Beat logo

May D Reveals Not One, but Three Wicked Things He Experienced Under P-Square

The singer is speaking out.

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read

At this point, it is not news to anybody who follows Nigerian entertainment news that singer May-D who was signed to P-Square's record label Square Records and was part of the major P-Square hit Chop My Money also dropped his own hit songs like Ile Ijo and Soundtrack before parting ways unamicably with the label.

May D and PSquare

The singer is now doing his own thing and has signed to another popular record label, Davido Music Worldwide (DMW). But in a new interview he had with rapper and actor Ikechukwu, the singer still recounted a number of things he experienced during that time. While he didn't want to really talk about the subject for too long, in the time when he spoke about it, May D revealed not one, not two, but three very wicked things he experienced while under Square Records. Here is what he said about it all.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

May D and Ikechukwu During Interview

1. He Got No Money For His Biggest Songs

Will you believe it if I told you that while songs like Ile Ijo and Soundtrack where making waves around the nation and becoming some of the biggest songs of those years, that May D, the artiste behind those songs wasn't getting anything from them because he didn't even have the paperwork to get any sort of compensation for it. He said:

When I was in Square Records, everything was going really smooth. Everything was nice. The songs were good, the songs were top-notch, they were hits. The only thing that happened was when we decided to turn it into a real business and structure it. I had dropped Ile Ijo, I had dropped Soundtrack, we had done The Invasion album (without paperwork) and then the contract p came up and from there everything started going left.

2. He Had No Shows

You would think that because May D had some of the biggest songs in the country, that he would also be booking shows and getting paid right? Nope! May D revealed to Ikechukwu saying:

I had no shows when I was with them. They never got me one show. I was only playing shows with them that they never paid me for.

3. They Didn't Want To Give Him A Contract

May D said they didn't want to give him a contract and that they never did till he got a show in London. He said about it:

I was just enjoying myself. I wasn't smart enough to know that I was meant to -- you know, I can't blame them. It was business. When I now became smart and knew I was meant to be collecting bar, I've not even made one show of my own... I think I now got a show in London and then they now gave me a contract which they said they were never going to give me. In the beginning when I asked for a contract, they said "No oh, we don't need your money. How much do you want to be making for us? Do you know how much we make?" which is true because they were making so much money. So they probably were looking like, "this guy how much you wan make for us? When you make your money just dey do your thing" cuz that was the plan.

I'm happy to see that May D is now past this point and is hopeful for the future and excited about putting out his new music. It's sad that he was taken advantage of like that in the beginning. It's good to see that he says he has no bad blood with them, because that certainly makes him a better man than me o! I would have had a lot of anger and bitterness still in me, I can't even lie 😂

I want to know what you think about this story. Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment on my Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jide OkonjoWritten by Jide Okonjo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.