Beat logo

Kodie Shane — Back From the Future Album Review

Full Album Review

By @GabbyMiernikPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

So today I will be reviewing Kodie Shane's Back From the Future, who is part of Lil Yachty's Sailing Team.

Even though Kodie Shane has been rapping since middle school, she didn’t start to pick up pace in her music career until she really teamed up with Lil’ Yachty and joined the Sailing Team which was the first time I even heard of her. And ever since they dropped the “All In” video on The Fader, I have been listening to all her music mainly from sound cloud but for Back From the Future, I’ll be listening to it on Apple Music.

So, I have watched some interviews that she has done leading up to this project dropping and all that I knew to expect from it was that it was supposed to be better music than all of her previous projects, which makes sense because all artists should want to improve their work but with less than 20 minutes and only seven songs, I went into this hoping that at least most of them were good songs.

Even though Kodie Shane hasn’t confirmed or denied being on the LGBTQ+ Spectrum, you can definitely guess by all of her songs on this and some from previous projects how she talks about having a girl or speaking on a having a situation with one. Like I said previously, this project was very short, but I was still able to evaluate and try to get the honest review after listening to all of the tracks. This whole project was mainly based on her talking about different situations where she was not really trying to be with a girl and the last two songs on this project were talking about her “leveling up” by upgrading different things in her life.

After listening to this project I was pretty disappointed because I was looking for music that would be better than any of her previous projects or singles that she has put out. But that doesn’t mean that the project itself wasn’t good or horrible it was just that most of the tracks were about the same as her last project but I could still listen to them. One of my favorite songs off of this project was “Get Right” which I liked because it basically talks about her coming back from the future and just expressing different thing she’s had to face such as girls and haters. I didn’t have any songs that I really disliked and usually whenever I review projects that are less than ten songs or less than 20 minutes, I probably won’t have songs that I dislike if it’s not enough to judge the project on.

Overall, in my honest opinion, when comparing this project to Big Jupiter, Little Trouble, this project doesn’t even compete. Because at least on Big Jupiter, Little Trouble, many of the songs varied in different topics but all the songs on Back from the Future all pretty much sound the same or are just talking about the same things. Because of there being no progression into Kodie Shane trying to make new and better music and actually taking a step back, I have to only give this a 7/10, not really because there were bad tracks holding it back but because there was no progression and missed being a better body of work compared to previous projects she’s released. She's still on the rise as an artist but in order to reach the heights that Lil' Yachty has reached thus far she's going to have to push herself to do better.

rap
Like

About the Creator

@GabbyMiernik

Multimedia & Political Science Student. My Passion is YouTube but I also occasionally write as well.

Twitter & Instagram: @GabbyMiernik

Snapchat: @Miernikg

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.