Beat logo

Mulligan's 'Constant Companion' streaming on Spotify & iTunes

Mulligan releases a new pop, pop alternative album.

By mysoundMusicPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

There comes a point, when learning music, where you lose a sense of identity. Playing the same cover songs, exhausted from scales and tired of trying to emulate an artist you admire can take a toll on you. You get lost in a sea of normality.

But creating music is different. You take those same influences you loved when you were a kid, those same scales you spent hours day in and night and put it to work. You make a real Identity for yourself. A new name, a new sound.

- Mulligan

Are you from a musical or an artistic family?

Definitely. My parents were always pushing us to find an outlet for me and my 4 sisters creatively. They always let us try out different arts and music until we found our own thing we were good at.

How long have you been creating music?

I've been playing guitar since I was about 14 (I'm 23 now) but not seriously until maybe the last 4 years. I've been focused during this time on production and different methods of recording.

Do you have a preferred genre?

I definitely love a good grunge album like Nirvana's Incestiside or a Smashing Pumpkins era playlist, but I'm also in love with Mac Demarco or a McBaise record. Somewhere in between is where I fall.

Do you write your own music, or do you collaborate?

I definitely am writing my own music, but I do however get input from close friends. I like getting their initial reaction from a track to see if it's missing something or if it's too clusterd with elements. I like having people with different perspectives to bring me back down from being too much in my own head and ground me in my music.

Tell us about your sound and what sets you apart?

My sound is a mix of 80's style drum beats and tones with a hint of a wide vocal chorus from the 2000's. I like getting lush sounds out of my equipment with tons of reverb and effect pedals. One of my favorite things to do is get a pedal that's so avant-garde or strange and seeing if I can make it work musicly. It can be strenuous at times to do that, but when it works it magic.

You released your album ‘Constant Companion’ in 2021. Is this your 1st release?

This is my first solo release. I have another band called the Puddin Boys (shout out to Zach and Aaron) and we released that the summer of 2018. It's kind of a lofi, blues rock record. We had a blast putting it together with a ton of work.

Were there any challenging aspects to writing or recording this album?

Definitely finding my own singing voice. Ive played live shows where my band played our own songs and then also covers. Covers from different bands have different ranges, talents and skills so having my own voice that I could reach was really difficult. After I found my range and a tone I could live with, the rest of the album went pretty smooth.

Is there a hidden meaning in any of your songs?

You could read really deep into any song from an artist you like about a relationship or about emotions you feel in the moment, but this album knowns what it is. I tried not to go so deep that it's a "big mystery". It's about a a relationship. Anymore than that is up to the listener.

Is there a song that stands out as the ‘best song’ on the album?

My favorite song on the album is Hollywood. It's right in the back half of the album where things take a break from being a higher energy. I think it's probably the most relatable song. It's about being in a one sided or even non existent relationship that you wish was their and trying really hard to prove to yourself that it's worth it. Also I love the harmonic vocals at the end.

What song do fans seem to favor?

Most really love the first one; Arizona. They say it's the most catchy heavy pop sound on the record. It's the driving force that gets you into the world

Are you interested in performing your music live?

I think it might be a little difficult making an arrangement for a full band but I'm not against it at all.

Which of your songs do you think would be fun to perform live?

Definitely the song I Want To. It's a banger.

Other than fame & fortune, is there something you hope to achieve through music?

I kind of already reached one of the goals I had. After sharing it with a few people I got a lot of people saying it brightend their day or calmed them for a moment with some tranquil energy. Other than that? Maybe getting it in local radio would be cool and also also attainable. Also fame and an enormous fortune to buy a swimming pool to fill with jello.

Talk about a magical moment or positive experience that has happened during your music career.

Any time I've done anything live, I always love meeting new people. It's always nice to meet people who want to learn and instrument after hearing you play. That's happened a few times and is the biggest compliment I can receive.

Who inspires you musically?

Definitely a lot of your Interpol, Black Keys, and indie artists. Mac Demarco, Father John Misty and this cool girl named Georgia Maq in this dope Australian band called Camp Cope.

If on e artist were to perform at your party, who would get the call?

Maybe like a Bille Corgan if he wasn't a Vampire in real life. More likely Thundercat. He's probably a chill hang after a show.

How do you feel the Internet has impacted sharing your music?

It's definitely made it difficult to understand who my audience is because previously I haven't had one for this solo project. I think the learning curve is understanding that if I'm making music and put it on the internet people who like it will love it forever.

What is your favorite/best outlet to connect with your followers Instagram, Spotify, FB, Twitter, iTunes? How would you want them to follow?

The album constant companion is on Spotify and iTunes. You can find me on Instagram @theaverinokyboy. I usually follow back.

What is one message you would give to your followers?

You should really dig deep into the music making process. You would be surprised at your favorite artist to know how much work actually goes into making a song or album. Mostly likely your interest in music will inspire you to go out of your comfort zone and make it yourself.

What does the future hold for you?

Not really sure. The only thing I do know is I'll never stop making music myself. Hopefully I'll be able to expand my own production skills and improve my own music. I'd like to get more efficient and be able to reach an audience who can inspire me to do more on the produceing side.

Did I forget to ask something? Something you would like to say, that I did not address.

interview
Like

About the Creator

mysoundMusic

🙋🙋‍♂️ Interview Me!

Have a new song, EP, Album? Let me help with playlist placement and promotion. too.

Music Fan plus Talented Musicians and Artist equals mysoundMusic.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.