Beat logo

My 15 Favorite Happy Mood Songs

These songs put me in brighter spirits when I hear them.

By Heather WilkinsPublished 6 years ago 6 min read
Like

In my house, it was either disco or rock. I grew up with vinyls and no working turntable, but it was so much fun to imagine what they would sound like after being in a closet for decades. Eventually, my dad was given a working turntable when he turned 50. So far, I've played my own music and some of my dad's, and each vinyl sounds just as good as the last one.

These are some of my best mood pickup songs that make my day better and yours will, too.

Whenever this song is on the radio, it makes me think back to the Home Improvement show with Tim Taylor (Tim Allen) installing a horse-powered engine into his mower to shred grass in less time than using a regular lawn mower. He added fringes and leather to the mower while he wore a leather fringe jacket and black helmet. Of course, the mower went backwards because he installed it incorrectly.

The song is such a classic that it is placed at the top of the list.

If Austin Powers could have Heather Graham dance to this song, it's worth it. The song's beginning always has that interesting riff that, when it starts, your eyes perk up. It's such a sassy song about the lead singer for The Guess Who to get smitten by a good-looking American woman. Of course, the late Tom Petty's song "American Girl" could also work in this listing, too.

I heard ZZ Top throughout most of my childhood. It was also fun to watch one of them appear on Bones as Angela's dad. They have some great songs and their look is iconic, with some of the greatest bands of the 1970s and 1980s.

This song is great for long rides or for hanging out in a Mexican restaurant. Yo quiero una cerveza, por favor!

A college professor said this song was his old ringtone for a while. Yet, most kids my age don't listen to Led Zeppelin, let alone have heard of them. This was one of my dad's favorite bands and he has all nine albums, still. I don't know which ones work, but I used to listen to their fourth album so I could get "Stairway to Heaven" played correctly on my Yamaha Clavinova.

My favorite song from the Queen of Rock. Stevie Nicks has some great tunes that I listen to in the car, but I don't go crazy behind the wheel dancing at red lights until "Stand Back" comes on. I like her songs when she wrote for Fleetwood Mac, but her solo music is just as good.

When Children of Men was being watched by the film club at the college campus I attended, I never thought this song would be used. After it started playing, I was dancing and mortifying the leader of the club, along with my boyfriend (weirdos unite at the strangest times). But it is such a good song about a man who has a woman that he loves a lot.

Even though this song is about drugs, the music is not as cool as the tripping scenario of Moonwalkers. It is one of the greatest songs that you can hear the narrative voice of Grace Slick and can't avoid getting hypnotized by the wonderful sound of the drums with her voice. Of course, Grace Slick and Janis Joplin can easily share the listing of good mood songs because both women were inspirational to the Queen of Rock, Stevie Nicks.

There are so many great songs by Aerosmith, but the song "Rag Doll" is a great song to just feel good. Of course their song "(Dude) Looks Like A Lady" was used in Mrs. Doubtfire and is still a good song to listen to, but it doesn't bring that positive or good feeling to yourself until you listen to "Rag Doll." Both songs are on their Permanent Vacation album.

This song is one of my favorites from The Doors because it's about Jim Morrison liking some girl he barely knows and wants to get to know her. The song has this nice, uplifting tune, and it often puts me in a better mood when it comes on the radio or someone plops in a CD of The Doors and this just happens to be within the listing.

I have heard almost every Van Halen song to date. This one happens to be my favorite because it is hardly played on the radio, and when it is, I can't help but dance to the bass a little as the song goes on and on about the singer seeing a girl who is beautiful enough for him. Of course, whenever Van Halen starts, I always ask dad about the time he met Van Halen's drummer in a bar somewhere (it's the guy on the OU812 album cover with the short hair).

I listened to a lot of Rolling Stones in college and a little bit in high school. This song was something I remember when Bush Gardens had all these ice shows. But this song is pretty cool and I like it a lot. It is something that definitely makes me in a better mood and often goes hand in hand with Steppenwolf. "Bitch" by The Rolling Stones is also a good song.

This title song from the movie of the same name is something you rarely hear on the radio. But since I have the soundtrack on vinyl, this song is one of the songs I like the most from the movie, as well as Don Felder's version. This song is just about listening to heavy metal music.

Using the video from Scooby Doo: Rock 'n' Roll Mystery kinda shows how much I like this song from KISS. I grew up with KISS and my dad would constantly play them every time. He also talked about how much my grandma would hate it when he blasted this song or any KISS album he had on his turntable and how she would threaten to throw the whole KISS albums he collected out the window. Plus, I watched a lot of Scooby-Doo movies as a kid when I was sick if I got bored of watching Disney movies.

Ever since I saw Rock of Ages in theaters, I have enjoyed this song on the radio and I have the whole Hysteria album by Def Leppard on CD (yes, I still have a CD player in my car because CD's are nostalgia for me when I had a Walkman CD player growing up). It is one of my favorite songs by Def Leppard because, if I look good and feel good, I feel happy.

This song is probably the best song I've ever heard by The Clash. It has been used in a lot of films, but it also has a lot of funny references to a dysfunctional relationship. It's a quirky song and I enjoy it a lot.

I hope you enjoy this happy mood playlist and have a wonderful day. It was so much fun to listen to these songs as I worked on this listing for you to enjoy. Hopefully I can turn some people into rockers for the new year.

vinyl
Like

About the Creator

Heather Wilkins

Born in South Carolina, raised in Florida. I enjoy writing for therapy or stress release. Enjoy my ramblings or any updates on cities where I live.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.