Beat logo

Keith Urban - The Speed Of Now Concert (Review)

Brisbane Entertainment Centre 02/12/2022

By Colleen Millsteed Published about a year ago 4 min read
3
Photo courtesy of the Author

Friday 2 December 2022 finally arrived and I had my concert ticket in my hot little hand.

This day has been a long time coming. I purchased this ticket in 2020 for the concert of a lifetime in December 2020. But December 2020 did not go to plan.

The concert was postponed (thankfully never cancelled) until December 2021, but again December 2021 didn’t go as planned.

The concert was again postponed to December 2022 and for the last month or so, I held my breath. Please don’t cancel, please don’t cancel — it worked as the show must go on.

The day arrived and I was pumped!

Keith Urban - The Speed of Now Tour had arrived.

Arriving at the Brisbane Entertainment Centre, it was obvious it was a sold out show. There were people milling everywhere, both inside and out. People as excited that this day finally arrived as I was.

As I was ushered to my seat, I was pleasantly surprised to find I had a fantastic seat. Aisle seat so if someone tall sat in front of me, I was covered. Not that I sat at all for the entire time Keith was on the stage. The whole concert was conducive to bopping along to each song.

It was a nice surprise to find Birds of Tokyo as the support band, as I’d been tossing up whether to get a ticket to their concert. Now I had the best of both worlds and they were a joy to get the night kicked off with. Absolutely fantastic half hour of good music.

Photo courtesy of the Author

Then the lights dimmed once more, the roar of the crowd was deafening, the music escalated and Keith popped up on the main screen, at the back of the stage. The crowd went wild!

Photo courtesy of the Author

After making us wait, Keith Urban and the fabulous musicians backing him, raced out onto the stage. The moment we’d all been waiting over two years for and Keith didn’t disappoint.

Photo courtesy of the Author

For the next two hours, Keith captivated us all, song after song, after song. He was brilliant, his talent on the guitar outstanding and his voice, pure magic. It also helps that he is terribly delicious in every which way.

Australia can be proud of this home grown, worldwide famously talented musician.

Photo courtesy of the Author

Keith is a very down to earth guy who hasn’t let his fame ruin that humbleness he possesses. He has a fantastic sense of humour, which seeps through his stage performance.

He asked the crowd if we all have what he calls “a guilty pleasure.” He explains that this guilty pleasure is when you love a song but you’d never let on to your mates that you like it. He then told us that he believes we all have such a guilty pleasure and set out to prove it.

He began to sing, “ In the jungle, the mighty jungle, the lion sleeps tonight,” and the entire crowd sings along with him. Keith bursts into laughter.

I guess we all do have a guilty pleasure hahaha and Keith just proved it.

Photo courtesy of the Author

One of the highlights of this special concert was when Keith descended from the stage, ran through the crowd and up onto a small stage set up behind the mixing desk. He did this so those music lovers sitting in the back of the entertainment centre could have a close up view.

Photo courtesy of the Author

This was so precious and the crowd loved it. He then proceeded to sing a couple of songs for the audience that now have front rows seats. A lovely surprise from a fantastic entertainer that truly cares for his fans.

Photo courtesy of the Author

One of the songs played was a duet with Pink and it was fantastic. Of course Pink wasn’t there in the centre with us but she was projected onto the screen at the back of the stage. It felt like she was with us live.

Photo courtesy of the Author

At the end of the show, prior to being called back for an encore, a huge confetti bomb was let off and the entire entertainment centre watched the confetti fall around us. It was a magical experience — but I’m glad I didn’t have to clean up that mess after the show.

Photo courtesy of the Author

All in all it was an amazing concert and the continuous roar of the crowd let Keith know he did a fantastic job. Well worth the wait to see such an amazing performer.

I’d happily do it all over again.

Photo courtesy of the Author

I've added a few YouTube of his best songs below. Enjoy!

Somebody Like You

One Too Many

Blue Ain’t Your Colour

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

90s musiccelebritiesconcert
3

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a year ago

    Finally after 2 years of waiting, the show went on! I enjoyed reading this! Oh and I love Pink. She has this badass girl aura that I admire so much!

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Fabulous work! I felt like I was right there at the concert with you! Awesome piece! 😊

  • Alex H Mittelman about a year ago

    That was a great review! Sounds like a fantastic concert!!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.