Beat logo

Learning About Loonasik

Who is Loonasik?

By LaBree JohnsonPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Loonasik

In 2021 , I went to a show in Louisville Kentucky. I had heard one of Loonasik’s earlier projects but never had saw him perform. That changed in November of 2021. I heard Loonasik announced and watched him come on stage. During his set, I noticed his energy was live and his lyrics were dark at times but he did it in a way to keep everyone hype. It was really something to see him perform and feed the morale before the show that ended with Ouija Macc.

After his set, I noticed he noticed me. We didn’t really speak to each other that night. Since that night, we have stayed in touch and I really like his personality. He has an authentic feel and a unique mindset while still having a great sense of humor in my personal experience. Lyrically, his music is definitely something you can appreciate. I’ve had the opportunity to listen to many of his songs. Each of those songs are unique. I was very impressed with a few of his song’s delivery and content.

I asked Loonasik if I could write about him. He was great about giving me feedback and agreed to me asking a few questions. So luckily, I can tell you all a few things. First, I asked if he wanted to say anything to the viewers or supporters. He replied “Thank you for asking. I suppose if there is anything in particular, I’d like to say to anybody out there that supports is Thank you, sincerely and whole heartedly. I don’t fluff up my numbers to gain acceptance or “Clout”. I hate that term nowadays. We growing this thing on an organic level and I love ya’ll for growing with me.

Next, I asked him about his career highlights. His reply was “career highlights thus far may not be what others consider their highlights. I value different things a lot. I’ve come to understand. I’ve been around for a grip now. I’ve had two record deals, lost two deals, been shelved. Also, been through litigation, had money, went broke. It’s all peaks and valleys in this. Don’t get attached to likes and reactions. That is lightwork, not real. My career highlights are at times that I’ve went on stage and nobody was there in that room to see me, didn’t care to either. Half way through a set, look and they’re reacting to bars, and boppin’ to the music. Them and they girlfriends girlfriend. So, very hard for me to pin point because I’m still in the middle of making a career something that ya’ll can tell me what the highlights were. Until then though, a highlight will be when ya’ll read this and buy my music.”

I reworded the question and he said that he “was very proud of his record deal with Ice Age records once upon a time. It was a big learning experience as far as learning the smoke screen that is hip hop entertainment in general. I’m proud of it with spite though. So, I don’t usually look back on it with as much appreciation as I should. Where I’m from (Salem, Indiana) at the time signing a deal (2011-2015) let alone as an Emcee, was something everyone and I do mean everyone who came into my radius said was imposy. A pipe dream, a delusion of a dumb kid. So, when I was able to invite those same people to my signing party I felt like I just rewired the Matrix for a minute.”

He also told me he was very proud of the group project with my guy Jus Dave called HottBoxXx. Album available everywhere now. Mainly because it’s a great piece of work in my opinion and it also was a chance to do a full project with Dave and that is super dope. Also, we did the project with a true inspiration in both of us, Krizz Kaliko. Shiiid hearing my voice in the same tracks as Big Krizz over at WyshMaster Productions was a feeling that this blunt can’t even give.”

He mentioned “as far as his upcoming work, I got a new EP coming out this summer. Early to mid-June and it’s call “A DYYBUK Box” It is my most unique project so far and it’s been very therapeutic to write and piece together. Definitely a more dark element as a whole to the content and full of bad luck for the individual who happens to be in possession. I kinda feel like I’ve had this black cloud that just hovers above me. My whole life and ready to give it to someone else. So, I’m getting the energy out through this collection of songs. Produced entirely by DJ Slug and Jus Dave. As always, we are representing that Dead Daddy Productions squad and I couldn’t make music without them. They do so much behind the scenes as well as the music itself. Also, go check out Jus Dav and myself's new group project HottBoxXx. We just put out our first album “The Black Pill", If you hadn’t checked it out yet. Thank you for all your time and interest.”

It was a great experience to chat with Loonasik. He is in good spirits and also told me himself “ all he ever wanted to do is rap and he has an unconditional love for hip hop”. I also wanted to know if he wanted to see any changes in the world. He said “less division, more understanding, less judgement, more discussion. Be the energy you want to receive”. Everyone can truly let this resonate and understand moving forward.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.