Beat logo

Jllama: The Next Voice of the Young People

A cure for the men in Hip-Hop

By TealPublished 5 years ago 8 min read
Like
the plan is this man Jllama

Now, it's really not a secret when you hear the men of Hip-Hop are in trouble, because of numerous reasons. If we go down the list of errors men have made as rappers, and I'm not even going to count their prison sentences, but we can count their feuds, their arrogant behaviors, their need for attention off of the press, and the fact that the charts are not treating them well without them causing publicity stunts. It seems lately only the original trailblazers and trendsetters with their marks in the game are the only ones who are managing to kill it right now, mostly because rappers nowadays make a few good hits, and vanish after the next one replaces them, or an OG rapper shuts them down.

In the midst of all the immaturity of rappers, there are a select few artists who know better than to pay mind of what the media wants you to see in the art. Sadly, the most prominent artists who are sticking to the music, rather than the press—these come from the independent underground artists that are going underrated and unnoticed. One particular artist that Teal executive David B. had the opportunity to contact was an exceptional and rather refreshing take on Hip-Hop music. His name is Jllama, and boy do we an amazing solution for what is missing.

Born in Fresno California on October 7th 1999 as Jeremy Gonzalez, who is professionally known as Jllama with the catchy phrase alter-ego "Probably with your mama," is a rapper that is completely ahead of his time. Or perhaps rap lovers and artists just need to get it together. When both myself and David B. had the pleasure to interview the young recording artist, it was like getting a smack in the face that people need, because of how mature Jllama was, and how it seems that other people might need Jllama to take off his belt and lay a good few on them. David B. shares with us "I really didn't expect to hear from such a young person with an old soul, I didn't underestimate, but I was surprised. Not only did he have a great personality, but when I listened to his music, I had to press pause after the first five verses just so I could download and make space for it in my playlist on Google Play. That's what got to me; he knows how to captivate an audience and took my ears to Olive Garden and picked up the check". Now lets hear a little from the artist himself.

Armando Cervantes: When or where did you first hear Hip-Hop music, and what interest you to pursue a career in the rap game?

Jllama: "I first heard it actually at the age of five and knew i wanted to be a rapper when I first heard Lil' Jon. Not long after, I dived more into the music, listening to Mac, Dre, T.I., and eventually I became a Hip-hop head. I was always passionate about rap, but was always scared to show people what I can do with my voice. Only those who were close to me were the ones who got to hear me spit and put rhymes together. They always encouraged me to pursue a career which didn't happen until the end of my senior year of high school. A video of me laying down three bars about a girl who had beef with me leaked out and almost went viral and even could have got me expelled".

Which rapper could you credit yo your career that mainly inspired you, and what is your top five list of great rappers?

"The Rapper who without a doubt inspired me was Eminem, seeing how much he has impacted the game made me want be like him in my own better way, and the list goes down from Eminem, Tupac, Nas, 50 cent, and Drake".

What style of rap best fits you as an artist?

"When it comes to styles, I'd can't say. I enjoy when a rapper isn't afraid to be themselves and let their talent show, storytelling is my favorite style. When an artist can put the right rhymes together telling a tale that is dear to themselves, that is special. My own style can not fit into any of the ones created that I can say, only because my style consist of inspirations from my influencers (Eminem & Drake). I do modernize my work to fit the appeal of the next generation. Being twenty years old, I am out here trying make an appeal for everyone and reach a wider audience".

Given the state of Hip-Hop right now amongst men, a lot of rejoice is not being praised for male rappers unless they are trailblazers or trendsetters, and great amount of rejoice is given to women in the rap game. It also seems as if independent artist are garnering more success than A-listers, why do you think this is, and how do you feel about it?

"I believe mainly because men are usually always in spotlight when it comes to rap. When a female gains success and allows her fame to shine, it dominates over the men and that tends to be praised because of society views on women are constantly shifting and sexualization has become a bigger issue and aspect".

If you could play any broadcasted venue what would it be, and what award would like to receive?

"It does not matter to where or which, every opportunity is important to me. One day I would love to attend the Grammy's and receive a Grammy award as well as a Platinum plaque. My goals range from appearing on Ellen to Live with Jimmy Kimmel. I have said this before, I have a huge vision & plan on seeing this through".

Given the troubles between artists, despite what dramatic history there is, do you feel attacking in diss tracks is the right way to go, by allowing media to garner attention and money off a feud made public?

"I do believe that it is better to be non-violent. Losing your fame, career and life over pointless drama should definitely be frowned up"

Did you ever see yourself where you are at now? Who do you have to thank for this journey?

"I honestly did not expect have the support that I have now, I very much appreciate it to the fullest. I have always had big goals, and I know I have long way to go. I am grateful and thankful for my family, my mom who is always looking out for me. My close friends Rafael, Raul and others too, but even more so for Joey who is the main reason I am doing music, so for him I am always grateful".

What is one thing you'd like to give back and show for gratitude towards your fans & career as well as your family, friends, and community?

"I would love to give back in any way possible, I always make it known to show that I am not in this for money and to blow up and forget everyone. this is a passion of mine and that consist of making a difference in the community and helping those in need".

If you could havene major goal in the future what would it be and name a surprising fact about yourself?

"That goal would be to save seven billion lives as well as my own. People are always surprised to see that I hate cheese, but I am a fruit addict. Seriously though, I could live off strawberries & raspberries if I could. Another thing people are surprised to see is that I do not drink or smoke, even though as a rapper people would expect that of you".

A true inspiration at such a young age he is. This enthusiasm and maturity is something that a young generation of artist are lacking. It takes us back to Voice of the Young People and Queen of Hip-Pop not Hop but Pop, Lil Mama. She was a rapper who discussed real world issues amongst youth and adults and to this day she continues to spread wisdom in a classy way that only she can. The next voice to follow is definitely Jllama in the popular opinion. I (Teal) have personally let Jllama know how impressed I was and glad to see him on this journey knowing he will go far. His fanbase is growing wider and far with his streams rising over thousands upon thousands, and he has just dropped the official album that will go more into depth on his artistry. Jllama had informed us of how grateful he was and how he really wants to touch as many lives as possible, but he continues to reach for the stars.

Before the interview ended Jllama wanted to leave on this statement "I want to let people know that is okay to be yourself, different and weird is all fine because although a person is raised not to follow a crowd or encouraged when you want to do something different. Just know those people who seem off, different or weird are the ones who are going to be making the biggest impact, give realness to world because that is what I want to do, it is only right".

This young man is exceptional in every way and definitely the role model in Hip-Hop and in the generation of our youth that is lacking. Veterans and upcomers please take notes, because he is definitely giving wisdom. Lil Mama herself would surely give the title to Jllama as The Next Voice Of The Young People. Catch up with him on his Journey to the top at Jllama TV, Jllamamusic on all platforms and social media outlets.

interview
Like

About the Creator

Teal

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.