Beat logo

LoFi Hip Hop artist Kompound

Popular LoFi hip hop continues to draw new listeners.

By mysoundMusicPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

How did your journey with music start?

My journey started at a very young age in about 4th grade with making horrible "beats" on garageband. Music has been a key role in my life and has always been something I have loved and leaned to. I slowly became more and more advanced and started using different DAWs like FL studio and Logic. Eventually I got ableton and have been using it ever since.

Why did you choose the name Kompound?

Kompound is based off of the college house that me and my old roommates lived in. It was a beautiful place and a beautiful time and some of my best memories were in that house. I try to reminisce to those memories with chill, relaxing LoFi.

Tell us a little bit about your background.

Grew up in Orlando, FL and moved to Asheville when I was in 4th grade. Have always loved the oceans of Florida, but also the beautiful mountains of NC. Have been working with and around music since I was about 7. Started playing piano around 6th grade and dabble with guitar and cello.

What is your preferred genre and why?

I usually flip between making very relaxing, binormal LoFi Hip Hop, and creating intense bass-filled Trap.

Do you create your own music, or do you collaborate?

I usually create my own music but occasionally will collaborate with another artist with a feature.

What is your creative process like?

I like to start completely fresh and just play something chord wise that might be usable, then I work around that. I will also sometimes find an obscure sample and warp and chop it into something completely new and different.

When you’re creating a song, do you think about how it will translate to a live performance? If so, how does that affect your process?

Luckily for most of my music it is very based in repetition and looping so the ability to possibly preform live would be very easy, especially with Ableton.

Where do you find your artistic inspiration?

I've find my inspiration from many different LoFi artists such as Tomppabeats, Flamingosis and Sugi.wa. As far as Trap, I have many inspirations including Rare Akuma, T-Minus, Bones and $uicideBoy$.

Do you create, record, and release a song or do you plan each release?

I mostly just go with the flow and work hard if I figure I’m going to release something.

Do you plan on doing an EP or full album?

I already dropped a full album but we shall see what the future is to hold.

What is the best song you ever released and why?

Since I only released an album of about 8 short songs, I really enjoy each of them.

What song do fans/followers seem to favor?

Like I mostly said, because they are so short, a lot of people seem to like them all. My close friends mentioned liking Room 241, Continental Breakfast and Laundry Room a lot though.

Other than fame & fortune, is there something you hope to achieve through music?

I create music that I would listen to myself and that I would hope many people would love and enjoy. I try to make something new and hope one day to inspire people like past people have with me.

What music do you listen to ‘for fun’?

I listen to literally everything from opera to metal. Only thing I don’t listen to is country.

Who inspires you musically?

That is a hard question because so many artists do. From the Rolling Stones to John Williams, I am constantly inspired by countless people.

What would be your dream collaboration?

My dream collab would be with Anderson Paak or Kendrick Lamar.

If one artist were to perform at your party, who would get the call?

Would have to go with Anderson Paak.

How do you feel the Internet has impacted sharing your music?

Thankfully the ability to share has been extremely easy due to social media and the internet.

What is your favorite/best outlet to connect with your followers Instagram, Spotify, FB, Twitter, iTunes? How would you want them to follow?

Instagram / Apple Music / Amazon and my personal Instagram is 465kman

If you can have music listeners remember one thing about you, what would it be?

I’m a tall dreaded black guy that makes chill LoFi to study to.

What does the future hold for you?

Hopefully fame and fortune, but we shall see.

interview
1

About the Creator

mysoundMusic

🙋🙋‍♂️ Interview Me!

Have a new song, EP, Album? Let me help with playlist placement and promotion. too.

Music Fan plus Talented Musicians and Artist equals mysoundMusic.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.