Beat logo

Life With Chloe

The soundtrack of my life

By Chloe Rose Violet 🌹Published 11 months ago 13 min read
3
Life With Chloe
Photo by Erik Mclean on Unsplash

“Music can heal the wounds which medicine cannot touch.”

– Debasish Mridha

I love creating playlists for Vocal. It is one of my favourite kind's of posts to create and I love finding new music. This challenge was right up my alley because I am the type of person to live in my memories.

It was SO HARD to pick songs for this post as I love music so much. Every song I picked holds a memory for me.

I've been through a lot but music has always helped me through my pain. I hope that I can use this post and the songs that I have included will help you through your own pain.

Our Song by Taylor Swift

Our song is the slamming screen door . Sneakin' out late, tapping on your window . When we're on the phone, and you talk real slow . Cause it's late, and your mama don't know...

This is one of my first memories actually. I remember driving home with my mom in our mini van when I was about five or six years old listening to the country station and this song played. It's my favourite karaoke song actually.

Rockstar by Nickelback

I'm gonna trade this life for fortune and fame . I'd even cut my hair and changed my name.

Another childhood memory for me. This song was one of my step-dad's favourite songs while we were growing up. He enjoyed Nickelback quite a bit and later in life we even attended a concert together.

Concrete Angel by Martina McBride

She walks to school with the lunch she packed . Nobody knows what she's holding back . Wearing the same dress she wore yesterday . She hides the bruises with the linen and lace ohhh

I loved this song when I was 8 years old. The music video used to make me cry. I don't listen to it very often but I felt like it was suited for this playlist of memories.

Cooler Than Me by Mike Posner

If I could write you a song to make you fall in love . I would already have you up under my arm . I used up all of my tricks, I hope that you like this . But you probably won't, you think you're cooler than me.

I loved the pop station while growing up. While playing Harvest Moon as a child, I used to turn the game audio off because I didn't like the background music. This was one of my favourite songs back then.

Hold on Till May by Pierce the Veil

And as the sun went down . We ended up on the ground . I heard the train shake the windows . You screamed over the sound

Oh high school... and the punk music phase I went through. I remember hiding on the hay-bales on the farm and listening to this song on full blast while being suicidal and smoking stolen cigarettes. Probably not the best idea looking back at it but this song still holds such a special memory for me.

If It Means A Lot To You by A Day To Remember

If you can wait 'til I get home (I get home) . Then I swear to you that we can make this last.

One of my high school boyfriends showed me this song and to this day it still remains one of my favourite songs.

Blood to Bleed by Rise Against

"I don't love you anymore" is all I remember you telling me . Never have I felt so cold . But I've no more blood to bleed . 'Cause my heart has been draining into the sea

I love this song. And the band. It's another one of my high school punk songs but it still holds a lot of meaning to me.

Lover Dearest by Marianas Trench

Don't you leave me . Whoa I'm not sick of you yet . Is that as good as it gets?

Marianas Trench has always been one of my favourite bands. (I personally don't like their latest music though.) This song was used in one of my lyrical dances back in the day and to this day it is one of my favourite dances I have ever performed. The song is about addiction and is simply beautiful.

Ghost Town by Adam Lambert

Died last night in my dreams . Walking the streets of some old ghost town...

This song reminds me of my hometown. It came out during my Grade 12 year and I played it on repeat for so long. I still love the song and Adam Lambert. He was phenomenal in Glee.

Thinking Out Loud by Ed Sheeran

Will your mouth still remember the taste of my love? Will your eyes still smile from your cheeks?

I got to see Ed Sheeran perform live with one of my friends inn high school before she moved away. This song holds so much meaning to me because of her. We lost touch now but I will always cherish her and the memories that we have made together.

End of The Road by Machine Gun Kelly

So take my name, remember this face, keep the change and have a nice day . And live for the moment, not by the past, homie live each day like it's your last

This was another high school song. I fell in love with Machine Gun Kelly after I discovered this song.

