Beat logo

Movie Review: Sh**ting Stars.

Sh**ting Stars: A k-drama with lots of laughter and romance, with a sliver of cringe.

By RomanPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Warning: This article contains spoilers for the K-drama 'Sh**ting Stars'.
Sh**ting Stars is a South Korean drama starring Lee Sung-Kyung and Kim Young-Dae.
It tells the love story of a popular actor, 'national boyfriend' Gong Tae-Sung and Oh-Han Byeol, the head of Public relations in his agency, StarForce Agency.
Like most other Romcoms in its genre, Sh**ting Stars introduced the lead couple as 'enemies' who had wronged each other, who then bonded and fell in love over certain difficulties.
I personally loved Oh-Han Byeol as Kim Young-Dae. I had first seen her in the 2019 comedy crime movie, 'Ms and Mrs Cops' and I found her acting great.
It was my first time seeing Lee Sung-Kyung on-screen, but he was able to dazzle me with his cute visuals and his great acting chops, playing the immature and vengeful yet considerate Gong Tae-Sung.
The other supporting actors were good at their jobs too. I have to hand it to their casting director, there was not one bad performance in the series.
The screen-writing was another kettle of fish altogether, as I found it lazy. In the first episode, Hong Tae-Sung went to Africa, (no country was specified) to dig wells. If the writers had done their research well, they would have realized Africa was a continent, and not a country, and the continent has more than enough water, (I should know, I live there).
I found the moments where Gong Tae-Sung had to live with an 'underdeveloped community' in Africa quite cringe-worthy and disgusting to be honest.
Also, don't get me started on when Oh Han Byeol made a typo in an article she wrote about Gong Tae-Sung making everyone think he was impotent. How did Gong Tae-Sung get his revenge? He chased Oh Han Byeol into the restroom and tried to pull his pants off before her. Umm . . . Doesn't that basically constitute sexual harassment in the work place?
Another thing I found tiring were the advert placements. You know, that time when the camera pans a little closely on brand products. I wasn't too offended by this because all K-dramas do it.
Luckily, Sh**ting Stars didn't go overboard with theirs.
Truthfully, I didn't warm up to Gong Tae-Sung at first. I thought he was too bent on exerting revenge on Oh Han Byeol, but as the show continued, I began to note his caring side, which cheered me up.
The way the relationship between the two main characters progressed was well-paced and fun to watch, especially when Gong Tae-Sung tried a lot of over the top tactics to woo Oh Han Byeol.
I also loved Gong Tae-Sung's interaction with the people at the agency. Even though he's a top star, not once does he look down on anyone.
I found Oh Han Byeol's character super relatable; she's an office worker with a super-demanding job that gives her little time to date.
Oh Han Byeol also genuinely cares about people around her, and tries to make out time from her busy schedule for her friends.
Overall, I'd give the drama a 7 out of 10, for the hardworking actors, and director who produced such a good series. It would have been an 8, but hey! Lazy writing and inadequate research detract from the drama's overall scores.
I don't think the drama has any rewatch value, but that's just my opinion.
Sh**ting Stars is filled with lovey-dovey scenes that will make you go “Awww!”
So, if you're looking for a drama with romance, little to no suspense and a lot of comedy, Sh**ting Stars is the drama for you.
And I hope to see the actors and actresses soon in other dramas, especially Lee Sung-Kyung. I would also like to watch other works by the director of this series.








movie review
1

About the Creator

Roman

r

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.