Beat logo

Kpop Review: Blackpink's "How You Like That"

"Bring out the boss bitch!"

By Veronica TraggiaiPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

The girls are back!!!!! Blackpink makes their long awaited comeback with their new single, "How You Like That."

The Song:

"How You Like That" isn't a song that is too out of the norm for Blackpink, it's a typical Teddy-produced track. However, it works well for them and why fix what's not broken? It's an energetic anthem that you can't help but want to chant along to. The hook of "Look at you, now look at me" is especially catchy. I love a song that makes me feel like a bad bitch!

Lisa's rap was my absolute favorite part of the song. Her raps are always the killing parts of Blackpink songs for me, but this one hit especially hard. She has such a good flow and I think it helped tie the whole song and its many components together. I wish Jisoo's voice had been utilized a little bit more -which is a critique I often have with Blackpink songs (thanks YG t.t). She just has such a unique, husky voice and it think it provides a good balance to Jennie and Rose's higher pitched voices.

Overall I like the song, but I typically prefer more vocal-heavy choruses rather than instrumental with a few lines here and there. I'm really disappointed that this wasn't a full album release, or even a mini album at least. Blinks (Blackpink fans) pretty much have to continue playing the same 10 songs over and over again; it's getting a bit tiring! I think YG released a schedule for a full album and this is just the first part of the schedule which will finish up in July?? I don't really know if I'm remembering correctly and honestly I don't have the energy to figure out YG's convoluted scheduling. Hopefully they will be releasing a full album and more music videos soon!

The Music Video:

As expected, this video was stunning! I like it even more than "Kill This Love," which I consider one of the most well-produced kpop mvs ever. I loved all the different settings and concepts that the girls got to try out here. Rose's scenes were particularly gorgeous, I loved the giant black wings in the background of her scenes towards the end of the video!

The girls' styling was also on point. Sometimes the styling decisions can be a bit questionable in terms of outfits, but for this comeback I feel like they all worked really well. I loved the combination of tight tops and baggy pants, Lisa's bob, Jisoo's burgundy makeup, and Jennie's e-girl hair (lol). Not only did the styling look good on the girls, but it also fit the different concepts within the video well - for example, bright colors and denim for the tropical scenes versus all white looks for the futuristic setting.

There's a reason this was the fastest music video to meet 50 million views after its debut. If there's one thing that YG Entertainment knows how to do, it's produce an amazing music video. Honestly, I think Blackpink's music videos play a large role in their success and popularity. Even if some people don't care for their music as much, it's undeniable that their visuals and videos are gorgeous.

For such a highly anticipated comeback, Blackpink did not disappoint! They are an extremely talented group in all aspects of performances and it's a huge shame that they do not get the opportunity to show of those talents as often as they should. I hope this comeback marks the beginning of Blackpink having more frequent comebacks, appearances on music and variety shows, and a full album sooner rather than later. I mean, it probably won't....but a girl can dream!

song reviews
Like

About the Creator

Veronica Traggiai

Hello! I'm Veronica, a 23 year old college student and freelance writer.

My current writing interest is in music reviews (mainly kpop). While I partly joined Vocal because I'm a poor college student, writing truly is my passion!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.