Beat logo

Lonnie Dangerous' tracks are loaded with high energy, melodies and catchy hooks that reflect his motive: never playing it safe.

Catching up with Lonnie Dangerous - rapper, actor, comedian.

By mysoundMusicPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Lonnie Dangerous - Ambitionz Az A Writer Part 3: The Album

Lonnie Dangerous is a rapper, actor, comedian based in Hollywood, California. The song Vaped Out is a fun song about how dynamic of a star Lonnie is, just imagine if he was “Vaped Out”.

It’s full of comedy and life to a good groove.

Q: How did you arrive at your name. Give us the scoop.

I got my name because I am a rapper, actor comedian, writer. And competitive artist considered me 'Dangerous'. I try to give it my all in my work and try to not play it safe. I go out on a limb, because that’s where the fruit is.

Q: You have an impressive resume as rapper, actor, comedian, and writer. Did you originally set out to do it all or do you stop & think “Wow, how did that happen”?

Thank you buddy, I wanted to be a star since a kid. Hip Hop is in my blood, so I started rapping. I loved singers who were also actors as a kid. Truthfully I was a child actor, I got a couple parts in movies that mostly ended on the cutting room floor but I caught the acting bug back then. So I came out to Hollywood to a recording engineer school. I figured writing rhymes is basically doing acting and writing, so I took classes to get better. And somehow I ended up in a Ford Mustang commercial, where I was thrown on a comedy stage for the first time in front of a packed crowd. The fact that people laughed and Ford used it, got me excited. I envisioned the name Lonnie Dangerous to be a multi talented artist. EGOT status like Whoopi Goldberg.

Q: Last time we talked, you released Lonnie Dangerous - Ambitionz Az A Writer Part 3: The Album. How has the reaction to your release been?

It’s been all love, we’re over 300,000 streams on Spotify, I have almost created a video for every song. It’s dope to hear people reciting my rhymes or tell me which is their favorite song. I appreciate all the support.

Q. The song, Vaped Out, is one of my favorites. Is there a story behind the song?

Vaped Out I created because I wanted live in the hip-pop genre. Plus I wanted to showcase my skills. And that I’m so good at this, imagine how I would be Vaped Out, and my opponents don’t want to see that.

Q: 2021 was a creative year. Does this have anything to do with the pandemic or just feeling creative? Will we see the same energy in 2022?

Yea, I’m in a zone, the pandemic hit when I had already started, I was Texas recording the album with super producer Slapmaster when it hit. I’ve had to isolate more but I’ve been setting up a few things, started writing the next EP and created a clothing design line. Working on a comedy set for this year, and looking into real estate. I’m looking for global expansion for my brand.

Q: What is the best song you ever released and why?

It’s like having a favorite child. I don’t see my songs like that. Each one has a piece of my soul in it. I care more about what the listeners favorite song is and why.

Q: What song do fans seem to favor?

Right now Vaped Out and Pull Up (Dangerous remix) featuring HL Star, seem to be the ones getting the most buzz.

Q: What do you value more, creativity, or perfect execution?

That’s a good question. I’d hate to have to sacrifice either. I play like I’m Kobe Bryant, I try to work on a weakness in my game until it isn’t. And I think I pride myself on valuing both very highly.

Q: Do you create music for yourself or for fans?

I try to make music that I would want to hear, music that could be the soundtrack to someone’s life.

Q. Playing live or recording in studio?

Depends on my mood. Both have their advantages and disadvantages.

Q: Do you have a preference… vinyl records, cassettes, CDs, or downloads?

I think my art is Afro futuristic so whatever the modern way to digest music I’m into that. But I love music so I respect all the mediums.

Q: What would be your ideal press headline, either now or in the future? In which publication? Why?

"Lonnie Dangerous trillionaire!" Any publication. Because that’s the goal.

Q: Would you like to travel to other countries to perform your music? If so, what would be your first stop?

Yes, I’d love to. Start on some beach, the Bahamas

Q. What's the craziest thing that has happened to you on a gig, the road, in the studio?

I was on the road with a producer, and ended up on a marijuana compound shooting a music video with Devin the Dude, after they rented out a strip club and partied until the sun came up. The strippers were having a dance off and they used it all for the video.

Q. What's the craziest thing that has happened to you on a gig, the road, in the studio?

I was on the road with a producer, and ended up on a marijuana compound shooting a music video with Devin the Dude, after they rented out a strip club and partied until the sun came up. The strippers were having a dance off and they used it all for the video.

Q. Is there an instrument which you would like to learn and why?

I’d like to learn as many as I could, it would only enhance my art.

Q: Are there any musicians, (comedians, actors, writers) who inspire you? What qualities do you admire about them?

Yes, I’m inspired by 2pac still. Eddie Murphy, Whoopi Goldberg, Tom Cruise, Stephen King. 2pac- his thug passion, Eddie Murphy- black excellence, Whoopi Goldberg- her talent and versatility, Tom Cruise- his quality of work and consistency, Stephen King- he writes every genre and maintains a standard.

Q. Are you currently working on any projects we should look out for?

Yes I’m working on two EPs, one smooth and one rough. I have a clothing line called Lonnie Dangerous (codes) coming soon. And I’m still co-hosting Overtime Hustlin: Turf Tales Podcast on Friday nights, you can find it on YouTube, Facebook, IG, etc.

Q. Did I forget to ask something? Something you would like to say, that I did not address.

I’d like to that all those who have shown me love and support. Get my album Lonnie Dangerous- Ambitionz Az A Writer: 3 The Album. Check out my new music videos for Pull Up and Pull Up (Dangerous remix) featuring HL Star. Follow me Lonnie Dangerous on IG, Facebook, YouTube, TikTok, Lonniedangerous.com

interview
Like

About the Creator

mysoundMusic

🙋🙋‍♂️ Interview Me!

Have a new song, EP, Album? Let me help with playlist placement and promotion. too.

Music Fan plus Talented Musicians and Artist equals mysoundMusic.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.