Beat logo

Music Senstation: Najj TheGreatt

Vocal Ladies In Music Spotlight

By Tammy ReesePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Najj TheGreatt (Photo Credit: @jmoneyj12)

Emerging R&B and Rap Artist, Najee Miller, a 24-year-old Detroit native is taking the music industry by the horns. Destined to make a stamp in the music industry, Najj TheGreatt eats, sleeps, and breathes music. As an adolescent, she was a skilled violinist and pianist, engulfed in creating beautiful melodies. Following the legendary Detroit Artist Aaliyah’s footsteps, Najj TheGreatt also attended Detroit School of the Fine and Performing Arts (DSA). Aaliyah, alongside Micheal Jackson, The Weekend, and Tory Lanez are some of her biggest influences.

After attending Michigan State University for one year, Najj discovered that music was the life she would pursue and her passion. In 2017, Najj TheGreatt featured her first song. The experience led her to begin to engineer her own music. After learning how to produce, engineer, and master her voice, she also began to manage artists. She became extremely successful, landing her artists with music deals with major credit labels.

Currently being managed by Joe The Boss of Universal Music Group. Najj credits her music growth to his leadership. From meeting and working with Grammy Award Winning Producer & Filmmaker Bigg Von to meeting the legendary Snoop Dogg. She recorded her debut single, “Vacation” featuring Loki The Vibe in January of 2020. During the height of the Covid19 “Vacation was streamed over 4 million times. The single landed Najj TheGreatt a contract and music home with Universal Music Group. She exclaims, “Joe The Boss made my dreams come, I am forever grateful! Now it’s time to show the world what Najj TheGreatt is made of.”

Vocal readers, please enjoy our interview!

Najj TheGreatt (Photo Credit: @jmoneyj12)

Tammy Reese: Women are showing up Boss in this world, How are you flexing your woman power these days?

Najj TheGreatt: I'm flexing my woman power by being able to make the same amount of money and do the same jobs (sometimes better than men) as men in this music industry. I’ve been told I engineer better than 90% of male engineers.

Tammy Reese: Your success has been on the fast track, please share how you merged into the music industry within 3 months?

Najj TheGreatt: I merged into the music industry in 3 months from pushing my hit single “Vacation”. My manager Joe TheBoss told me to focus on pushing my first hit and build a catalog in the background so when it really blows up, I’ll have 3-4 albums ready.

Tammy Reese: What other women do you aspire to work with within the music industry?

Najj TheGreatt: Missy Elliott. she’s an executive producer and songwriter who I really look up to. She’s a great role model of what a successful businesswoman in this industry should look like. I can’t wait to learn from her.

Tammy Reese: When should we expect more music?

Najj TheGreatt: Later on this summer I’ll be dropping 2 never before seen or heard songs with visuals. Make sure you guys subscribe and turn in my YOUTUBE notifications.

Tammy Reese: Do you have any other talents besides music?

Najj TheGreatt: Yeah, I have a clothing line called “ᗷᗴ ᘜᖇᗴᗩTT“ and I co-own a restaurant in Michigan.

Tammy Reese: Congratulations on becoming a new Coney Island restaurant owner, did you always dream of being an Entrepreneur?

Najj TheGreatt: Yeah, I’ve always had the mind of a business owner because I am a business as an artist. I’ve always had or been given a leadership role, even as a child.

Tammy Reese: What's next for Najj TheGreatt?

Najj TheGreatt: I’ll be shooting the music video for “Vacation” soon so be on the lookout for that as well as 2 exclusive singles with videos I’ll be dropping on my Youtube channel before I drop the video for “Vacation”.

Tammy Reese: Tell us about your clothing line and what inspired you to design it?

Najj TheGreatt: What inspired my clothing line is my name, “Najj TheGreatt”. I wanted my fanbase to be able to enjoy pieces of me without having to meet me one by one. I launched my clothing line to give motivation and inspiration to the next upcoming artist. My clothing line motto is: “Whatever you do, However, you do it, Just Be Greatt at it”

Tammy Reese: Who inspires you in the music industry; past & current?

Najj TheGreatt: In the past, I’ve been inspired by Aaliyah, Michael Jackson, and Missy Elliott. Nowadays I get inspired by Chris Brown, Drake, and The Weeknd.

Tammy Reese: How do you plan to give back to the music culture?

Najj TheGreatt: I plan to buy performing arts high schools and teach meditation as a requirement for 9th-11th graders. We’re often a victim to our childhood trauma and that sometimes traps us from becoming who we really want to be because it creates fear in our minds that happiness isn’t reachable.

Tammy Reese: Who would you like to thank for your success?

Najj TheGreatt: I would like to firstly thank my teachers from middle school and high school. Mrs. Martinez/Burrows (Orchestra Director), Mrs. Elliott (8th-grade math teacher) along with some dedicated Detroit School of Arts staff. They gave me the direction, etiquette, and guidance I needed to become a successful musician. Lastly, I would like to thank my mentors, life coaches, and managers/PR’s, Universal Music Group— Joe TheBoss and Grammy Award Winning Producer— Big Von. They gave me the right mentoring to become a successful businesswoman in this industry.

Tammy Reese: If you could trade places with one artist for a day, who would it be?

Najj TheGreatt: If I could trade places with one artist, it would have to be Chris Brown.

Najj TheGreatt (Photo Credit: @jmoneyj12)

Keep up-to-date on Instagram @najjthegreatt

feature
Like

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.