Beat logo

Million Dollar Quartet hits the stage!

#NCL #ShipLife

By Victoria KeeleyPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Right, another smash hit musical that graced the stage on the Norwegian Getaway. I was completely blown away with the talent this contract. Both casts were phenomenal, from Burn to this show. I couldn't catch my breathe. For this show it is inspired by the famous recording session that brought together the famed rock and roll icons Elvis Presley, Johnny Cash, Jerry Lee Lewis and Carl Perkins for the first and only time.

This thrilling story takes you on a musical journey to December 4 1956 where these four stars gathered at Sun Records in Memphis for what would be one of the greatest jam sessions ever. What stood out for me, was the phenomenal talents from the musical geniuses behind the four characters. They brought to life the famed hits including the iconic Blue Suede Shoes, Fever, That’s All Right, Sixteen Tons, Great Balls of Fire, Walk the Line, Whole Lotta Shakin’ Goin’ On, Who Do You Love? Hound Dog and many more classics. It was hard to keep up as the Right, another smash hit musical that graced the stage on the Norwegian Getaway. I was completely blown away with the talent this contract. Both casts were phenomenal, from Burn to this show. I couldn't catch my breathe. For this show it is inspired by the famous recording session that brought together the famed rock and roll icons Elvis Presley, Johnny Cash, Jerry Lee Lewis and Carl Perkins for the first and only time. It was hard to keep up as they entranced you with many musical surprises. The score was amazing to listen to live in the theatre that seated about 850 passengers.

I often would encourage guests to watch the show as I did the others. It is a show not to miss. I would personally describe it as a rock and roll extravaganza that captures the spirit of an era while also telling a compelling story behind the meeting of the four young souls. It made me laugh because I watched it multiple times, and yes, it is a good hour and forty-five minutes, but by god, you find yourself awake and jiving to the music classics. I would find myself dancing along despite not even being born, but I really appreciated the music and loved every second of the show. It was fantastic to see the older generation go and stay for the whole time and just be engrossed and obsessed with it. You would look around and see them grooving with the cast. It was magical.

Nick Voss as Elvis

Okay, okay, okay, so I'm a huge Elvis fan and am always a little sceptical when I here that there is an entire show based around this era of music. By god, I was truly impressed, Nick Voss who portrayed the beloved Elvis was hugely talented and I am so proud that he just blew everyone away. I mean not only does he look like him, he even holds his notes and whole persona so well. LOVED HIM<3

Jerry

Also, another cast member that stood out was Jefferson McDonald, I have never ever seen anyone so passionate about the piano and play so amazingly. He lit up the stage, with all the big names in the story, he owned it. Completely took the audience and made them laugh. His personality was fire, perfection and coolness all in one.

Can’t forget about Mr Johnny Cash. Colin E. Barkell portrayed Johnny Cash and again as Nick, he held the persona so well, with all of Johnny’s mannerisms and life when he is on stage. He took the role to another level and was so awesome to watch. His vocal range was also very surprising as he hits extremely low notes. The audience raved for him every number, I loved watching him perform! <3

Colin

Shout out to the phenomenal cast that I appreciate, Nick Voss, Colin Summers, Jefferson McDonald, Brian Templeton, Colin Barkell and Ben the amazeballs drummer. Like seriously guys, you rocked the stage doing two shows a night when you performed. It was electric to watch. If anyone reads this that is looking to go and see this show. DO IT! <3

feature
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.