Beat logo

My Appreciation for Kid Cudi

my taking on appreciating this man who is on an illusion and for all of his important efforts of his true dignity of showing his understanding & impressions on life struggles, mental illness, and drug addictions.

By Keanna Barry Published 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 9 min read
1
his philosophies speak so loud and I’m touched by them all.

Scott Mescudi known professionally as “Kid Cudi” is my top of the top even greatest of the greatest influencer on dealing with day to day troubles like drug addiction, mental health/illness, and suicidal tendencies. He speaks out a lot on the idea of all of those topics which makes me admire him.

When I found his music I was in a completely dark state of life. I had scary plans that fell through in my favour but I was desperate for that escape still and did toxic actions to ensure the day of fate wouldn’t fail me.

That was late 2015 for me. A kind of darkness that “was” darker than pitch black. It’s a terrible story of extreme loneliness and a lack of mental validation.

Yet his music reached me to this point of being touched by his rhymes and by saving my life from them.

I hate that cliche because then it almost sounds like I’m depending on it and on him to keep me safe when really his music was just a coping tool that helped carry me through.

So I’m very thankful to him and for all he does for his fans and supporters and whoever else loves him.

A way to instigate peace!

I look up to him as an artist or a hero that can and actually does save lives. Mine for one too! So importantly!! He pours his whole entire heart and soul into his work. His genre of “emo rap” has honestly blessed my heart, my mind, my life and the setting forth of doing it for so many other people too.

His philosophies speak major volumes that will never fail to reach me at my limit and to reflect on what he’s trying to get across to his audience.

As a member of his audience I want to address the issues we are all facing whether it’s severely affected you and by anything that we can thank our man for being himself and allowing his words to save.

That’s why I’m going to share some quotes from him and explain why I love them. So here it goes:

1. “People are going to wonder why you’re trying to be different; it’s just a natural instinct. If I was to walk down the street in a kilt, then dudes would wonder why I’m doing that, they’d think I was different or gay. It’s natural for people to point fingers. That’s my whole reason for trying to switch things up; don’t judge a book by it’s cover.” - Kid Cudi. *I like this quote because it reminds me of how little of a sh*t i give to people that blamelessly judge me when in all honesty they could be worrying about themselves and whatever life state they may be trapped in rather than to use that mental capacity and waste it and then use it for good when instead they waste it away by being rude or mean or judgmental.*

2. “My life is like a speeding bullet that just hasn’t hit the target yet.” - Kid Cudi *I like this one because it helps me venture on towards an idea of having this set rage or even unknown rage in you but you don’t necessarily have it in you to examine and release the pain in a safe way.*

3. “Sometimes you have to forgive and forget. Forgive them for hurting you and forget they exist.” -Kid Cudi *I couldn’t agree more with the “forget they exist” card because I’m always playing that way. Mainly to protect my peace and not deal with troubles of what scary people intend.*

4. “Once I accomplish one thing and I’m satisfied, I try something else. I may be 50 and doing something totally outside of music and acting. Maybe I’ll become a kindergarten teacher.” -Kid Cudi *I believe in his power to influence me on the scale of trying things out and by issuing a revolution that I plan to succeed in inventing because of him I want to do that.*

5. “Living life is a choice, making a difference in someone else’s isn’t.” -Kid Cudi *Whether intentionally or not (because his music and philosophies have changed the game for me) he has made a massive difference in my life and I am blessed to be a fan of his because I feel that life is so much more beautiful when you place your acceptance on the positives and negatives in life and watch how they play for you.”

6. “I just wanna learn and I wanna grow. I wanna consume as much information as possible. I wanna be great.” -Kid Cudi *For one he already is great so I’m assuming he just wants to be even better (within himself even?) which may be a bit hard because I’ve maxed out on how much I can take and learn from him!*

7. “Learn from this, there’s a light at the end of the tunnel. Hell does have an exit, and I found it. For those who are still looking for a way out, I left the door open and I’ll be waiting for whoever wants to grow with me.” -Kid Cudi *I’m kind of wishing that I was famous so I could collaborate with him as that would be the most epic thing ever! I love song writing (haven’t been doing it lately but it’s still fun and something I’d like to get back into) even though I’m not publishing any of it I still feel like it would be the coolest thing ever to be heard by him and work with him like that.*

