Beat logo

Meat Loaf : The Concert (Review)

Tivoli (Brisbane) 27 January 2023

By Colleen Millsteed Published about a year ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
3

2022 was a sad year. It was the year we lost the iconic Meat Loaf. 20 January 2022 to be exact. Aged a young 74, it was a sad loss to the music world. A sad loss in general. Although no official cause of death has ever been released, it is suggested he died of Covid-19 complications.

The end of an era and the fans mourned, but after the initial grieving period we realised that his music lived on.

Last night, 27 January 2023 I attended Meat Loaf : The Concert, which was held at The Tivoli in Fortitude Valley, Brisbane and what a night it was for Meat Loaf’s adoring fans.

The concert featured around the ever popular Bat Out Of Hell album, which was released in 1974 and is to this day one of his best known albums. The world known hits were written by Meat Loaf’s long time collaborator and close friend, Jim Steinman, a world renown song writer.

Born Marvin Lee Aday, later changed to Michael Lee Aday, he was mostly known as Meat Loaf to his fans and the rest of the rock and roll world.

This was the music and one of the artist’s I grew up with. In fact at thirteen years of age, the Bat Out Of Hell album was my most played record. I knew every word to every song and can proudly say I still do.

Bat Out Of Hell is recognised by young and old as one of the best Hard Rock albums to ever be introduced and the fact I got to experience his music again last night was a dream come true.

Meat Loaf is sorely missed but his music lives on! Rock in peace Meat Loaf.

The beat is yours forever - Meat Loaf

Meat Loaf : The Concert consists of 8 musicians performing the music they obviously adore. They certainly did Meat Loaf proud.

Meat Loaf’s long time fans were treated to a night of pure pleasure and precious memories as we all sang, laughed, screamed and danced to a group of extremely talented musicians, that enabled us all to revel in the iconic music given to the world by Meat Loaf and Jim Steinman.

An eight-piece band fronted by Brisbane’s very own homegrown lead singer, Rick Szabo, who has been performing Meat Loaf’s music since 1989. A talent in his own right, he fit perfectly on the stage and did every song he sang justice.

Rick introduced his very talented band members at the end of the night, and here are those phenomenally talented members : 

Meatloaf Reincarnated: Rick Szabo

Guitarist & Music Director: Ray Johnson

Lead Backing Vocalist: Louise Smith 

Keys & Backing Vocalist: Joh Switzer 

Saxophonist & 2nd Guitar: Ken Arthur 

Piano: Anthony Bishop

Bass: Philip Dunlea

Drums: Scott Allard

Now without further ado I’d like to highlight the best songs of the night. I’m not going to apologise for the number of videos I took because they were all fabulously received by the fans attending, myself included.

I do hope you enjoy these talented musicians as much as we did last night.

A great night was had by all!

The night started with a bang on this glorious song.

I’d Do Anything For Love (But I Won’t Do That)

What a classic song.

I’d Lie For You (And That’s The Truth)

Beautiful and memorable.

Total Eclipse Of The Heart

Written by Jim Steinman for Bonnie Tyler. Not a Meat Loaf song but a favourite of mine just the same.

Rock And Roll Dreams Come Through

Another classic from almost 50 years ago.

All Revved Up With No Place To Go

An age old classic that will be around for a long time to come.

You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth

Not a member of the audience that didn’t know the words to this song.

For Crying Out Loud

A precious ballad sung from the heart.

Heaven Can Wait

Another classic ballad (sure wish Heaven had waited a little longer).

The Time Warp

A memory blast from The Rocky Horror picture show.

Bat Out Of Hell

The song we were waiting for. The audience went wild.

Two Out Of Three Ain’t Bad

This song is my second favourite Meat Loaf song of all time.

Paradise By The Dashboard Lights

And……..the encore…….the song we were all waiting all night for. My all time favourite!

Wow it sure was a show I’m so glad I never missed. Fantastic night I’ll remember for a long time.

Thank you to Meat Loaf : The Concert. If you get a chance don’t miss seeing this awesome performance.

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally published on Medium

concertbands80s music70s music
3

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a year ago

    Oh I'm so sorry about Meat Loaf's passing. I had no idea. The songs and music were great!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.