Beat logo

Kane Brown 'Used To Love You Sober' (Acoustic Cover)

I believe music is more powerful than education if it's used in the right way.

By Brandon YoungPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

I'm Brandon. I am from the San Francisco Bay Area in California. I am an 18-year-old freshman in college who has a passion for music and helping other people through it. I believe music is more powerful than education if it's used in the right way. I have been a songwriter for the last four and a half years of my life. My dream is to get signed to a record label by the end of this calendar year.

I have already made 60 songs (five albums) with lyrics, instrumentals and recordings. My friend is helping me produce my tracks as I don't have very high quality recording equipment. If I get signed, I would want to do a country career, mostly. I feel like I have the potential and the work ethic, but I just don't have any connections or people who will get my music on the radio.

I want to be able to donate to charities and different organizations that help people going through severe mental health battles. Most of my music is about my mental health and how difficult it is to navigate it on a daily basis. I love music more than anything. So if I got to do this for a living, I think that would produce the best me possible.

Due to my battles with mental health challenges, I started writing as a release. A release from my pain, stress and frustration about life so that I don't take it out on my family. Most people who see me think that everything in my life is perfect, but it's almost the opposite. I am in emotional turmoil on the daily and music is one of the only things that gets me out of the worst. Music has been the only thing there in the good and the bad. It sounds weird, but music has seen me at my best and my worst. When the girl said yes and when the girl said no.

I am not just a songwriter, producer, instrumentalist, singer and rapper, I'm also a family man. I have two younger siblings who I want to be able to help send to college. As the oldest of three siblings, I feel like I have the responsibility to not just be there for them relationally, but also financially. I don't want them to be unable to attend their school because they can't afford it. The same thing happened to me. I was unable to afford UCI because of the lack of scholarship money I was given. I had gotten in and would've been a completely adverse stat to the ADHD community throughout not just the United States, but the world, but I was unable to follow that path because we couldn't afford the cost to send me to the dorms.

Ultimately, I'm not asking you to be my greatest fan. I'm asking for support and a chance to prove myself to you guys. I'm asking for a trial run where you guys support me and my music whether it be financially or just by watching my videos. I believe I have the potential to go places, but I just need the support and the fan base to get me recognized by some top level labels. Now, I'm not just some wannabe who wants to party and waste all your money, I want to use it to give back to my family who has supported me all this way and give back to those in need. So please support my quest to do this for a living. It won't be something you regret at all.

art
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.