Beat logo

Midnight Prophet

Midnight Prophet is the alter ego of the very talented Andrew Vaz

By mysoundMusicPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
2

Music has been part of Midnight Prophet's life ever since he was young, as it really helped him through very rough times. Formed in 2006, Midnight Prophet wanted to share it his music on a more broader scale. The name, Midnight Prophet, came from the fact that I wrote mostly from Midnight on and because I wanted to help others through my songs.

The Other Side is Midnight Prophet's latest single, to be included on his upcoming album, and specifically deals with the isolation one feels when going through psychological abuse. Ultimately it is about coming to terms that you are not alone and that there will be a way through it.

What first drew you to music?

Well, it has always been a part of my life. I had a very traumatic life ever since I could remember and listening to music was one of the few things that brought me comfort. When I was around 10, I started doing things like writing lyrics, joining choir, and learning drums. It all evolved from there.

Do you have a preferred or chosen genre?

I don’t particularly like to limit myself to one particular genre, I’ve always been fascinated by soundscapes and as long as there is passion and great lyrics that is what draws me. That being said, my foundation started in the alternative genre, while also incorporating downtempo electronic music, and film scores.

Do you write your own music, or do you collaborate?

Yes, I’ve always written my own music. The process of getting those thoughts down and building out a tune is really cathartic. As far as collaboration, I don’t play guitar so whenever I feel like a track calls for it I always seek out other musicians and I have been lucky to work with some truly great ones over the years.

What is your creative process like?

So, I wouldn’t say I’m always writing, but I do like to jot down a lot of ideas. Once I have the lyrics formed out, I tend to concentrate on forming the main melody and start brainstorming how I want the overall track to come out. Over the next few days I will do the vocals and get together any other instrumentation and sometimes I will come back and make a few small tweaks before I make the final demo. I like to then send it off to a 3rd party for the final mix/master because I think it’s best to have unbiased ears working on that.

Tell us about your new single ‘The Other Side’.

Of course. So, this is the latest track from my upcoming album, which will be called Confessions. I had the pleasure of working with a great session guitarist out of the UK, and comes from some very raw feelings I had growing up with abuse. I think mental health is something that still isn’t talked about enough and I really want people to know that it’s ok to not feel ok. Musically, it is a bit of a departure from other things I’ve done and I liked the chance to try something new.

Are there any challenging aspects to writing and/or recording your music?

Well, there are always times where I have writers block and that can be frustrating. I record all of demos out of my home studio, which sometimes can take some coordination.

What is the best song you ever released and why?

That is a tough one, each song is kind of like my baby haha. If I had to pick, I would say I still hold a special place for A Cry In The Dark. It was the first song I ever released and the rawness I was able to capture in that performance still holds up.

What song do fans seem to favor?

I would have to go with Dream Wedding. It came from my 2nd release, an EP. I took a more direct pop approach to that, after my very minimalist and melancholic debut, and I think it really resonated with a lot of listeners. I would also say my cover of Imagine has proved very popular.

Are you interested in performing your music live?

Definitely. There is always a great feeling about getting the chance to be in front of an audience and share your work. I have done some in the past, and have now shifted to virtual performances in light of current times.

Which of your songs do you think would be fun to perform live?

I have gone for a bigger sound with my new album, and there are some great tracks like Love and Unspoken that would sound great with a live band.

What do you enjoy most about being a musician? What do you dislike most?

First and foremost, just the act of playing an instrument, or singing. Being in that moment, it’s almost meditative. Being able to write my own stuff and share it with the world, that’s also a great feeling. I dislike the business side of things, being an independent musician at least lets me stay true to what I believe in and I don’t think I could do it any other way.

Other than fame & fortune, is there something you hope to achieve through music?

Being able to help others, gaining recognition and hopefully a platform to support causes that I hold dear.

Tell about a magical moment or positive experience that has happened during your music career.

The moment that I received the first CD pressing of my debut, and when my song “Flying Colours” was included in a global compilation album for an American Cancer Society fundraiser.

What music do you listen to ‘for fun’?

I usually have a slate of great 90’s dance and pop-punk tunes I let loose to if I want to just have a good time.

Who inspires you musically?

I have a wide range; Coldplay, Mumford & Sons, Moby, Trent Reznor, Muse, Mike Oldfield to name a few.

If one artist were to perform at your party, who would get the call?

Coldplay. They put on a great show and just seem like very down to earth guys.

What advice would you have for someone wanting to follow in your footsteps?

Stay true to yourself and don’t pay attention to the haters.

How do you feel the Internet has impacted sharing your music?

I think it has become an invaluable tool. I formed Midnight Prophet just as digital platforms, like iTunes, were taking off. Growing up in the 90’s I am also well aware of what it took for artists back then to get discovered and I am so thankful to have access to a whole number of platforms to market my music.

What is your favorite/best outlet to connect with your followers Instagram, Spotify, FB, Twitter, iTunes? How would you want them to follow?

Spotify and Apple Music are the best places to stream the full catalogue of Midnight Prophet, including the new single. You can also follow me on Instagram @midnightprophet1 and Youtube (youtube.com/midnightprophet1)

What does the future hold for you?

Right now, I will be concentrating on promoting the single, and finishing the rest of the album. Unfortunately, have had a lot of delays so that probably won’t be out until next year. Beyond that things are up in the air, but have hopes of performing and collaborating at some point.0000000

interview
2

About the Creator

mysoundMusic

🙋🙋‍♂️ Interview Me!

Have a new song, EP, Album? Let me help with playlist placement and promotion. too.

Music Fan plus Talented Musicians and Artist equals mysoundMusic.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.