Beat logo

Kailie Simpson Talks Latest Single, Finding Her Sound, and Much More

Check out Kailie Simpson's latest song and music video, "Question Everything!"

By Meikhel PhilogenePublished 2 years ago 11 min read
Like

Wielding a rafter-reaching voice, raw delivery, and a really sharp pen, Kailie Simpson instantly warrants attention. The New Jersey-born singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist sings from the heart and writes straight from the gut. She pulls no punches and holds nothing back as she unabashedly infuses Rock and Roll with spirit, soul, and style. After selling out shows throughout the New York area and attracting the likes of producer Ben Rice (Norah Jones, The Jezabels, Daughters) to her corner, she introduces herself with a bang on a series of independent singles in 2022.

With her single and music video, “Question Everything,” out now, we took some time to hear more from Kailie Simpson. Read below to learn more about Kailie Simpson, the story behind her single, and what’s to come.

Hi Kailie Simpson! Let’s start with how did you get your artist name?

Two lovely people who go by the name of Stephen and Debbie, granted me my stage name on Sunday, Jan. 15th, 1995, a little after 4 PM at Passaic General Hospital.

What city are you from and where are you based now?

I grew up in Northern NJ, in a town called, Wayne. But, I am currently living in Bloomfield, NJ.

At what point in your life did you decide to pursue a career in music? How did you get started?

I always fantasized about it before really understanding what it meant to be a musician. So, it wasn’t until I got to college that I realized that I wanted to go full force. I was in the start of my second year at University (hating every second) when I was asked by a friend of a friend to come into the studio and record a few demos for a project they were working on. Mind you, leading up to this point, I dabbled in and out of pursuing the career - learning piano, attempting the guitar, singing in choirs, national anthems, solos when they were given…but nothing serious. The moment that I was in that isolation booth though…that's when things started to click, and I never turned back. Little did I know, it was truly just the beginning, and it would be years down the line before it started to REALLY click, BUT all it took was that demo project to get my stars aligned and my a** in shape to quit college and put all my energy and focus into music.

Has your upbringing played a role in shaping who you are and defining your sound today? If so, how?

I didn’t grow up in a musical family, so I don't have any cool stories about me sitting on my living room floor discovering Jazz records or going to a Rock concert in some underground basement. I grew up on Top 40 radio. My parents were always encouraging. Though, the family dynamic was disrupted due to an early divorce (at the age of 7), I felt as though I grew up a bit faster than some of the other kids around me. Lots of pent up feelings…yet very expressive all at the same time. Growing up on Pop really helped mold my style when it comes to lyrics and melodic decisions. I'm a sucker for an ABABCB structure. When I reached my twenties, my grit started to develop and my confidence started to grow. And, that's when Rock music set my soul on fire. Sprinkle in some passion and groove from my girl, Janis Joplin, and I found myself in heaven. I still don't believe I reached my full sound potential just yet, but I do KNOW that I’m headed in the right direction.

How would you describe your sound to readers who may not be familiar with you?

This one is always a tricky question because I feel that I haven’t yet fully mastered my sound, it's an evolving force still, but to be fair to this interview, I’ll describe it the best I can… My music is a feeling. A feeling of heartbreak, revelations, power, love, grit, passion, advice, and call to actions. I’ve written from personal experience, and I perform it with everything inside of me. My sound is intense, passionate, and raw. I lose myself in the music, and I invite the listener/audience to do the same. Let loose. Let the emotions out. That's what made me fall in love with Rock in the first place… It was music that was meant to be felt. There's no denying the energy and the release. I chase that feeling of adrenaline every time that I'm up on stage, every time that I'm in the studio...every time I'm home writing. Vulnerable, open, and honest.

Do you have any hobbies outside of music? What do you do to stay creative?

