Beat logo

Mogul Conversations With Tiffany Ford

Entrepreneur Talks

By Tammy ReesePublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

"The Childcare Guru," Tiffany Ford is an Educator, entrepreneur, and consultant. She believes she has the answers to giving urban youth the academic spark they need to flourish. Now, she is giving other educational entrepreneurs the recipe for success so they too can spark change in their communities.

Tiffany Ford is the owner of Little Leaders Learning Academy, co-owner of Stages Community School, and the founder of Leaders and Legends Performing Arts Academy, which teaches Jazz, Tap, Ballet, Modern Dance, Drama, Karate, and vocal classes in southwest Philadelphia. Ford's curriculums have thrived since 2009, offering both students and parents exposure to various resources and setting them up for success. That success, however, has not come without its challenges.

Reflecting on how the performing arts helped her to endure trauma, express herself, and to develop confidence, she found her motivation to open her own childcare and performing arts centers, beginning in 2009.

“In Philly and in other urban centers, the lack of exposure is what hinders students. I wanted to make sure that I connected with parents and exposed them not only to educational resources, but to social resources as well,” she said. “We have a lot of violence and shootings, but when we take the kids and work with their interests and work with what they want to do, there is major progress.”

You are very passionate and accomplished in aiding in the advancement of the youth. What keeps you motivated to continue this empowering career?

Tiffany: What keeps me going is knowing that I am making a difference in the lives of these youth. Every day as I watch them get older, I am so proud of what they are evolving into and I can see how much of an impact my program has on their lives. The way they conduct themselves, their mindset…all of those things contribute to why I keep going. Also, it is great when I have parents expressing gratitude to me and during times I want to quit, they tell me "you can't leave these kids, they need you."

How do you balance being in charge of numerous schools?

Tiffany: The first thing is delegation, and making sure that everyone knows what is happening all the time, especially my administrative staff. Also, building community and meeting with my team on a consistent basis and delegating every single day around tasks that need to be handled. Lastly, is following up and being available to answer any questions they may have.

What have been some testimonials from students or parents that have benefited from your selfless work?

Tiffany: The biggest testimonials I would say have to do with my special needs children. I have quite a few that are autistic and require additional attention when we are working in the arts. It is tough sometimes to get them to come out of their shell, and our program really pays attention to that and we take the time to let them know that it's okay to make mistakes, it's okay to be sad. But, when it is all said and done, they can really communicate with their peers, communicate how they are feeling and communicate and express themselves through the arts.

Next, I would say those who have issues with behavior. There are students who may have had behavioral challenges at home, out in the community, or at school. Our strategy is to use our program as an incentive sometimes…meaning, if you want to participate in these activities or this program, you have to behave and do what you are supposed to do. We do that to get the results, and it also has a positive effect on what happens outside of our program and at home

What other projects or endeavors are you currently working on or involved with?

Tiffany: Currently, I am involved in quite a few things! I have a vacation home in Orlando, and I am very interested in vacation real estate. So, I am expanding my portfolio in that area. I am also in the process of opening an event space with my best friend in Philadelphia. It is ready to go. We are just working with licensing.

What else would you like our readers to know about you and the work that you do?

Tiffany: The biggest thing is making sure that they understand that the work I do is solely based on passion. I don't do anything that I am not passionate about.

What does the rest of 2022 look like for you?

Tiffany: Preparing for the next school year. I actually do things completely opposite than most others. I start preparing around June for the upcoming school year. I am usually more hands-on in the summer, and during the school year, I leave things to the director. So, for the rest of the year, I will be very hands-on with my business, getting systems in order and focusing on opening my event space.

What do you want your legacy in education to look like?

Tiffany: I want parents to know that I was able to impact entire families and the way that we look at life - our quality of life - all because of education and understanding the importance of how early childhood education impacts our day-to-day as an adult.

Follow Tiffany Ford and her work on Instagram at @tiffany_thechildcareguru. Also, learn more about Little Leaders Learning Academy at www.littleleadersphilly.com and Legends Performing Arts Academy at www.leadersandlegendspac.com.

interview
Like

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.