band that definitely makes me feel empowered. This song however does help with that, as I relate to it so much. There's several other songs that make me feel the same. A few are by Halestorm, also a female fronted band. Lzzy Hale has a way of making a woman feel empowered just through her voice and her lyrics. She, to me, is iconic, as any female vocalist should be. I sincerely hope I have a few people who know who she is and will agree with me. However while listening to the previous song mentioned, who's lyric video I have also embedded (unsure if you can see that, if not I'd check out the song if you like metal), starts to fill me with this feeling the minute I hear the lyrics "I can feel a holy war."

There's just something about the music behind those lyrics that make me want to get up and dominate. I don't fully know how to explain it, but I'm doing my best! Anyone reading this know what I'm talking about? Now I deeply love other music genres, I grew up on quite a few basic ones before I branched out into my deep, dark, mysterious personality. I listened to country, pop, the basic rock music that most single moms listen to such as Nickelback, Buckcherry, Staind. But the more I explored music, the more I realized just how much of my fathers daughter I truly was when I learned I really enjoyed the metal scene! I do enjoy the local metal music of Charlotte, NC. Boy does that city know how to throw down in a mosh pit!

Amongst my local music playlist is my number one favorite, Never I. Now, for a local band, these boys sure do make you wish they were already signed. I mean, they definitely deserve it. I do recommend, wherever you are, if you enjoy metal music and have not yet heard of this local band, check them out. Their song "Hopelessness in Hoping for the Best" is a real banger, as well as the music video created for it. I remember I traveled a total hour and a half away just to see them live for the first time, and I was dying for a concert. This was a couple years ago. In that video, it truly shows you their spirit and never ending energy when they perform on stage.

Another local favorite is A Light Divided. I ran across one of their guitarists who told me about them, and I immediately ran to my Spotify to check them out. Nevertheless, I was impressed. So much talent and power behind their lead vocalists voice. She's a woman as well! Another favorite is Raimee. Rei from that band, she is the lead vocalist, is a beautiful human being who reminds me so much of Amy Lee from Evanescence when she sings. I can't give favorites for A Light Divided and Raimee, because all their music brings me so much joy.

Let me tell you when I say that the Charlotte, NC region's local music is extremely talented? I am not joking, seriously. These people deserve the absolute best in life, and I'm sure they will go very far!

Amongst the local scene, I do still enjoy other favorites by bands who have been signed for a while. A Day To Remember, Paramore, Skillet. There's tons that I enjoy. I'm sure if you were to check out a few of these bands, you would too!

Did you like what you read? Curious about more local music in my region? Send me a tip! Help me spread the word for more!

bands
Like

About the Creator

Michelle White

Hi! My name is Michelle, and I love to write about many things. I find that writing is a wonderful release for me, and I'm sure many of you feel the same! I enjoy reading everyone's wonderful stories!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.