I love writing, and I literally mean…holding a pen in my hand and just writing WHATEVER. Not necessarily song lyrics, it can be thoughts, lists, names, nonsense… I will toot my own horn for a hot second and say that my penmanship is pretty remarkable and anytime someone receives something hand written by me, they can't believe it. I have always been obsessed with writing - growing up I used to take stacks on stacks of white computer paper from the printer in my house and hide away in my room writing down whatever was on my mind, or all the friends names that I can think of, write poems, or just spell one word over and over and over again. I have shelves dedicated to all my notebooks and diaries. Fun fact, when I was in middle school, I decide to write a 4-page recap of "Twilight." If anyone is interested in a killer pen, I ONLY write with Muji Gel Pen Cap Type 0.38 mm tip, and my favorite notebooks that I buy in bulk are Moleskine Two-Go Hard Cover in Lapis Blue. Besides writing, you can find me painting or reading books (currently on a RHCP kick - Scar Tissue, Anthony Kiedis & Acid For The Children by Flea). Also, highly suggest Daisy Jones and The Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid & The Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls (If you read it in high school…read it again…trust me).

Who are some of your main musical influences?

I'm heavily inspired by so many artists from all different "genres." I think it's safe to say that my heaviest influence which can give insight on my “sound” and who have molded/inspired lots of branches, including songwriting, melodic approaches, attitude, instrumentals, style, etc...would be - Alanis Morissette, Janis Joplin, Jeff Buckley, Taylor Swift, Miley Cyrus, Jet, Halestorm, John Mayer, and Jimi Hendrix. A lot of women in the 90s/early 2000s - Meredith Brooks, Michelle Branch, Gwen Stefani - the list can go on and on! And, I’m sure that I’ll read back on this and kick myself for not naming someone else!

Who would be a dream to collaborate with?

Lots of collabs in mind, but I wont lie, having Mr. John Mayer giving me some sexy guitar on a song would be a nice check mark on my bucket list!

What are some of your future music career goals?

I used to have these really mainstream goals, and they were rooted in attention and money. The deeper I dive, the more clarity I receive… My recent “future” goals is to have a stable, reliable music career, and to sell out shows continuously (regardless of the size of the room, whether it's 200 people, 2,000, or 20,000). I just want to be full-time, full-force, making music for everyone that is along for the ride. Consuming, releasing, and just living the life. The older that I get, I also realize it's all in the simple things. Don’t get me wrong, landing on the radio, hitting millions of streams, being on an arena stage are all welcomed, but I no longer feel a need to chase it. I'm 27 and slowly figuring it all out… I just truly want to be rockin' out every night on stage with my band - wherever that may be.

Now onto your release, “Question Everything.” What inspired this song?

The good ole pandemic (July 2020 to be exact) inspired this one. I was sitting in my kitchen just doodling thoughts and ideas about...everything. I knew that I wasn’t the only one on edge, confused on what the h*ll was going on. I just finished recording, mixing, and mastering my self-titled EP, and we had to put it on hold due to C***D. I was a skeptic and loved challenging any narrative thrown my way…literally questioning everything. Eventually, a poem transformed, and I knew that I was onto something - like many of my songs, it started off with a pen, paper, and my baby grand piano.

What is “Question Everything” about in your own words?

A call to action. An invitation to expand on your own thoughts. A powerful moment to rise above, think freely, and QUESTION EVERYTHING. As a musician, I think we walk fine lines. It’s not my job to tell you what to think. It’s not my job to tell you what to believe or what to feel. The past two years, I’ve seen many artists make hardline stances in their beliefs, and while I think they have every right to do so, I personally try to stay open. The only influence that I wish to have would be the influence of expression. I wish to invite everyone to question themselves, question their beliefs, where is it all rooted from? Question your perceptions…your surroundings. Challenge yourself. Hold yourself accountable. Feel the pain, feel the joy, feel the heartbreak, and feel the love. Feel others. Music is such a healing force, regardless of the content. Music is made for the people. And, that's what I intend to do. I write from experience, and I know that I’m not alone on my journey. We all mirror each other. I encourage all walks of life, and I literally mean, all walks…music can save us all!!

How did the music video for “Question Everything” come about? What was your vision for the video?

