Beat logo

Lil Uzi Vert – Luv Is Rage 2 Album Review

Full Album Review

By @GabbyMiernikPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like
I did a Review on my YouTube Channel as Well.

Lil Uzi Vert dropped “Luv is Rage 2”, and going into the listening of this project, I was pretty much expecting more of what put him on the charts, which for me was a lot of songs that could be played in the club and are part of what makes him a rock star. But, this project also includes a look into his more personal side, where we see that he’s had to confront pain of a broken relationship.

There are 16 songs on this project and Lil Uzi Vert (or his team) starred 5 of them to be standouts from the others on this project, so as always I listened to those first. There are only two songs from this project that have features and they are, “Neon Guts" Feat. Pharrell Williams & “Unfazed" Feat. The Weekend.

There’re honestly a lot of songs on this project that I did like but just to name a few, my top three were, “Two”, “Sauce it Up” and “The Way Life Goes”. I liked “Two” because this track starts off the project where he basically is boasting about himself and talking about being famous, which many people might find conceited, but for me personally I didn’t mind. Next song that I like was “Sauce it Up”, which Lil Uzi Vert performed the day before this mixtape even dropped which built a little hype towards it. The reason why I like this song is because I could see it in the future becoming a jam people could dance to or just get hype over. Finally, the last song was “The Way Life Goes” which I liked because this song has a good vibe. I like how Lil Uzi Vert is expressing that even though he is still in love with someone, life goes on, but that doesn’t mean that right now he wants to stop wanting her. Even though overall this was a good project, there are still some songs that I didn’t like which were, “444+222” and “For Real”. The reason why I didn’t like “444+222” is that this song definitely sounds like Playboi Carti’s flow in a way and I mainly think this is because he keeps going “Ah, Oou” which fills the song with this ad lib for 3 ½ minutes. For the next song I didn’t like which was “For Real”, it was supposed to be dedicated to Pharrell Williams which is obvious when you listen to it because Lil Uzi Vert just keeps repeating his name and the song title for three minutes straight basically, and I also don’t like the beat/instrumental which seems like a video game.

Overall, many people, fans and critics alike, were looking forward to Lil Uzi Vert dropping this project. In my personal opinion, I think most of this project is filled with songs that we have been hearing from him since he first got big and blew up. But there are also songs where he switches his flow two times and ends up sounding like Future or even Quavo from the Migos. There were more songs on here that I liked than songs that I did not like but still I have criticism. I think that even though a lot of people like his songs because they can just have a good time and vibe out to it, it would have been nice to see more growth in him as an artist because after a few songs they all started to sound the same. So for that reason I’m going have to give this project an 8/10.

rap
Like

About the Creator

@GabbyMiernik

Multimedia & Political Science Student. My Passion is YouTube but I also occasionally write as well.

Twitter & Instagram: @GabbyMiernik

Snapchat: @Miernikg

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.