Beat logo

Lessons on Love: The Musical

My Journey Through Heartbreak and Love

By Merlin MystiquePublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

2000 saw the release of En Vogue's "Riddle" from the Masterpiece Theatre album. This is one of my favorite albums. I will never forget playing this song on trips with the family, and choreographing dance moves to this song in high school.

This song is relevant even for 2019. How so? I can readily answer that question. In this Stargate Remix, you can hear elements of "Never Gonna Get It" from one of En Vogue's earlier albums. One thing to take is that when you spot the red flags or signs that your significant other is cheating, then they are cheating and they've got to get out of the way. They know that they've been caught and you know that you deserve better.

Another oldie, but goodie from En Vogue's Masterpiece Theatre album would be "Whatever Will Be (Que Sera Sera)." During this time I was going through a nasty break up with a young lady that I thought would one day be my wife. Who would've ever thought that I'd be apart of the LGBT community? Thankfully, she and I have both grown and have forgiven each other for the secrets and lies that we told during our relationship.

I want you all to excuse me, as I journey through decades of music. Jennifer Holliday is a power house in her own right. With her 1991 cover of Angela Bofill's "I'm On Your Side," Jennifer rocked the house and gave a little five year old child something to sing. I remember many summer days in South Carolina, playing outside or standing on the door steps singing as if I was the star of the show, singing, "I'm on your side, when times are hard." It gave me a connection that there was a supernatural being looking out for me and that my family was there for me.

As I grew older I realized that it showed love between to people that supported each other through thick and thin.

Vanity 6, assembled by the late artist, Prince, took the world by storm with their hit "Nasty Girl." Picture it, North Carolina 2010 a young female impersonator getting their life in a sequin dress lip syncing "Nasty Girl." This was a staple in my household growing up, so I felt like I should perform this hit, which is still a staple in my mind. "Nasty Girl," has been featured in many Ballroom Vogue beats as well as modern day music. I guess that was foreshadowing my prowess as sensual diva.

The Queen of Soul taught us all that we are precious in the eye sight of God, with her hit "A Rose is Still A Rose." I remember watching this video and listening to this hit. Lauryn Hill's vocals and the message showed that we as women, especially transwomen are not a simple weed. We are a beautiful rose that is to be valued and respected. A rose is precious. Only a select few can manuever our thorns and adore us for the beautiful creatures we are.

Phyllis Hyman's "Living All Alone," is a staple of my repertoire as a singer. I discovered Phyllis Hyman in my childhood, but after going through a crazy break up with someone that I thought was the love of my life, I felt alone and I absolutely hated not having him there with me during long and lonely nights. It absolutely sucks when the love you thought would last ends and you're left with broken pieces.

The late Whitney Houston was a diva in her own right! When she released, "Heartbreak Hotel," featuring Faith Evans and Kelly Price, I felt her soul. I would play this song whenever a former lover would stand me up or lie to me about simple things. After I found out via social media that I was the other woman, I checked into Heartbreak Hotel.

The Queen of Rock and Roll, Tina Turner preached one hardcore sermon with her hit "When the Heartache Is Over." She made it clear that she could move on. I learned that my exes were just a learning experience, and their issues had nothing to do with me. I'm stronger without them. I'll never need them again.

Avery Sunshine's "Ugly Part of Me," gives us a lesson of when we set the bar too high. We tend to let the ugly part of us show. It happens when we've been frustrated with love and the desire to make love work like a fairytale. Sometimes we have to admit that we were wrong and that the ugly part of us has jacked everything up.

list
Like

About the Creator

Merlin Mystique

Hi. I'm Merlin. I'm a Black Transgender Woman. This is My Evolution

Twitter MerinMystique

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.