8. “They say we don’t know what we’ve got until it’s gone, but what about, we don’t know what we’ve been missing until it arrives.” -Kid Cudi *My writings (like the novel I’m trying to complete) is focused on a lot of Cudi influence such as the revolution of evolution (revofev) which takes me into a spiral of understanding the lyrics and placing myself somewhere higher to get me back in my zone and keep up on the issues the world faces so that this revolution is the evolution of what we need.*

9.“ If you can’t do what you imagine, then what is imagination to you?” -Kid Cudi *Imagination is one of the most beautiful things we have as humans as our minds are so broad and complex that we would be nothing without it!*

10. “Always say how you feel because you never know if you’ll get the chance again.” -Kid Cudi *I like this one because although I’m a silent type of person I’m always trying to escape or get rid of my feelings in which are unsafe or slightly dangerous because the chance of a lifetime to heal and be completely healed does exist it’s just hidden down under each and every issue you’ve consumed in your life. Once you get there… to the state of understanding your inner life then things do get better! So I’m always practicing saying or admitting my problems that way I can be lesser of a damaged person in the long run!*

11. “People say that bad memories cause the most pain, but it’s actually the good ones that drive you insane.” -Kid Cudi *I face this one as something magnificently true because you can lose a friend and it’s never the memory of the down times that hit you hard it’s the memories of all the fun times you can’t get back. It’s like the pictures we took that actually made me remember that I am loved make me feel different now and it’s a shallow feeling that I’m not in the mood for to keep making me behave this way.*

12. “You sometimes think you want to disappear, but all you really want is to be found.” -Kid Cudi *Yes!! That’s exactly it! I don’t want to fade away I just want my existence to be appreciated… that is all I really crave.*

13. “I’m trying to change the world.” - Kid Cudi *which to me I find he is doing an incredible job at trying it out and then trying to change the world as even myself wants to do such a deed* (Minus the being famous part though) because if I could save or change the world I would do it in a flash I’m just not in the mood to go through the fame aspect of it because of how judgemental people can get or be and I’m no way close to being in a proper mindset to be famous and be “expected” to do more when I’ve already been trying my best!*

Then on to my top 10 songs by him.

10. Balmain Jeans

9. Just What I Am

8. Maniac

7. Alive

6. All Along

5. Revofev

4. Scott Mescudi vs. The World

3. King Wizard

2. Nobody Believes Me

1. Lord of The Sad & Lonely

Here is some more appreciation because I really don’t know how I would have survived some of my loneliest hours, days, weeks, and years (especially coming out of high school/dropping out of school) without his music and his philosophies that helped correct my feelings on feeling lost and alone in the world.

Truest thing ever!

I’m always saying stuff that revolves around the main point of the tweet. Which basically would be that 1. Insecurities are a distraction and 2. Other peoples opinions on you don’t mean anything because if they are not judging you with care to their criticism then there is no need to take their opinion and continue to play with a judgement that isn’t nice.

My life really is like this!

I couldn’t relate any harder. I wish I could encounter a Cudi *don’t know what it’s called* (montage maybe????) still though but it would be pretty cool to have that happen plus it would be worth it in more ways than one. I wish you would do a Canadian tour on that world tour of yours that’s coming up around the corner. For next year I believe too.

I give this one major praise!

When Cudi speaks… he speaks volumes and I would chant everything he says in the background and to be so loud that way each and everyone in the back won’t only just hear him but comprehend and understand his words that he’s saying for purposes to teach us and allow us to encounter some kind of placement that’s well understood.

Things I’d say to Kid Cudi if I could: Scott!! You got this! You’re the greatest of all time and nothing of your struggles make you weak or not worthy of getting better! Just keep doing what you’ve been doing because although you don’t really listen to your own lyrics I have noticed that I do and I benefit from your music so I want to say thank you in a very major way so that’s why I decided to go through with this article and claim my love and appreciation for you.

The first song I found is actually originally “day n nite” or maybe “memories” because they are radio songs but when I finally became a fan of yours and started listening to more of your stuff (i forget which month but sometime back in 2015) I would blast “marijuana” as that was my grade 10 sesh song! Then on to “cudder is back” and I believe “Mojo so Dope” were my second and third favourites. The past three years I believe you’ve been my number one on Spotify wrapped! Which makes me so happy because your music has been and lowkey still is helping me get through life. I say lowkey because I truly don’t wish to admit I’m still facing troubles but since I just did right there I’ll say that things aren’t as bad as they once were.

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Keanna Barry

Give me a chance to help you with my own words?

My writing is intended to be read by you and the lessons being learned from what i am saying is all i pray and hope for to help improve quality of life for you, me, and like everyone else too!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.