Beat logo

Let's Talk about OnlyOneOf

The intent of the video

By LynnPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Like

So as usual I was on TikTok, and I scrolled down to a video of a cute boy with long hair by the name of Junji. He’s from the group OnlyOneOf. I watched their Skinz and Libid0 mv and amongst others. I must say it’s very provocative and not meant for kids. (😂)

I did some digging and stumbled on a couple of articles on this mv “Libid0”

I read comments after comment, they are divided. I read where the members spoke about it. Here’s what they had to say. Kyubin explained "This is a topic that other groups were careful about doing and was a taboo topic. However, many artists have turned what is human instincts into art even in the past and even the present. So, OnlyOneOf has sublimated the most basic parts of humans into music."

I knew we’d get a different reaction than usual. But I’m surprised by how hot the reactions are.

— Love

Love believes the clip is gaining so much attention because they brought a new idea onto the stage.

We performed according to the theme of human instincts and urges. And because we transferred that context to the stage, we’ve been getting a lot of attention.

— Love

But he stresses that there’s more to it than what many perceive to be sexually explicit.

If you get to know our storytelling since debut, you’d be able to enjoy it in a more meaningful way than just finding it provocative.

— Love

Furthermore, Rie elaborated on the props they chose to use as a part of the choreography.

We used rope to stress the topic of the song. It’s a prop that should trigger your imagination.

— Rie

So, here’s what I think from reading the comments from fans and the members, looking up the English translation of the song. This is where you use common sense and the power of seeing the full picture. Again, if you watch the performance video and the actual video. Yes, it does seem like it’s about same-sex relationships from the skin ship in the actual video. Not so much in the performance video. However, the lyrics alone paints a different picture.

“Girl, I just wanna know, oh-oh-oh”

It may come off as “gay” but is it gay if they are dancing and singing. I mean when you choreograph a provocative dance like that is it gay. I mean really. Why make it an issue. I mean when I first saw it, I must admit, I did get uncomfortable because I didn’t know how to process my feelings on the mv, but it does make sense on why they did it. They are breaking a cycle that really hasn’t been wildly accepted. I mean its only two songs they showed skin ship, that’s Skinz and Libid0. The other songs are pretty good as well. They represented black people in their video which is why I was grateful for. Again, they’re pushing the narrative. 🤭

You must really listen to their song with an open mind. Cause if you don’t, you’ll be misled and believe all kinds of stuff. That’s why I don’t believe everything what people said about them good and bad.

Some say they were talking about homosexuality some say it was the artistic behind the choreo. But without the English trans…It can be misinterpreted that way, but however its not about that.

It’s about them exploring their human nature and urges and putting them in music. The fact that this mv is very controversial, means they are doing something that aren’t explored often in K-pop.

All I can say is that you can’t separate K-pop idols from doing something that is different.

Personally, I do think they could have done better in the actual mv, that way it's not too controversial. However, it was eye opener.

pop culture
Like

About the Creator

Lynn

I'm a writer. I write fanfiction, screenplays, and novels. I also watch anime and also listen to K-Pop. I also write for hire. I tend to daydream alot which is probably one of my secrets to writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.