Beat logo

Modern Love, 21 Love Songs for 21st Century.

Still no flying cars...

By LPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
1

Don’t tell anyone.... I was watching one of those viral TikTok silhouette challenges, when it occurred to me; this is the 21st century.

Only in the 21st century would a previously classic song be set to a sick beat with the new lyrics.

New lyrics which say - in part- “drop your location.”

The 21st-century icing in the cake is that this remixed version of “Put your head on my shoulder” a song from the 1950s comes with its very own viral hashtag.

A new generation will discover Paul Anka’s classic hit.

Does that make the original a 21st-century song?

In any case, that got me thinking...someone is always going to be singing about and interpreting love.

Here are 21 songs about love 2021 from the 21s century!

It’s the 21st century and one would think by now, we’d have a sophisticated, telepathic system to gauge our compatibility with a prospective paramour but no; ‘Tis, not the case.

However, many are into astrology...and hearing “what’s your sign?” happens a lot more than our forebears would’ve imagined in a future that promised flying cars and intergalactic travel for leisure.

In Chemtrails Over the Country Club, a typically atmospheric Lana Del Rey song. She asks “baby what’s your sign” also “ Meet you for coffee”...I guess coffee dates will be going strong in the 21st century.

In The Areoplane Over The Sea, was originally released by Neutral Milk Hotel in 1998, however, it still counts as a 21st-century song, Matt Pond Pa beautifully covered it in 2005. The lyrics to this song are so good. The opening two lines are up there with the best .

Any song about love that mentions death but is somehow not macabre is a winner in my book. After all, death is as much a part of this life as love is.

“And one day we will die

And our ashes will fly from the aeroplane over the sea

But for now, we are young

Let us lay in the sun

And count every beautiful thing we can see”

We Found Love

I think we can all agree that the 21st century, though young has already presented us with some pretty hopeless feelings/moments. I won’t rehash them as we are all living in this reality. I will, however, remind you that love is still possible, even in a seemingly hopeless place!

“Shine a light through an open door

Love and life I will divide”

Clover

This song explores many complexities of love. Kamauu is an amazing writer and his lyrics here are typically insightful. This song also mentions “the grave” so everything a love song needs is here.

It’s something in the air

When I get the best of you

And you get the best of love

‘Cause love is best with no end date

Shelter

This one is super special to me because it’s the song my love who hates love songs and I bonded over. Who’s chopping onions?!

When I'm older, I'll be silent beside you

I know words won't be enough

And they won't need to know the names or our faces

But they will carry on for us

Hold On, We're Going Home

Drake has dominated the 21st century with his songs full of Madonna-whore complexes and attachment issues. I think this is his best love song.

“Just hold on we're going home It's hard to do these things alone”

Sounds like one person got dragged along on a shopping trip but you know we do it for love. I like this foreign version. Foreign tingz.

Absinthe at the Fly Honey Warehouse

I only listened to this song the first time because the title was cool. It quickly became a favorite, what’s better than traveling and seeing art with bae?

This light looks good on you

Morning came early

Sitting on a park bench

That's older than my country

End of Time

Beyoncé and Justin Timberlake were two of the most popular artist at the beginning of the 21st century. This song is a decent offering from the pair.

The only exception

From childhood trauma to the realization that one can have a healthy relationship. Ain’t love grand!

Familiar Feeling

Just a feel-good song about love. One that is dance-worthy and not too mushy the music video is pretty cool also.

Hush now

No need to say the words

At first sight you perfectly heard

Love in all its entirety

Is no less than we deserve

Cosmic Journey

When we finally get to Mars, this is the song that will play on our first night there. Just kidding we’re never going to survive Mars. Not kidding about this being an awesome 21st century love song!

Stolen

Ah, there were quite a few decent love songs to emerge from the iconic emo era. I love an overdramatic teen leaning love song as much as the next person. This is such a great song! Riding bicycles at midnight in summer and all the good feels here.

Flightless Bird

This song is so special. I was kinda sad when everyone discovered it because I wanted it to be mine and mine alone. This beauty will stand the test of time even the “pissing on magazines” line. If I ever meet Samuel Beam, I’ll have to ask him about this line.

Differences

Classic. Iconic, etc

Take you on a Cruise

There may have been a time when the only music I was listening to was a playlist of Interpol songs. This is not a typical love song, but it is quite romantic nonetheless.

We sail today

Tears drown in the wake of delight

There's nothing like this built today

No Letting Go

One of the lighter love songs but makes the point clear. The perfect song to dance and fall in love to/with.

No one like you

Cute song, with tons of compliments. I’ll allow it.

This must be the place

The Talking Heads did an amazing job writing this song but this cover blows the original out of the water.

Earned it

I didn’t like this song, the first few times I heard it. One night it came on the radio. while I was driving and the moon just happened to appear from behind a tree at the same time the line “You're my favorite kind of night” played. Swoon!

You got me

Take a trip through someone’s else’s tumultuous love story.

I deal with the real, so if it's artificial, let it be

3005

21st-century angst on display in this light song. I wonder what love songs will sound like in 3005. Just kidding we’ll all be dead by then.

Sorry, I'm just scared of the future

'Til 3005, I got your back, we can do this.

list
1

About the Creator

L

“By hell there is nothing you can do that you want and by heaven you are going to do it anyway”

Anne Spencer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.