Dearly Departed by Marianas Trench

I don't know how to mend it . When this chapter ended . When all of my plans have depended on you . But at least tonight we'll still pretend . Hold each other close like its not the end

This by far is my favourite Marianas Trench song. Soley because of the references made to previous songs he wrote about his ex. This was the last album of theirs I cherished and it came out during my Grade 12 year. This band has gotten me through a lot.

Home by Daughter

I was drunk again . Causing accidents . Oh, you're not a friend . No, you're nothing . I think I should be . A little more confident . In myself . In my skin.

This song was pulled from a movie I watched with one of my best friends back when she used to crash at my place all the time. I forget the name of the movie now, but we read the book together too. It was about a war torn country and two cousins falling in love with each other. Little weird but I honestly cannot remember the name of the movie and book all these years later. If anyone knows what I'm talking about please comment down below and let me know because it has been bugging me for years. I love this song though.

Unsteady by X Ambassadors

Hold, hold on, hold onto me . 'Cause I'm a little unsteady

I adore this love song. It reminds me of an ex-boyfriend of mine. This song holds such a special place in my heart and it deserves to be in this playlist.

My Heart I Surrender by I Prevail

And I can't count the times . I stayed awake pretending you were mine . Now I'm left here with this emptiness inside . And why can't I make you mine?

This is such a great band. After their Blank Space cover became super popular, I fell in love with this song.

Sunrise Trailer Park by Papa Roach & Machine Gun Kelly

And now I'm running from the scene . 'Cause I was caught up in the crime . It's a loaded memory . Yeah, it kills me every time . And I'm trying not to scream . But It's eating me alive . I'm still haunted by . The best years of, the best years of my life.

This song reminds me of my ex-partner. We found it together while smoking. We used to bond over rock music together. I wonder if it makes him think of me too.

Ready To Let Go by Cage the Elephant

As we slow dance, I became your statue, frozen . 'Times I wonder, are we just a puff of smoke? Yeah . Underneath this bed of ashes . Still withholding everything . Like we were never close.

I used to listen to this song while driving to work all the time. I found it after the birth of my first born child. It is super catchy and upbeat and it always makes me think of that time in my life when I hear it.

Slide Away by Miley Cyrus

I want my house in the hills . Don't want the whiskey and pills . I don't give up easily . But I don't think I'm down.

I started listening to this song after my friend from high school lost his life to suicide. I was going through a tough break-up at the time and it still pulls at my heart strings whenever I listen to it.

Home by Catie Turner

I wonder how it feels to be safe in the palm of your hand.

I found this song in one of Shane Dawson's videos. I fell in love with it and it instantly became one of my favourite songs. As controversial as he may be, he has some damn good taste in music in my honest opinion.

I'm Not Alright by Loud Luxury & Bryce Vine

You like to drink and to smoke to take away the pain . And I don't remember all of my mistakes . And every high got low with no one to blame . You’re not alright, I'm not alright.

I found this radio song after I found out I was pregnant with my daughter while running into the Dollar Store with my son before Halloween back in 2019. I fell in love with it because I wasn't alright back then. The fact that I still remember the exact moment I found the song is incredible to me.

Gets Better by Catie Turner

They say it gets better . Damn it's taking forever, I know . These days should be treasured . But I don't want to remember at all.

I love this song. I also found this in a Shane Dawson video and it really hits home for when you're going through something.

Never Love Again by Eminem

So I spiral downwardly 'cause I'm too cowardly to leave you . Head is clouded in a fallacy, but in reality . Somehow it seems like when I lay me down to sleep I'm counting sheep . You're bound to creep . 'Cause every time I turn around, you keep runnin' out on me . You're my Xanax and my valium, I'm an addict, you're a downer .

When Eminem dropped this album, I was shocked. This song hits hard for me because I never thought I could love anyone more than the father of my two kids. Guess I wound up being wrong there. I know every word.

