Beat logo

Kpop Review: Hwasa's "Maria"

"No frame, no fake"

By Veronica TraggiaiPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Mamamoo's powerful maknae is back with her signature sultry sound in her new single, "Maria."

The Song:

I'm not sure what I was expecting from this single, but this definitely wasn't it! I really like this song and the whole vibe it has. It's a unique blend of Latin pop and trap house music that works a lot better than one would think. I feel like Hwasa is always experimenting with her music, which I love. Her sound is very different from what idols usually put out for their solo music. Thinking back to a couple solo debuts we've had this year so far such as Lovelyz's Sujeong and Hwasa's fellow Mamamoo member Solar, they were great debuts but were very typical pop songs. I think Hwasa brings something very different to the table as a solo artist.

The lyrics address the artist's own insecurities and is like Hwasa is comforting herself in the song. It is empowering, but sweet at the same time. I also love how it's a direct reference to the Maria tattoo Hwasa has on the back of her neck - it's a nice, personal touch.

While Hwasa may be known for her popular girl group, her confidence, and her unapologetic sexiness, I think she's one of the most underrated vocalists in kpop at the moment. She has a strong and soulful voice and her solo music has a diversity that you don't see every day in kpop.

Favorite Song from Maria: "I'm Bad Too" feat. DPR Live

Did I choose this song because it features DPR Live, who just so happens to be one of my favorite k-rnb artists? Maybe! Did Hwasa's parts end up being my favorite parts of the song? Absolutely! I just love that she did a song with DPR Live because honestly everything he touches turns to gold. Their voices actually meld really well together. Without Hwasa, this song wouldn't nearly be as catchy and fun as it is.

The Music Video:

I am so obsessed with this video!! I really love when artists, particular artists, do dark and creepy concepts like this. While it had creepy aspects, it didn't feel like a cheesy Halloween party - it included disturbing imagery without losing any of its visual beauty. The concept is so rich and full of symbolism. There were multiple scenes with different themes, but all of them felt cohesive and it felt like a story was being told through the music video. I may not know what that story is, but it's there! For some reason, the vibes I got from this video were like Lady Gaga's "Paparazzi" mixed with (g)i-dle's "Oh My God." And for as weird as that sounds, it works so well!

I have been a fan of Mamamoo for a long time and they have always stood out for the vocals, so I'm always glad to see the members getting the opportunity to showcase their dance skills. They have shown time and time again that they are not just a one note group, and the members' solo careers are no different. The choreography in this video was so fantastic, I love watching Hwasa dance. It's amazing to me how talented she is not just in vocals and rap, but in dance as well. I know Mamamoo has worked with the immensely popular 1Million dance crew for choreography in the past, so I'd be curious to know if they worked on Hwasa's comeback as well.

In my opinion, Hwasa is one of the best kpop group solo artists in the game right now. She brings something unique and interesting to a genre that can often get overwhelmed by a lot of the same sounding music. Some artists are better as a part of a group, but Hwasa has proven herself to be more than capable in both areas. I can't wait to see what she does next!

song reviews
Like

About the Creator

Veronica Traggiai

Hello! I'm Veronica, a 23 year old college student and freelance writer.

My current writing interest is in music reviews (mainly kpop). While I partly joined Vocal because I'm a poor college student, writing truly is my passion!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.