Beat logo

Music Sensation J. Howell

Vocal Music Spotlight

By Tammy ReesePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
J. Howell

Passionate, Creative, and Driven are only a few words that describe Memphis-native, J. Howell, not only as a singer, but a revolutionary artist in the making. His voice and aura are captivating, magnetic, and authentic. Discovering his love for singing at an early age, J. Howell began envisioning the mark he wanted to make in the music industry. Given the opportunity to perform during a black history program for his school at the age of 7, his aunt and mom were astonished and blown away by his unique and powerful voice and knew there was something special about his talent that the world needed.

From that day forward, J. Howell earned much support from his family to pursue his dream of sharing his voice with the world. J. Howell is not your typical artist. Penning his thoughts to paper has served as therapy to unleash the emotion and passion he portrays through his music. Although most would try to categorize him to only R&B, his vocal capability and diverse musical influence allows him to capture the hearts of all.

With a combination of Beyonce's vocal arrangements, a young Tevin Campbell’s voice range, and a hint of that 90s R&B/Hip Hop swag, you have the perfect blend of J. Howell's eclectic style and sound. No bells and whistles, strictly "heart music." He takes his own experiences and weaves them into something that people can feel and relate to.

Vocal readers, please enjoy our interview!

How does it feel to have over 34 million streams of your music?

J. Howell: It’s an amazing feeling to know that my music is being heard and touching hearts in the world. Even in the smallest of ways, it’s making an impact and that’s what any artist hopes for.

Describe your style of music?

J. Howell: Melodic, Soulful, and Passionate R&B.

What does music mean for you?

J. Howell: Music is my life, my story, and my outlet. Things that I’m afraid to say, afraid to feel, my music allows me to do just that without any restraints.

When you first entered the entertainment industry what impact did you set out to make?

J. Howell: To touch hearts. I also wanted to make genuine music, tell my story, and hope people connected. I wanted to make people create memories to my music and feel the way I feel every time I hear a throwback of Luther Vandross and remember exactly where I was, who I was with and how it made me feel.

What are you looking forward to?

J. Howell: I'm looking forward to growing into the Iconic Artist I know I’ll be. Growing and connecting more with my fans. Creating more music and eventually touring the world and sharing my gift!

What are some memorable moments in your career so far?

J. Howell: Definitely being Top 15 on Billboard Adult R&B and every day being able to see new fans.

What do you enjoy most about being in the music industry?

J. Howell: I feel right at home. Through the good and the bad, I know this is where I belong. I’m thankful to be doing what I love for a living.

What else can we be on the lookout for?

J. Howell: More music definitely! Pushing my creativeness to a new level and just more of me exploring and finding who I am as an artist and individual.

What advice would you have for upcoming music artists?

J. Howell: Do what you want to do! Don’t follow trends, do what feels true and good to you. Take time to explore your craft and build it.

Keep up-to-date with J. Howell by connecting on Instagram @jhowellmusic1

interview
Like

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.