Zen by X Ambassadors

Gimme space, at least six feet . Dig my grave just as deep . I got sex on my mind all the time, fuck . Scrollin' through the internet time suck . I've been feelin' flat like a pancake . I could use a hug or a handshake

COVID songs for the win. After my daughter was born, I found this song and fell in love with it. The pandemic was hard on my family's hotel and having a baby during the beginning of the whole ordeal was not easy either. I wouldn't change a second of it though.

Homemade Dynamite by Lorde

Let's let things come out of the woodwork . I'll give you my best side, tell you all my best lies . Yeah, awesome, right? . So let's let things come out of the woodwork . I'll give you my best side, tell you all my best lies . Seeing me rolling, showing someone else love . Dancing with our shoes off . Know I think you're awesome, right?

I used to drive around to get out of the house while my babies were little during the pandemic. This was one of my driving songs.

A Very Strange Time by G-Eazy

The narrator ain't have time for a wife . Said you met me at a very strange time in my life . We could've made this all work if the timing was right.

This song makes me think of the pandemic too. I met someone and fell in love during a very strange time in my life. I love G-Eazy and this happens to be one of my favourite songs by him.

Terrified by Terror Jr

I'm not afraid of love, . I'm terrified . It never feels like how they advertise . It's got big teeth, it's got an appetite

This is a Discovery Weekly song that rings so true for me. I've been so afraid of falling in love again after getting my heart ripped out of my chest. This is a beautiful song that explains my feelings towards falling in love.

I Can't Believe How Empty My Bed Is Without You by Roderick Porter

Damn, I don't even dont know how to feel, ayy . I can't even tell what's real, yuh . I just want you to come chill, ayy . Yeah, I thought that was the deal, ayy . Why you always playin' these games, yuh

A certain someone sent me this song when we first started hanging out and I fell in love with it. It always reminds me of them whenever I listen to it. He holds such an important piece to my heart now because I never thought I could be loved after what my ex-partner did to my heart.

Sometimes by Taz

I remember finding love I was thinking damn . It’s the second heartbreak that will make a man

When going through some tough times, I found this song and it instantly became my favourite depression song. I have written about it before but the lyrics are so powerful to me.

save me from the monster in my head by Welshly Arms

Would you find me when the lights go down? And hold me steady when I'm freakin' out? 'Cause I need you here . You keep me safe . You keep me safe and sound

Another one of my favourite songs, this song is special to me. For my own personal reasons.

On My Life by Cheat Codes

Oh nah, this still the light of mine . They better see me, better see me shine . I'll get my money, get my money right . I put that on my life.

This song is important to me. It helps me focus on goals I didn't even realize I had.

Sweet Disaster by DREAMERS

And so it goes, we found our sweet disaster . In a river of champagne . Swimmin' through the mornin' after . We float away...

I love this song and this band. I fell in love with the whole vibe of this song.

End of Me (feat. Rivers Cuomo) by Billy Talent

You dragged me down to a hole so deep . I'm crawling out on my hands and knees . I'd stick around but I know it's gonna be . The end of me....

This song was shown to me by one of my coworkers. It makes me feel close to the friend I lost in high-school to suicide. It reminds me of him and I fell in love with the song. My own children request me to play this song for them.

Fire Escape by Call Me Karizma

I'm at another party again . Don't wanna be here but I am . I'm way too weird to make friends . My mom says, "Try to fit in" . So I'm at party again . Don't wanna be here but I am . I'd rather be home in my bed . I gotta get out of this place . Looking for the fire escape.

I fell in love with this song while going through a bit of a party phase while working in a bar. It totally suits me honestly and I love the lyrics behind this song.

I hope you enjoyed this snapshot into my life. Each of the songs on this playlist hold a special meaning to me and I loved creating this post.

Don't forget to heart this post and subscribe for more. :)

Chloe Rose Violet

Check out my other playlist posts!

song reviewsalternative
3

About the Creator

Chloe Rose Violet 🌹

Writing from the heart about love, life, music, mental health, and everything else in between. 💀🥰

•Follow me on Threads @rosefearless

•Like my new Facebook page ROSEFEARLESS

Purchase my affirmation cards here!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alexandra Ray11 months ago

    Love it! 🤟🏻

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.