Beat logo

Love Stinks (Yeah, Yeah)

Because Cupid can be a big fat jerk sometimes.

By J. K. CookPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3

As a 90's kid, my earliest memories of feeling emotions through the power of music were of staring wistfully out of the window with my Discman headphones on from the comfort of mum and dad's car. Avril Lavigne sang directly into my soul about her latest breakup drama, and I could pretend I was the sad girl from the film clip - which was even easier to do if it was a miserable, rainy day.

When I think of all the times I have been cursed with heartbreak in my life, I could easily match a song to each and every one. Music is so incredibly powerful, in that it can somehow magically remain so personal, while also uniting people in a shared experience.

Music provides us with a soundtrack to our lives - not just the big events such as weddings and funerals, but every single day.

We have playlists for when we want to pump ourselves up for a big night out with our friends. We have angry songs that we crank up when we've had a really shitty day at work and just want to forget the world.

And then we have certain songs, that we have tucked away in our mind like tiny little secrets, that are so personal to us, that we only pull out, when we just need a really good cry.

Here are my non-negotiable top picks for an absolute cracker Anti-Valentine's Day playlist. Put your seatbelt on, fellas.

"Love Stinks" - Adam Sandler

"You love her, but she loves him,

and he loves somebody else -

You just can't win.

And so it goes until the day you die.

This thing they call love,

it's gonna make you cry."

If you, like me, have witnessed the absolute cinematic perfection that is The Wedding Singer, 1,347 or so times, this absolute banger of a song is already stuck in your head, just from reading the title. First of all, you're welcome.

This movie has been my absolute favourite, go-to movie for 22 years. The pairing of Drew Barrymore and Adam Sandler is iconic - you can fight me on that, if you dare.

You can bet your bottom dollar, that if you watch this movie in my presence, I will recite every word and every song - man, that soundtrack gets me going!

A quick Google search revealed that it was released on 13th February, 1998 (one day before Valentine's Day, which was absolutely not a coincidence).

What a rollercoaster of emotions The Wedding Singer takes us on, which is why I think it appeals to everyone. Of course, there's nothing better than a happy ending. Robbie and Julia ending up together was beautiful, there's no denying - but what we are here to talk about today is the rawness of Robbie's heartbreak after Satan - I mean Linda - leaves him standing at the altar.

There has never be a movie that lives up to The Wedding Singer, and I'm convinced there never will be. And yes, I am prepared to die on this hill.

"Good as Hell" - Lizzo

"You know you a star, you can touch the sky

I know that it's hard but you have to try

If you need advice, let me simplify

If he don't love you anymore

Just walk your fine ass out the door"...

I love this song so much, because it's an anthem for all of those bad bitches out there who are ready to get their Lizzo energy on and slay.

I'm sure at one time or another, we have all been in a dead-end, timewasting, toxic relationship. Can you remember the pure freedom and possibility in the air, when you finally left all of the bullshit in the rear-view mirror?

If you know someone who is currently in a pointless relationship, this is the song to sing to them.

"You Oughta Know" - Alanis Morissette

"Did you forget about me, Mr. Duplicity?

I hate to bug you in the middle of dinner

It was a slap in the face

How quickly I was replaced

And are you thinking of me when you fuck her?"

Most epic breakup song ever. I grew up with this song, and always thought it was a catchy bop with some naughty words in it. When I was old enough to understand the meaning behind it, I realised it was a fantastic 'fuck you' to exes everywhere.

P.S. It is rumoured to have been written about the guy from Full House (google it!)

"No Scrubs" - TLC

"No, I don't want your number

No, I don't want to give you mine and

No, I don't want to meet you nowhere

No, I don't want none of your time"

What a classic 90's song, from a classic 90's band.

I'll let you in on a little secret about this song. During my single days, this was my Tinder profile anthem. Funnily enough, it didn't keep the scrubs away.

R.I.P. Left Eye

"Stronger" - Britney Spears

'"Cause now I'm stronger than yesterday

Now it’s nothing but my way

My loneliness ain't killing me no more"

If you thought we were getting through this without an appearance by Britney Spears, you were dead wrong. What a soundtrack to getting over a relationship and living your best single life!

All hail Queen Britney.

So there you have it, my picks for a playlist that will have you embracing yourself and your independent life.

BRB, watching The Wedding Singer...

90s music
3

About the Creator

J. K. Cook

I am grateful to have found a place where my many and varied thoughts can come together.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.