Beat logo

Locket at 'The Bitter End'

Original Song by Jim Gaven

By Jim GavenPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

This is an intimate live performance of a song I wrote called, 'Locket' done at a singer/songwriter showcase at the Bitter End in NYC. Even though this song was written in 2008, it is still the most requested song of mine when I perform live. The premise of the song is that it is about being there for a friend in a dire situation. This friend called me out of the blue in the middle of the night and was not in a good way. After a fairly long phone call, that lead to multiple phone calls which lead to me visiting several times within a 6 month period to eventually picking up my whole life and moving it to where they were. It's hard to capture a 10 month period into a 4 minute song, so this is my best attempt at painting a picture of what was going on in and around the experience.

If you take notice, I go to another place in my head when I sing this song. It’s amazing how music, especially a particular song, band, or album, can put us right back into that experience, situation, moment, or period of time. Without fail, I find myself right back in that period if I close my eyes and let the music and lyrics flow through me. It’s one of the rare songs I’ve written where I can do that. I think it has a lot to do with how personal that song is, and the traumatic nature of the relationship I had with this person. It was both physically and emotionally exhausting to feel the need to take care of someone else my age. At the time, I thought I would never see the fruits of mine or anyone else’s labor with helping this person. So, in order to tell the story best, here are the lyrics below for your viewing pleasure. Feel free to follow along with the video. Enjoy!

Disclaimer: This person that the song is about is currently doing well and has a family of their own. I truly believe it is a miracle that they are still alive as I saw someone at their darkest moments.

"Locket"

(Music and Lyrics by Jim Gaven)

1st Verse:

4th of july, I'm not gonna lie, i feel alone when you're next to me, and in your arms, I dont know where my heart is, I always feel like there's something coming in between,

Am I right or am I wrong just to think that all along, you've been holding onto secrets that you feel like you need to keep?

Holding on to the words you said, and you know thatI won't forget, everything and nothing, in my mind that made so much sense

Chorus:

When your heart's in a locket, like a piece of paper placed in your pocket, take me out, take me out, take me out when you are down, I could be the turnaround

2nd Verse:

The fireflies light up the sky, connect the dots to the stars you see, and before you know, they'll all go up in smoke, so you better catch them now without a doubt, and you can poke a hole for them to breathe

Chorus:

When your heart's in a locket, like a piece of paper placed in your pocket, take me out, take me out, take me out when you are down, I could be the turnaround

Chorus:

When your heart's in a locket, like a piece of paper placed in your pocket, take me out, take me out, take me out when you are down, I could be the turnaround

concert
Like

About the Creator

Jim Gaven

My mission is to write inspirational stories that make you feel good about yourself, put a smile on your face, and think of things in a different way.

www.keyofawesomemusic.com

www.jimgaven.bandcamp.com

www.patreon.com/keyofawesomemusic

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.