Beat logo

Muse and the Resistance

Edgy music with a sociopolitical sci-fi vibe

By Jasmine AguilarPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
3
Muse and the Resistance
Photo by Ryan on Unsplash

I like all kinds of music, including, of course, rock music. I enjoy various rock songs as long as they aren’t too edgy (Too edgy to me would be hard rock and metal music). The most edgy music that I can take is that from artists like Fall Out Boy, Imagine Dragons, Linkin Park, and Muse. Someone that listens to hardcore metal might say that my choice in music is pretty mellow.

One of my favorite bands that I think has the perfect level of edginess in their songs is the alternative rock band, Muse. I was first introduced to Muse in the late 2000’s with the song, "Supermassive Black Hole". The first time I heard it, I was instantly intrigued.

Hey, they’re very good! I wonder what other songs they have?

About Muse

I find Muse’s songs to be very moving and the lyrics to be somewhat chilling and thought provoking. Their songs and album titles have a very creative and futuristic science fiction theme. Some of their songs even have a sociopolitical theme to them as well.

Their music is a combination of alternative rock, electronica, indie, and a little bit of heavy metal. To me, this is very mellow heavy metal music if such a thing makes any sense!

Muse consists of vocalist and guitarist Matt Bellamy, bassist Chris Wolstenholme, and drummer Dominic Howard. The alternative rock band was formed in Teignmouth, Devon, England.

Interesting fact: Bellamy, Wolstenholme, and Howard started the formation of the band that would eventually become to be known as Muse at the early age of 13. They called their new band Gothic Plague, then I assume in an attempt to find a more fitting or appealing name, changed it to Fixed Penalty to Rocket Baby Dolls. Flash forward to 1997, they finally settled on the name, Muse.

I’ll admit. I don’t own any of their albums (well not yet at least) but I do have quite a few of their songs downloaded on my music playlist.

My favorite Muse songs are as follows:

From Blackholes and Revelations album (2006)

"Supermassive Black Hole" — this song was played in the movie, Twilight. Upon first hearing this song, I found it to be a very catchy song with some unique beats. It has a great combination of edgy rock music meets laid back soothing music. They manage to pull off this combination effortlessly in quite a few of their songs.

From The Resistance album (2009)

Image source via Amazon

"Resistance" — I would consider this to be one of their love songs with a sociopolitical theme around it. However, this song reminds me of forbidden love with the lyrics:

Is our secret safe tonight?

And are we out of sight?

Or will our world come tumbling down?

Will they find our hiding place?

Is this our last embrace?

Or will the walls start caving in?

"Undisclosed Desires"- This song really draws me in. I find it near entrancing! Bellamy does a phenomenal job with the vocals here as he does with many if not all of their songs.

"Uprising" — This song is so moving and powerful and is probably one of my top favorites. Listening to this song always energizes me. Power is the theme to this song. It has a sociopolitical theme to it. If I were to interpret the lyrics based on the million times I’ve heard this song, it reminds me of the over throwing of a corrupt and overruling government. I wonder if that was their intentions behind the meaning of this song.

"United States of Eurasia (Collateral Damage)" — I find this song to be very chilling! It, like Uprising, has a sociopolitical theme to it. There is also this somewhat alluring middle eastern sounding music towards the middle of the song and then the music gets intense before becoming more melodic and laid back. This song is beautifully done!

"I Belong to You (+Mon Coeur S’Ouvre a Ta Voix)" — This song is more relaxing to listen to compared to their other songs. I find it to be a most appropriate song to listen with headphones as I sit back and just unwind.

From the 2nd Law album

"Madness" (2012) This is another song that I find to be entrancing. It’s another great song to listen to with headphones while just relaxing. This song is absolute madness!

A New Release!

2022, Muse has a new single, "Won’t Stand Down". This song is such a powerful song and is about standing up to those that degrade you. It is one of their more heavier rock songs and is almost a bit too heavy for my taste. Almost, but not quite! I have yet to listen to the rest of their more recent songs but I’m sure there are yet to be a few new favorites for me.

If you like bands like Imagine Dragons, Fall Out Boy, and Linkin Park and/or are looking for some unique sounding music with a little bit of an edge, I highly recommend giving Muse a listen.

bands
3

About the Creator

Jasmine Aguilar

Fascinated by pop culture and its effect on society... movies, music, books.. and pretty much anything.

I love writing and write a little bit of everything including a science fiction WIP!

https://www.buymeacoffee.com/J.A.Rose

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.