Beat logo

KYLE - 'It's Not So Bad' - Worst to Best

It really is not so bad

By Cronan ParryPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

I don't know why the only album cover image I can find bar the tiny one on Spotify has a red eye instead of a green one.

My instinctive reaction is that this is good vibes for a good time followed by good vibes for a bad time.

It's 3am and these are my early thoughts, you don't have to agree and by 6am I might not even agree.

However, I am 100% correct, back off.

11. 'Shiesty'

Let me just say, not a song on this album do I dislike. This one just does the least for me. Also I'm still unclear on the status of the word 'esk*mo' so I'm just gunna side step the whole thing. Next.

10. 'Personal'

A lot fo this album goes for repetitive and catchy in many ways and really pulls it off but this one just hits a little under the line. Maybe it's just a little too long for what it is. Some of the songs switch up at the end and this one may have needed that just a tad more.

9. 'Sunday'

I mean I am right here ready and waiting for late 90's - early 00's revival. But the best parts of this song are just Craig David's song so really I could go listen to that instead. It's still good though. Listening to this album start to finish on the first listen absolutely made this song bop a lil harder given the previous song, which we will get to! But yeah, do we really need this one all that much? No. Is it still fun? Yeah.

8. 'Thumb thru ft. Ivory Scott'

Again, this one is good. I like it. Is it pretty much just like everything else w got in the late 2010's. Yup. Am I ready for something else? Clearly.

7. 'Sleepyhead'

Initially this was a little lower but then I realised it was simply because it's the early hours and the song's called 'Sleepyhead' and that didn't help the mindset. I like the beat. I like the verse in the middle. I like the chorus/bridge. It doesn't overstay it's welcome. Good song.

6. 'Cmon'

Ite okay here we are. Try not dancing to this. Are you joking? Get up and dance. Or just bop your head. Dance to your capabilities.

I really love when an album's opening track is the middle ground for the album. I just feels like I've been set up perfectly for what's to come.

The god damn instrumental. It feels like a sample but I can't remember the song. Either way. Perfect late 90's - early 00's

5. 'Eternity ft. BEAM'

BEAM really makes this one. Love it. The rhythm is basically impossible to not move along too. It just so danceable.

4. 'Perfect'

Am I delirious because of the current time? Maybe. Will I be dancing around my front room till my feet bleed picturing 'Junior Senior' and 'Kylie Minogue' vibing with me. Yes.

3. 'Love's theme song'

This bloody song. This BLOODY song. It's so short it couldn't overstay it's welcome if it tried. It leaves me wanting more. The last 20 seconds? Thank you I'll have those again and again. It's like a lil snack for my brain.

2. 'Optimistic ft. Dougie F'

Well the vibe has changed. Still very danceable. I feel safe. I feel longing. I feel like non of KYLE's flows are particularly complex but they hit this spot of earworm catchiness that I really enjoy. Anyway the only reason I decided to write this was for the next song.

1. 'Unreplaceable ft. Craig David'

ARE YOU ACTUALLY FUCKING WITH ME.

The song starts. I'm like, yeah this is a vibe. Love the 90's -00's as we know. Really really enjoying myself. Honestly, someone call Craig David he'd absolutely love this song. Motherfucker rocks up and drops a verse are you kidding me! I've never been more elated and excited to have a surprise Craig David in my life. This is exactly the way I want this revival to be going.

Am I unfairly ranking this song too high based on Craig David appearing right when I thought about him? Almost certainly. Do i give a fuck? Not in the slightest. I'm gunna wrap this up and repeat listen to this album till I need sleep.

Thanks For Reading!

We might disagree on every single song here but it's just music at the end of the day. Let's just have fun. The last couple years haven't exactly been the best have they. I'll take all the good vibes I can. Goodbye.

album reviews
Like

About the Creator

Cronan Parry

I like making lists and rating things. Doesn't mean I know what I'm talking about.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.