I love live performing, and it's definitely my strong suit, so I was thinking of ways to capture that energy in a video. I got really nostalgic one day and was rockin' out to “7 Things” by Miley Cyrus and the inspiration hit. I also recalled Jets' music video for “Are You Gonna be My Girl” and realized this is a go to Rock format. You can’t go wrong. My cousins are killer creators and own a studio a town over from where I live (Sawmill Studios in West Orange, NJ), and the vision just came to life. Shoutout to Montana Loran and Scott Nicastro for shooting and editing the video - it's bad*ss!

What message do you hope fans take away from your music and from “Question Everything?”

I just hope that people can see that it’s ok to not follow all the mainstream ideas. It doesn’t make you bad, it doesn’t make you wrong. As long as you, personally, full heartedly believe in your ideas, you can't go wrong. Lead with love, curiosity, and hope. "Question Everything" is there to pump you up. It pumps me up. I love digging, I love learning, I’ll find myself in hour long findings…there's so much out there. And, it's hard to form an ORGANIC opinion in todays climate - everything is pushed down our throats. My biggest advice is “think smaller." Look around you, what do you see? What do you feel? What do you wish to change? What do you wish to embrace? We live with such a global view, and I understand being worldly is important, but it's close to impossible for ONE HUMAN to make global change. Make community change, personal change, family change. Question your personal thoughts, surroundings and feelings, and you’ll be mind blown at the TRUE CHANGE that you can make.

What’s one of your proudest moments of your music career so far?

I’ve got three pivotal moments… The day I wrote “Poor Mans Version” (October 2016). It’s truly an OG Kailie Simpson song that has aged so gracefully and is a crowd favorite to this day, and a song that I am very proud of. Sometimes, I cant believe it was the second song that I have ever written. The next moment is performing at The Bowery Electric, summer 2021. It was the largest crowd that I’ve performed for with my band, and I absolutely LOST MYSLEF. I was running on adrenaline for 3 days after the fact. What a HIGH!!! My most recent moments being my two singles, “Question Everything” and “Time Waits For No Man” (releasing June 3rd). I am so proud of the arrangements, the lyrics, the attitude, the message, the production, the mixing, the mastering, the photos, the videos, and the promotion. It all came together so beautifully. Proud milestone moment in my career.

What would you say are the greatest lessons you’ve learned so far?

Stop rushing sh*t. Stop wishing for the next thing. Acknowledge your progress and your timing. I am my BIGGEST bully. I can be so mean to myself sometimes. I’d never treat someone else the way that I treat me...when you have your doubts, take a moment and refocus. Remember who you are. What your goals are and how far you’ve come. Comparison is a thief. And, the more you engage, the closer to hell you’ll get. Cut it out. We are all unique. We all have something to offer. Some are “ahead," some are “a few steps behind,” but we’re all our own main characters. Also, you get way further in life when you’re genuine and kind. Cut the cold shoulder nonsense. Help people up. Encourage others. The world is brighter when we are humble. We got this!

What’s next for you? Are you working on any upcoming projects that we should be on the lookout for?

Shows. Shows. Shows. LIVE SHOWS. That's what's next - planning on performing at least once a month and eventually growing that. I want to be in person, face to face. Meeting more of you. June 8th, you can catch me playing at Berlin Under A in NYC! Outside of live performances, the next step is MORE MUSIC!! I’ve got some ideas up my sleeve and looking forward to arranging with the band. My next single is releasing June 3rd, "TIME WAITS FOR NO MAN!" Be sure to check it out, heavily inspired by late 60s, early 70s Rock groove!

Where can we follow you on social media?

I try, I really try to love TikTok, and dont get me wrong, I love everything people post on there...but, I cant find it in me to be a consistent creator on that app. So, if you’re looking to be along for the ride, day-to-day, follow me on Instagram: @kailiesimpson. My name is the key to all my socials, Spotify, Apple, Youtube, website…here's a link to my Linktree which will route you to everything you need!!

https://linktr.ee/kailiesimpson

Before you go, let's ask you something random. What is your favorite food?

I drink red wine with ice and a straw…don't want to stain the teeth. I take my popcorn half burnt…yes, half burnt. I like when it's charred.

Thank you for the great interview; wish you much continued success!

interview
Like

About the Creator

Meikhel Philogene

https://meikhelphilogene.com/

@meikhe1

@meirecordings

@psalminfinity

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.