Beat logo

Kpop Review: Stray Kids' "God's Menu"

Cookin' like a chef, I'm a five star Michelin...

By Veronica TraggiaiPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
3

The ever-versatile boy group Stray Kids returned on June 17th to serve up a new comeback. But the question is, is it a 5 star meal?

The Song:

Having watched all the trailers for this comeback, I was very much looking forward to the music video finally coming out. However, the teaser and song for "God's Menu" was probably my least favorite out of them all so it was a bit disappointing to learn that it was to be the single for the album. Like many Stray Kids singles, this is a song that may have to grow on fans. The raps delivered by Changbin and Han are as masterful as ever. They never fail to impress me with the sheer speed and flow of their raps and it is my opinion that they are some of the best idol rappers in kpop at the moment. I also particularly enjoyed maknae Jeongin and main vocalist Seungmin's voice together.

However, I don't think the song's pre-chorus fits very well at all - it feels very out of place the way that it just slows down out of nowhere. I'm also not too fond of the chorus itself as I prefer choruses with more vocals. Minho was the one member who I feel like got overlooked in this comeback and did not get to shine as much as he should have. Stray Kids' leader, Chan, has a great voice and I think it was under-utilized in this song and covered up with too much autotune.

While "God's Menu" has its flaws, it does nothing to hinder the talents of the group. I appreciate the fact that Stray Kids writes and produces their own songs - not very many kpop groups do that and I think it really sets them apart. They are truly talened in all aspects of music: lyric writing, dancing, singing, producing, rapping, and performing. Some of their singles can tend to be a hit or miss, but their discography as a whole is extremely unique, relatable, and exciting.

Favorite Song from Go Live: "Blueprint"

From the moment I saw the teaser for this song, I knew it would be my favorite track on the album. It is such a different sound for them - even for Stray Kids, who are always experimenting with their music - and I love it! I like how they're not afraid to try something different and produce the type of songs that they never have before. I think this is the perfect summer song and honestly wish it would've been the single.

The Music Video:

Wow there is a lot going on in this video! There are chefs, a racetrack, a marching band, scientists, and more all in one video. It was a bit too much to take in to be honest! The video quality was very high and it was well-produced, I just think this was one of those situations in which less is more. If they would have just stuck with the chef concept, I think it would've been more effective - especially since the song's English title is "God's Menu."

Everything else about the mv I loved though. The choreography was unique and well-executed. Hyunjin really stood out to me in this aspect, his movements are so smooth and effortless. I also really liked the styling for this comeback. The different hair colors and makeup styles the boys had worked well for them. I felt like the outfits fit the racetrack concept more than anything but I liked them a lot. The only questionable style aspect for me were the chains just straight up glued to Chan's face but hey, what can you do.

Honestly, I can't help but love and support Stray Kids in whatever they do, even if it's not quite my style. It's impossible not to recognize their talent and enthusiasm when they're performing. While the title song may not be my favorite, the rest of the songs on the album are amazing and I consider this to be a really great comeback!

song reviews
3

About the Creator

Veronica Traggiai

Hello! I'm Veronica, a 23 year old college student and freelance writer.

My current writing interest is in music reviews (mainly kpop). While I partly joined Vocal because I'm a poor college student, writing truly is my passion!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.