Beat logo

Music From the Younger Years

The Angst of a Teenage Gothic/Punk Gamer

By Ashley TenoldPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Whether the music was metal or classical, hip hop or rock 'n roll. I have found that music has always been a way to describe myself. Also to describe what has gone through my life.

Whether if they were singing words that hit my soul, and knowing that there was more to my feelings than what I had realized. Then bringing them to the light. Whether it be my anger and depression spiraling , or my happiness and joy bursting at the seams, and my energy showing themselves. Along with any confusion when I'm unsure, and the knowledge that some may feel the same as I.

Also the strum or tang from an instrument that vibrated into my soul. Singing a song without words. Illustrating a story through notes and melody. Not a word spoken, but definitely a song that doesn't need to speak, to tell its story.

My Main List:

To Zanarkand – Nobuo Uematsu

The song that always put my soul at ease, though at the same time brought sadness, understanding what the meaning behind the instrumental song. Which is a theme to the Final Fantasy X soundtrack.

One Winged Angel – Nobuo Uematsu

An amazing song from the Final Fantasy VII soundtrack. Which it has many more to it. This song is sung in Latin with a classical instruments along with J-Rock.

Liberi Fatali - Nobuo Uematsu

The primary song from Final Fantasy VIII soundtrack. Another song that is sung in Latin. Which it is more of a strong song in an Opera type setting.

Obsession - See-Saw

The opening song in the anime .Hack//Sign. More in a J-Pop setting, and first song that got me into the Genre.

BreakAway – Kelly Clarkson

One of the songs that reminded me that no matter where I go, I need to remember where I come from. While at the same time not allowing where I came from set me back.

Bring Me To Life – Evanescence

Definitely one of the songs that got me through my depression. Feeling of loneliness and wanting help.

Behind These Hazel Eyes – Kelly Clarkson

Last Resort – Papa Roach

Again, something that explained my depression and how some days I felt. Though never went through what the song suggests, but definitely had the urge.

They – Jem

This one was one that involved my curiosities and annoyance of how things run. Between how government, school, and people in general view how life is and the rules that follow behind it.

Bodies – Drowning Pool

Welcome to the Black Parade – My Chemical Romance

In the End – Linkin Park

Papercut- Linkin Park

Bleed it Out – Linkin Park

By Myself- Linkin Park

'Cuz I Can – P!nk

So What – P!nk

1000 Words – Sweetbox

One of the songs from Final Fantasy X-2. Always enjoyed the classical music with J-Pop feel to it. Always makes me tear up, even to this day listening to it.

Real Emotion – Sweetbox

All the Things She Said – t.A.T.u.

Clowns (Can You See Me Now?) - t.A.T.u.

Animal I Have Become – Three Days Grace

Angels With Dirty Faces – Sum 41

I Wish I Had an Angel – Nightwish

Moondance – Nightwish

The first song that I listened to from this group. Most of it is between piano and an orchestra, though towards the end, a slight metal feel comes in.

She's My Sin – Nightwish

Brother My Brother – Blessed Union of Souls

Candyman – Aqua

Chop Suey – System of a Down

Coin-Operated Boy – The Dresden Dolls

Concrete Angel – Martina McBride

Desert Rose – Sting

Kryptonite – 3 Doors Down

Every Time we Touch – Cascada

Forsaken – David Draiman

Hotel California – Eagles

I Write Sins Not Tragedies – Panic! At the Disco

Kiss From a Rose – Seal

Angels - Within Temptation

My Happy Ending – Avril Lavigne

Never Alone – Barlow Girls

One of the few Christians songs that I loved. Mainly just a reminder, no matter how much we feel alone, we do have someone watching over us.

Numa Numa – O-Zone

One Way or Another – Blonde

Piano Man – Billy Joel

Sakura Drops – Hikaru Utada

Sanctuary- Hikaru Utada

Simple and Clean – Hikaru Utada

One of my favourite J-Pop artists. Which this song is from my Favourite video game series, Kingdom Hearts.

Scalliwag – Gaelic Storm

Send Me an Angel - Scorpions

Sweet Dreams (Are Made of These) - Eurythmics

Dance Magic Dance - David Bowie

Within You - David Bowie

Tears Don't Fall– Bullet for My Valentine

The Bird and the Worm – The Used

What's Up People – Maximum the Hormone

Wild Dance – Ruslana

White Wedding - Billy Idol

Down With the Sickness - Disturbed

Lie Lie Lie - Serj Tankain

American Idiot - Green Day

list
Like

About the Creator

Ashley Tenold

A 29 year old mother of two.

Loves writing, sewing, crocheting, singing, and dancing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.